Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Washington,dc
    Posts
    1,133

    Default ????....PC Digital out splitter

    ..can you split the digital output of a sound card to direct to 2 sources without losing quality. I would like to send audio to HT system or my two channel setup.

    Would a Y splitter work? One cable to DAC and then 2 channel. Other to HT.

    Is there such a thing as a digital Y splitter?
    Last edited by dee1949; 08-02-2008 at 02:30 PM.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    LSU, Louisiana "In a galaxy far far away"
    Posts
    4,100

    Default

    I dont see why a coax/RCA splitter wouldnt work.
    Monitor 7b's front
    Monitor 4's surround
    Frankinpolk Center (2 mw6503's with peerless tweeter)
    M10's back surround
    Hafler-200 driving patio Daytons
    Tempest-X 15" DIY sub w/ Rythmik 350A plate amp
    Dayton 12" DVC w/ Rythmik 350a plate amp
    Harman/Kardon AVR-635
    Oppo 981hd
    Denon upconvert DVD player
    Jennings Research (vintage and rare)
    Mit RPTV WS-55513
    Tosh HD-XA1
    B&K AV5000


    Dont BAN me Bro!!!!

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (31)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    14,733

    Default

    What kind of sound card do you have?

    You can buy a adapter for Xfi cards that has one digital coax out and one optical out. I used one of these devices and it worked fine. I would not use a Y.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Washington,dc
    Posts
    1,133

    Default

    ...CHAINTECH AV-710 7.1 ....suppose to have good dacs on back channels that can be used for 2 channel....its cheap....but so am i....retired and POOR. My 2 channel system has the Polk sda-crs's with Carver M1.0t amp and MSB Link III. The HT uses a Denon receiver w/old collection of speakers of which the front channels are Mission/Cyrus 781's. The Chaintech only has 1 optical out. Would need optical splitter. Any loss of signal by splitting?
    Last edited by dee1949; 08-02-2008 at 03:28 PM.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (31)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    14,733

    Default

    If you use the digital out, you're bypassing the DAC's.

    If you want to use your card's DACs, you would need to use the analog outs.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Washington,dc
    Posts
    1,133

    Default Thought

    ...not too concerned with HT....but would be nice....Could I send regular 2 channel by RCA to HT and also send optical...simultaneously. I need a 35' run of optical cable to get to DAC....2 channel system is in another room.

    Thank you for responses.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (31)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    14,733

    Default

    It depends on the card, check the manufacturer's website. I know I can't with my XFi.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. RF splitter/amplifier suggestions?
    By cmy330go in forum Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-10-2007, 05:10 PM
  2. Y splitter hook up
    By doug lang in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-10-2006, 04:02 PM
  3. How to use a Y-splitter
    By scottdawg in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-06-2004, 06:54 AM
  4. Y-splitter on sub with...
    By glemay in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 12-11-2003, 01:25 PM
  5. Not enough Digital audio inputs, can I use a splitter?
    By snootleather in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-23-2003, 10:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts