Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    4

    Talking Surround Sound while watching TV? VCR Video???

    Would appreciate if anyone can provide some help. I just hooked up an RM6700 series speakers with PSW303 Sub. Sounds great while listening to dvds and the radio but how to I hook up the television to the receiver so I can hear the audio through the surround sound speakers?

    Thanks!
    Last edited by ClintMWilliams; 12-31-2002 at 12:25 AM.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Texas - Moo
    Posts
    2,398

    Default

    If you have a TV newer than 10 years old you should have an audio output on the back. Most likely it is two RCA jacks (left and right).

    Use some RCA cables, run them from your TV to the auxilary or "Video 1" Video2" or whatever input on your receiver. Then select the DSP (digital signal processing mode) on your receiver that you want to use. Thats about it.

    If you have digital cable or DSS, then you might have an optical/coax digital output on your converter box. If that is the case, just run that to your receiver. Some cable/dss companies broadcast some channels in DTS/DD.

    Make sense?

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Sounds easy enough. Thanks for the help! Obviously I still have a lot to learn.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    15,835

    Default

    Clint, welcome!
    For local TV channels that are not on satellite. my receiver defaults to dolby pro logic... it uses the rear surrounds and the sub. it makes sports sound great. doesn't do much for things like comedys, and other programs that are mostly dialog.
    phuz is correct though, hook up the left and right outputs from your TV to the in's on your receiver. it may also work from your VCR
    PolkFest 2012, who's going>?
    Vancouver, Canada Sept 30th, 2012 - Madonna concert

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    4

    Default VCR?

    Thanks for the advice. Works great now....

    I have another question for you guys. I hooked up the VCR to the Onkyo 600 receiver. I have audio through the speakers when I play a tape but no video on the tv. I currently have both audio outs and video out going from vcr output to receiver input. I also have video and audio outs from receiver going into VCR inputs. Anyone have an idea what I am doing wrong? Appreciate the help.
    Last edited by ClintMWilliams; 12-31-2002 at 12:26 AM.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Texas - Moo
    Posts
    2,398

    Default

    Unless your receiver does video switching, then you should hook your VCRs video output directly to your TV.
    In this case, there is no need to hook the VCR up to the receiver since your TV audio outputs will already be hooked up to the receiver.

    If your receiver does video switching, then the video out from the receiver needs to go to the TVs auxillary input.


    Last edited by phuz; 12-31-2002 at 01:39 AM.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    13,543

    Default

    Correct,
    what you send out from your VCR needs to reach the TV.So if your VCR is S-video or composite,and the Onkyo has the ability to SWITCH it,you need to have the same video feed going to the tv from MONITOR out of the receiver.

    example:
    vcr out is rca audio(red and white)and composite(yellow) to the Onkyo's vcr in or video in red,whit,yellow.Now in order to see it,there is a composite(yellow)Monitor out.That need to go to the tv's composit video in(yellow).What I like to do is run all composite video feeds to the receiver,then composite video out to the tv's video 1 or input 1 composite only in,no audio.
    If you wanna use the spekaers in the tv for vcr sound,just run a coax run to the tuner in on the tv.Channel 3 or 4 allday.Most vcr's only have 1 audio and video out.So this allows 2 hookups at the same time.Another benefit from this setup is if you have a cable feed and no cablebox,now you have audio and video going to the tv and the reciever.Cable sound using the vcr's tuner,for some surround.Tv you can still use the speakers in it for those late night news programs,talk shows,wife or kids tapes.....get my idea?
    Dan
    My personal quest is to save to world of bad audio, one thread at a time.

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    4

    Smile

    Thanks guys! Totally makes sense now. I really appreciate the help.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts