Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (7)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    lookin' for fava beans and a nice chianti
    Posts
    12,608

    Default wireless router- help

    I've got a Belkin Wireless G router from my laptop here in Shangri-La.

    Lately, this thing will go offline and a the only thing to get it back online is a series of restarting it and the computer.....it's pretty aggravating, really.

    Any ideas or is this sort of shiite normal??

    BDT
    I plan for the future. - F1Nut

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    The Beautiful Central Oregon Coast
    Posts
    4,138

    Default

    where are you...back in Iraq? Probably near a uranium stash that's putting out radiation interference.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (7)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    lookin' for fava beans and a nice chianti
    Posts
    12,608

    Default

    Nah, I'm in lovely Republic of Korea...
    I plan for the future. - F1Nut

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Live Free or Die
    Posts
    10,965

    Default

    Is it one of those little grey square Belkins? Those are kinda notorious for dying in a similar way to what you describe.
    If you will it, dude, it is no dream.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (7)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    lookin' for fava beans and a nice chianti
    Posts
    12,608

    Default

    Yes, little square Belkin....
    I plan for the future. - F1Nut

  6. #6
    Lorthos
    Guest

    Default

    Make sure you have the latest firmware update on it also......

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    13,547

    Default

    Whats funny about routers is that most of them do this. It's like it has a internal clock that gets set at random and then it decides it's time to mess with you.

    I got rid of that problem when I got a Apple Airport Extreme. If you have the ability to ge one there, do yourself a favor. They cost alittle more then your average router but it's not your average router. Not to mention it's a N router 10/100/1000.

    If not the firmware upgrade of yours is a good place to start.

    Dan
    Dan
    My personal quest is to save to world of bad audio, one thread at a time.

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Bridgeton NJ
    Posts
    4,411

    Default

    Belkins have a history of doing this, also they like to just crap out all of a sudden. When you restart the router that reactivates the wireless and after a while of use it gets tired and shuts off. If I were you I would order yourself a linksys router.
    HT setup
    Panasonic 50" TH-50PZ80U
    Denon DBP-1610
    Monster HTS 1650
    Carver A400X
    MIT Exp 3 Speaker Wire
    Kef 104/2
    URC MX-780 Remote
    Sonos Play 1

    Living Room
    63 inch Samsung PN63C800YF
    Polk Surroundbar 3000
    Samsung BD-C7900

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    6,974

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigaudiofanatic View Post
    Belkins have a history of doing this, also they like to just crap out all of a sudden. When you restart the router that reactivates the wireless and after a while of use it gets tired and shuts off. If I were you I would order yourself a linksys router.
    Or a Netgear. I never needed to restart mine except on VERY hot days (without A/C in the house); that's most likely due to the NAT chip getting hot or something like that, not really a fault of the router.
    polkaudio RT35 Bookshelves
    polkaudio 255c-RT Inwalls
    polkaudio DSWPro550WI
    polkaudio XRT12 XM Tuner
    polkaudio RM6750 5.1

    Front projection, 2 channel, car audio... life is good!

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Morrisville NC
    Posts
    4,889

    Default

    +1 on the linksys. I never had any issues with mine. Check to see if there are any updates for it Troy if not I would consider replacing it.

  11. #11
    Lorthos
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigaudiofanatic View Post
    Belkins have a history of doing this, also they like to just crap out all of a sudden. When you restart the router that reactivates the wireless and after a while of use it gets tired and shuts off. If I were you I would order yourself a linksys router.
    Actually not all the Belkins, I have a Pre-n (Version 2) that I never have to restart. Its on a tower thats on 24/7 that uploads weather data.

  12. #12
    Former Web Intern
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    311

    Default

    Every router I've gone through does this occasionally. I got fed up and purchased a business grade Netgear router. Sure it was a little more expensive (around $200-$300 I believe) but it has worked flawlessly. I've never had an issue with it.

    It's a bit more money but I always suggest going the business grade route if you can. Much more reliable.

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Rockledge, Florida
    Posts
    11,603

    Default

    I get about 2 years out of one, before I need to replace it residential version. So ~$25 a year, to help with the life of the unit I place it by itself as I feel heat is an issue with it's life span.

    Speakers
    Carver Amazing Fronts
    CS400i Center
    RT800i's Rears
    Sub Paradigm Servo 15

    Electronics
    Conrad Johnson PV-5 pre-amp
    Parasound Halo A23
    Pioneer 84TXSi AVR
    Pioneer 79Avi DVD
    Sony CX400 CD changer
    Panasonic 42-PX60U Plasma
    WMC Win7 32bit HD DVR



  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    4,427

    Default

    Stick with Linksys. I have BEFSR41 wired router, bought in 1999, and a WRT54G bought in 2001. Both are still working fine, and have had to be restarted maybe 3 times since new.

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Levittown, PA
    Posts
    805

    Default

    Troy, a firmware upgrade may solve the problem. Call the tech help line or go to their website.

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (40)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    18,401

    Default

    Spend $30 of your per diem on a Linksys, done.

    Fhead.
    Check your lips at the door woman. Shake your hips like battleships. Yeah, all the white girls trip when I sing at Sunday service.

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sahuarita, Arizona
    Posts
    2,410

    Default

    Stupid question Troy but did you reset the router? There is usually a little button on the back od the router that you can push in with a pencil, this clears the cache, and resets the router to stock. I have to do this with my Linksys about every 12-18 months.
    Sean
    XboxLive--->avelanchefan
    PSN---->Floppa
    http://card.mygamercard.net/avelanchefan.png

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    183

    Default

    Do you use the "Repair Connection" feature of Windows before doing those other things?

    As for Belkin....yep.

    What are you doing in Korea? My pops is in special ops over there right now. Maybe you would know him?

  19. #19

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    37

    Default

    I would update the firmware, and here's the troubleshooting from Belkin. Hope it helps.
    Paul

    Symptom
    Not able to connect to the router/AP wirelessly, or intermittent wireless connection.
    Resolution
    To address this issue, follow the steps below:
    Note : The steps below are applicable only for Belkin routers.
    Open an Internet Explorer window on your computer and type in http://192.168.2.1 in the address bar. This will take you to the Belkin router's web based configuration page. If you are not able to open the page click here.
    You will get a login page. Leave the password blank. Click Submit .
    On the left side of the page, click Channel and SSID below Wireless .
    The wireless channel on the Belkin router is set to Auto by defualt. Change the wireless to a static channel. Click Apply Changes .
    Click Logout in the top right hand corner.
    Note: The wireless card in the computer will automatically detect the change in channel number on the router and will update the channel on the card.

    Cause
    You are not able to connect wirelessly mainly due to environmental interference. When the wireless channel is set to auto, the router will cycle to though channels when it detects significant interference. When the router changes channel the wireless connection will reset itself and disconnect all wireless clients connected to the router.
    Summary
    Wireless signals are prone to interference from cordless phones and electrical appliances (e.g., vacuum cleaners, microwave ovens). This is the reason wireless connections can drop. This article explains how to overcome frequent wireless disconnections by changing the channel number (frequency) on the Belkin router.

  20. #20

    Member Sales Rating: (7)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    lookin' for fava beans and a nice chianti
    Posts
    12,608

    Default

    COOL, thanks!
    I plan for the future. - F1Nut

  21. #21

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    37

    Default

    Troy
    No problem
    Most of the time, it's just a setting. I do this junk for a living, so I run into it all the time.

  22. #22
    Lorthos
    Guest

    Default

    hmmmm, guess I must be on ignore......

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help Wireless Router & Music
    By ajsankot in forum Electronics
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 07-21-2008, 12:23 AM
  2. What network router are you using for wireless
    By engtaz in forum Video Games
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 04-28-2007, 12:47 AM
  3. Wireless Internet/Non-wireless router
    By exalted512 in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 02-19-2006, 05:42 PM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-27-2005, 10:13 PM
  5. Does anybody need a wireless router?
    By amulford in forum Flea Market
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-09-2004, 11:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts