Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread

Member Sales Rating: (0)

Question Question: New amp or what for more volume???

Hello folks, I am a veteran polk enthusiast for over14 years and now enjoy a pair of SDA 2b's with a PSB Powered Subwoofer.

My question is:

Most times I cannot achieve the clean loudness I want without my NAD 3400 100w Integrated amp clipping at volume level 5, so I am looking for the best solution!

What would be the best scenario: buy a bigger amp or buy some bigger polks?

I have inquired about a amp/pre-amp configuration and have come up with a new NAD C160 / C270 combination that would provide 120w. I don't think it will be enough. (This would be $900.)

Bi-amping seems to be the new fad now, but I am unsure of the wiring to my Subwoofer will work with that scenario. (Using a line level interconnect from the "pre-out" into the Sub, which sends back the signal to "main in" without the lower frequency.

Thanks is advance for any expert help you can
    Tony G
    Glloucester, Va
    provide!!!:p :

Member Sales Rating: (40)

More clean power. If you are clipping your amp, thats the solution, imo.

Step up to 200-250 w/continuous. Carver, Nad, Adcom would be good places to start looking. 100 to 120, I doubt you would even notice.

Cheers,
    Russ
    Check your lips at the door woman. Shake your hips like battleships. Yeah, all the white girls trip when I sing at Sunday service.

Member Sales Rating: (7)

lookin' for fava beans and a nice chianti

To get a really noticeable difference in power, double it.

BDT
    I plan for the future. - F1Nut

Consider this: let's say your Polks are 89dB efficient [1w of input power produces 89dB of sound at 1m in front of the speaker, ignoring reflections from the room].

To get 92dB, you'll need 2 watts.

95dB -> 4 W
    98dB -> 8 W
    101dB -> 16 W

you get the idea: watts double for every 3dB increase in volume - doubling the volume is about 10dB.