Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default New Surroundbar 360 locks up playing DVDs

    My new Surroundbar 360 locks up while playing DVD's. It plays for a while, and then the TV screen goes black, DVD player/receiver screen freezes and it will accept no commands through the device or directly on the player except for shutting down from the device. After shutting down and powering back up, it works fine until it locks up again. This has occurred with 2 DVD's.

    Other than just the unit being bad, I wondered if the hookup might have something to do with it. I got a free Firedog service so I used Firedog to hook up the Surroundbar and subwoofer. In looking at the instructions, it appeared the hookup was going to be optical audio from satellite box to the Sbar 360 DVD/receiver, HDMI cable from the satellite box to the TV, and HDMI cable from the Sbar 360 DVD/receiver to the TV. The Firedog guy said he didn't do that way, he was using the TV as a switch so everything ran through the TV. Therefore, I assume he ran the optical cable from the TV to the Sbar 360, and then HDMI back to the TV from the Sbar 360. Could this cause a problem?

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Turned everything off and re-connected all wires and cables. Everything seems to be fine now. Also, my satellite box doesn't appear to have an optical audio output. Therefore, pretty much have to go with the TV.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (58)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    6 Underground
    Posts
    25,306

    Default

    Let us know if this happens again and the CS team can get you some help.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    This is happening again. It is not specific to just playing DVD's. The volume just goes out and receiver freezes up. It doesn't recognize the remote or any buttons on the unit itself. However, if you power down and back up it is fine. The TV was on a good part of the day, and no problems until tonight. Tonight, the unit froze up and I shut down and it came back up. About 10 minutes later, it did it again. It is sort of random, but once it starts doing, it starts doing pretty frequently.

    Any advice would be appreciated. Otherwise, I will call support on Monday.

    Thanks.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (58)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    6 Underground
    Posts
    25,306

    Default

    Just call on Monday.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Mother locks kids in self-storage unit...WTF!
    By Ron-P in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 09-03-2010, 02:45 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-09-2008, 06:44 PM
  3. 61 HD-DVD and BR discs, 110 movie DVDs, 354 music DVDs for sale.
    By polksda in forum For Sale (FS) Classifieds
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 12-03-2007, 04:45 PM
  4. Bike Locks...
    By Demiurge in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-01-2006, 01:03 AM
  5. 3800 not playing dvds anymore
    By michael_w in forum Electronics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-29-2004, 07:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts