Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    237

    Default Whats all this xxxx about power conditioners ?

    I dont really believe that they are worth spending money on, but I was able to pick up Panamax 4300-EX for $50 bucks (at least it looks good). I thought that they are supposed to "help" me regulate/clean my voltage, but as I read a few threads here, it turns out people are saying they are bad for AMPs and AVRs........

    Whats up with that ? I have my Outlaw monoblocks and AVR plugged in there and subs are separate

    oh and no body is talking about cable/telephone/internet jacks. do people use them on their power conditioners ?
    Last edited by kolyan2k; 11-15-2008 at 08:41 AM.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (26)

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    The tube lair in Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    11,323

    Default

    Power conditioners, as I'm sure you read about, can limit the current for an audio system. That can hamper the performance. I have had some power conditioners that make absolutely no difference whatsoever and others that really do help to clean up the sound. I haven't found one yet that will take dirty AC and completely clean it, so from what I have experienced....Dirty in = Dirty out. Now they do have , for example, a power re-generator which I have yet to try. From what I understand, these clean the AC and at least from what I have read/heard are not a current limiting unit. Search power re-generator or PS Audio to start getting your learn on if you wish.

    I have used the cable/telephone/internet jacks on the power conditioners before. Unfortunately when lightning did strike, I had already gotten rid of all of the A/V side of my rig. So, I personally don't know whether or not any of them protected my gear. When they were hooked up, I experienced issues with the internet when plugged up into the conditioner. When a service technician came to diagnose the issue, he spotted that I had the incoming line going through the conditioner and told me that was the problem. He disconnected it and I haven't had a problem with the internet for about 3 years.
    In search of accurate reproduction of music. Real sound is my reference and while perfection may not be attainable? If I chase it, I might just catch excellence.

    The best way to enjoy digital music reproduction is to never listen to good analogue reproduction.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    11,426

    Default

    I have a Panamax 5500EX, it is a Power Regenator. It stores energy in its Toroidal Transformer. If my system is pulling less than 4.0Amps then it will provide my system with 120Volts Constant.

    Before this unit I had a Panamax Max 1000+ which I bought because I lived in an apartment building at the time and you could hear and see (on my tv) the distortion that was coming from the dirty electricity.

    The 1000+ cleaned all of that dirt up. I could not see it (as snow) on my TV and what I was hearing was clean Sound.

    I have tried my system without the 5500 and it just doesn't sound the same, I think it sounds much better with it in the mix.

    I have had only one song at my full volume that has clipped the panamax. Ask anybody, I listen to my system very loud. and I have seen the protection over limit warning light on the Panamax come on only once.

    As per the telephone/data/coax connections, I don't use them, I tried with the coax but my cable modem at the time did not work while it was connected. So I just left it at that.

    Lasareath
    Attached Images  
    Polk Audio SDA SRS 1.2TL's
    With new Exotic wood, Sonicaps, Mills & RDO198's - Born on 4-24-1989 and Signed by Matthew Polk!!!!


    My Polk SDA SRS 1.2TL's http://www.LASAREATH.com/


    It All Started here: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath2

    Part Deux: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath3

    Car Stereo---->http://www.salsleaf.com/leaf_stereo/index.htm<---- NEW for 2013

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    237

    Default

    Thanks guys. I ended up pluging amps directly to wall and avr to high current outlet in conditioner. This setup should work. As far as data goes, I was skeptical about it to begin with and I am not going to use it.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Power conditioners?
    By edossin4 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 01-17-2008, 10:45 PM
  2. Power conditioners
    By Skynut in forum Electronics
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 01-11-2006, 11:00 PM
  3. Power Conditioners and power draw......
    By brettw22 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 09-06-2005, 01:01 PM
  4. Power Conditioners
    By dkg999 in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-19-2004, 01:00 PM
  5. Power Conditioners
    By trubluluc in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-13-2001, 11:36 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts