Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Fuse To Big?

  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Bridgeton NJ
    Posts
    4,384

    Default Fuse To Big?

    I recieved my amp wiring kit today from kicker and it says it is for a single amp hook up. But here is the thing the fuse that it came with is a 100A fuse. I have never used one this big but I am going to be running a 500 watt amp and a 50-60 by 4 amp is this fuse still to big or can i use it. If you want to look up here is the link. One thing to not is the pick shows a distribution block but this does not have that. http://www.amazon.com/Kicker-05PK4-4...7050151&sr=1-8
    HT setup
    Dynex 40 inch tv
    Denon DBP-1610
    Monster HTS 1650
    Pioneer Elite VSX-81TXV
    Carver A400X
    MIT Exp 3 Speaker Wire
    Martin Logan Aerius
    Apple Tv 2nd Gen
    Logitech Harmony One Advanced Remote

    Living Room
    63 inch Samsung PN63C800YF
    Polk Surroundbar 3000
    Samsung BD-C7900

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Bridgeton NJ
    Posts
    4,384

    Default

    Bump
    HT setup
    Dynex 40 inch tv
    Denon DBP-1610
    Monster HTS 1650
    Pioneer Elite VSX-81TXV
    Carver A400X
    MIT Exp 3 Speaker Wire
    Martin Logan Aerius
    Apple Tv 2nd Gen
    Logitech Harmony One Advanced Remote

    Living Room
    63 inch Samsung PN63C800YF
    Polk Surroundbar 3000
    Samsung BD-C7900

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    11,815

    Default

    That fuse is not too big. Plus it will give you some room should you ever want to upgrade to bigger and/or more amps.
    polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
    MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09
    08 Car Audio Nationals 1st ~ 07 N Georgia Nationals 1st ~ 06 Carl Casper Nationals 1st ~ USACi 05 Southeast AutumnFest 1st

    polkaudio SR6500 --- polkaudio MM1040 x2 -- Pioneer P99 -- Rockford Fosgate P1000X5D

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Laker City (LA), CA
    Posts
    1,060

    Default

    is 80A too small for 1100rms?
    2013 Toyota Prius - Planning this one out.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    156

    Default

    the fuse on a wiring kit is really to protect against short circuits. it saves your car from burning/melting when a short happens.

    the fuses on the amp protect the amp. do not ever upgrade those!

    if your wiring kit has a fuse larger than your amp, that's fine.

    if it is smaller, see if it can be (safely) upgraded. ie - your wire *may* handle up to 100amps if it is 15 feet long. if they supplied you with a 50amp fuse, u can always upgrade that. (figures used here are imaginery, please consult the AWG wiring chart first)

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Houghton Lake MI
    Posts
    157

    Default

    The fuse should be lower than the current capabilities of your power/ground wire to the amplifier.

    The inline fuse is to protect your vehicle/system from short circuits due to defective power wires the fuse should be no more than 18" from the battery, closer is better.

    http://www.bcae1.com/

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Houghton Lake MI
    Posts
    157

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eloplayspolo View Post
    is 80A too small for 1100rms?
    Generally no.....

    Could be, yes....

    Will it be, doubt it......

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Which fuse..?
    By Jeff Beaird in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-27-2008, 11:54 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-08-2008, 03:44 PM
  3. no power to sub so replaced the fuse and the fuse kept on blowing?????
    By newbie2k8 in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-08-2008, 09:41 AM
  4. Fuse For 5jrs
    By rebfan in forum Vintage Speakers
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-23-2005, 01:10 PM
  5. New Fuse Cap
    By Lsi9 in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-19-2004, 11:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts