Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (20)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Fifth Ring of the Hot Place
    Posts
    7,529

    Default Help! PS3 Connection Issues

    I just switched from AT&T to Comcast and for the first few hours it was awesome but now when I play online I keep getting signed out and getting connection interrupted. I used Sony's port ranges on my Airport router and it's still doing it. What gives?
    Sharp Elite 70
    Anthem D2V 3D
    Parasound 5250
    Parasound HCA 1000 A
    Parasound HCA 1000
    Oppo BDP 95
    Von Schweikert VR4 Jr R/L Fronts
    Von Schweikert LCR 4 Center
    Totem Mask Surrounds X4
    Hsu ULS-15 Quad Drive Subwoofers
    Sony PS3
    Squeezebox Touch

    Polk Atrium 7s on the patio just to keep my foot in the door.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Texas - Moo
    Posts
    2,398

    Default

    This might not be you or your ISP. Since the open beta of Sony's "Home" lots of connection issues have popped up due to the overwhelming response and needs of new "home" users to set up and download all of the Home stuff.

    Might want to do a ping test and see if maybe your connection/wiring is bad. Cable companies sometimes will goof on cabling giving less than stellar performance.

    Open a comand prompt or console promt and type something like:

    ping yahoo.com

    I'm assuming you're on a MAC, and that should be all you need to type.

    On a PC:

    ping -t yahoo.com

    Let it run for a while. CTRL+C to end it and get the stats. If you have any timeouts, call Comcast and have them send a tech out to check your wiring/terminations.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (20)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Fifth Ring of the Hot Place
    Posts
    7,529

    Default

    Ok thanks. I'll try that when I get home. It was working fine the first few hours though. Really fast and no issues but my roommate complained she was losing connection on the laptop while I was playing. Then a while later it was unplayable.
    P.S. What is Sony Home?
    Last edited by wingnut4772; 12-15-2008 at 04:01 PM.
    Sharp Elite 70
    Anthem D2V 3D
    Parasound 5250
    Parasound HCA 1000 A
    Parasound HCA 1000
    Oppo BDP 95
    Von Schweikert VR4 Jr R/L Fronts
    Von Schweikert LCR 4 Center
    Totem Mask Surrounds X4
    Hsu ULS-15 Quad Drive Subwoofers
    Sony PS3
    Squeezebox Touch

    Polk Atrium 7s on the patio just to keep my foot in the door.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Texas - Moo
    Posts
    2,398

    Default

    You may also want to try changing your wireless AP to a different channel. There is a chance that you're experiencing an issue from interferance, either from another wireless AP or from something as simple as a cordless phone or microwave.

    http://playstationhome.com/

    http://gizmodo.com/5107634/10-things...aystation-home

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,397

    Default

    I remember way back when COD4 came out, I was playing wireless and the polkies I played with....well were not all that happy cause I kept getting disconnected, so I hard wired the puppy and no issues since !

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (20)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Fifth Ring of the Hot Place
    Posts
    7,529

    Default

    I am in the process of forwarding the ports to my Airport router but what is the DHCP Client ID? Is that the same as the IP address?It says :

    Enter the DHCP client ID for the client receiving the reservation"....???
    Sharp Elite 70
    Anthem D2V 3D
    Parasound 5250
    Parasound HCA 1000 A
    Parasound HCA 1000
    Oppo BDP 95
    Von Schweikert VR4 Jr R/L Fronts
    Von Schweikert LCR 4 Center
    Totem Mask Surrounds X4
    Hsu ULS-15 Quad Drive Subwoofers
    Sony PS3
    Squeezebox Touch

    Polk Atrium 7s on the patio just to keep my foot in the door.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2,381

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wingnut4772 View Post
    P.S. What is Sony Home?
    Sony Home is a social networking virtual environment. Look for it on the xmedia bar where you would find the ps store. You have a customizable full body avatar that you can wander around with that can use text or bluetooth devices to communicate. Also has a lot of cheezy dance moves and such and you have a virtual home that you can buy things for. You can meet people for gaming etc. Haven't tried it much, still says it's in beta.

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sahuarita, Arizona
    Posts
    2,410

    Default

    Sony's wireless connection is sketchy at best.

    Like Willow said, hard wire it. Still keep the ports open, and you are golden. I know it sucks but it is really the only way.
    Sean
    XboxLive--->avelanchefan
    PSN---->Floppa
    http://card.mygamercard.net/avelanchefan.png

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (20)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Fifth Ring of the Hot Place
    Posts
    7,529

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by avelanchefan View Post
    Sony's wireless connection is sketchy at best.

    Like Willow said, hard wire it. Still keep the ports open, and you are golden. I know it sucks but it is really the only way.
    I wasn't having any wireless issues when I had At&t DSL. The Home feature would interfere with online multiplayer?
    Sharp Elite 70
    Anthem D2V 3D
    Parasound 5250
    Parasound HCA 1000 A
    Parasound HCA 1000
    Oppo BDP 95
    Von Schweikert VR4 Jr R/L Fronts
    Von Schweikert LCR 4 Center
    Totem Mask Surrounds X4
    Hsu ULS-15 Quad Drive Subwoofers
    Sony PS3
    Squeezebox Touch

    Polk Atrium 7s on the patio just to keep my foot in the door.

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sahuarita, Arizona
    Posts
    2,410

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wingnut4772 View Post
    I wasn't having any wireless issues when I had At&t DSL. The Home feature would interfere with online multiplayer?
    Well I think with the Home update it has caused some conflict issues.

    WingNut...quite honestly I do not know. My ps3 has not been turned on in over a month because my HDMI switch went out, and its just a real PITA to switch between my cable box and the ps3. So I have not even seen the new home update.

    I am just going by my own experience with the ps3 wireless interface. When I got the ps3 last Christmas I was not able to connect very well to my wifi despite showing an 85% signal strength. And my wifi was only 25 feet from the ps3. Luckily my house is wired for internet, so I just used a splitter between the XBOX and the ps3, due to my 360 already being hard wired.

    My advice to you, is if you really want to have it set at wireless is to go to your router, and on the back of it is a reset button, completely reset the router to stock by holding the reset button down for 30+ seconds. (This is how it is done for the linksys routers., your airport router is probably the same) The reason I say reset the router, is it may be communicating differently than your old DSL modem was, which may also be causing a conflict.

    NOTE: before resetting your router take a picture of your port forwarding list, so all you have to do is put in the numbers again so you dont have to look them up. Pull up the port forwarding page, hit the print screen button on your keyboard, go to PAINT and open it up, edit---> and paste.
    Sean
    XboxLive--->avelanchefan
    PSN---->Floppa
    http://card.mygamercard.net/avelanchefan.png

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help Cab Issues
    By zingo in forum DIY, Mods & Tweaks
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-13-2008, 03:06 PM
  2. B&K Issues
    By Meechsterlee in forum Electronics
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-23-2007, 09:11 AM
  3. Ohm Issues
    By Meechsterlee in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-16-2007, 11:10 AM
  4. 1.2 IC issues ?????
    By screename in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 08-17-2005, 10:49 PM
  5. 1.2 issues with IC ?????
    By screename in forum Vintage Speakers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-05-2005, 10:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts