Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: power amps

  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (7)

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    1,137

    Default power amps

    Can you split the center preout & go to 2 separate amps? Also can you use only one channel L or R on the amp without it hurting the amp? I have 3 center spks & want to use 2 separate amps, they both can only use A or B spks at a time. Thanks

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    3,292

    Default

    Yes, I split my center out for a 2ch amp. Worked great. Make sure u use a high quality y adapter.
    PS3 and HD Front Projection, life is good. Too bad Blu-Ray and the PS3 are already obsolete.....

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Funny Farm"no doubt there"
    Posts
    5,329

    Thumbs up

    Originally posted by scottvamp
    Yes, I split my center out for a 2ch amp. Worked great. Make sure u use a high quality y adapter.
    I agree.

    HBomb

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (7)

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    1,137

    Default

    Thanks for everyones help. I should have said if it would degrade the sound by splitting with y adapter at the receiver. Then going to 2 separate amps. Also would it hurt a stereo amp by just using one spk output?
    My HT set-up Panasonic front proj, 120 in ws screen, ATI amp,Integra 9.8 pre-pro, 2 Polk rti150, cp 1000, 4 fx 1000, Pioneer blu-ray 2 SVS sub pb 12-ultra 2, & Paragon popcorn popper. ps 3 Coaster leather HT recliners.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    6,245

    Default

    just curious, But why a high quality Y adapter?? I really am just wondering, as generally we want high quality everything wire wise, but i used a Rat shack Y until i got my monster basic Y and both sound and work the same.. after all its only a few inches of wire from a non powered pre-amp out at that, so is there a short answer to this??
    MY HT RIG:
    Sherwood p-965
    Sherwood sd871 dvd
    Rotel 1075 amp x5
    LSI15 mains
    LsiC center
    LSIfx surround backs
    Lsi7 side surrounds
    SVS pb12/plus2


    2 Channel Rig:

    nad 1020 Pre-amp
    Rotel 1080 stereo amp
    Polk sda 2B
    kenwood grunt Tuner
    realistic lab 450 TT
    Signal cable IC

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (55)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Exit 5 on the Jersey Turnpike
    Posts
    12,065

    Default

    Yup, save your money.

    George Grand (of the Jersey Grand's)

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    6,245

    Default

    Thats what i thought,
    MY HT RIG:
    Sherwood p-965
    Sherwood sd871 dvd
    Rotel 1075 amp x5
    LSI15 mains
    LsiC center
    LSIfx surround backs
    Lsi7 side surrounds
    SVS pb12/plus2


    2 Channel Rig:

    nad 1020 Pre-amp
    Rotel 1080 stereo amp
    Polk sda 2B
    kenwood grunt Tuner
    realistic lab 450 TT
    Signal cable IC

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts