Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    320

    Default Rotel RMB 1095 Hum

    Just got my Rotel 1095 today...hooked it up to my Yamaha RX-V2700 and Polk SDA-1Bs. With no volume there is a low hum. When the sound is up it is hard to hear the hum but during quiet the hum is audible. I tried connecting the amp to a different outlet...still hum. With the receiver off and only amp on there is a hum. When I disconnect the interconnects the hum goes away. Tried different RCA cables...still same hum. I don't have expensive interconnects but I am wondering if there is something wrong with the amp. Bought it used on e-bay. Or would better interconnects get rid of the hum? I recently searched for the same problem and one thread said that the 1095 has this hum....Does anybody know if this is true?

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    You have a ground loop somewhere. Is the amp plugged in the same outlet as the AVR? Try that and see if the hum goes away. If you still have the hum try disconnecting all the connections from the AVR, and leave the RCA's attached to the amp. If it is gone you have something introducing noise to the AVR. Just keep plugging in connections one at a time till the noise appears. Cable TV can create noise too.
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    320

    Default

    Thanks for the excellent trouble shooting Ben. I disconnected all power lines...tv, cable box. I have a antronix booster for the cable installed by time warner...cut power off. All power cords disconected even receiver, except amp....still hum. Disconnected cable from cable box and No HUM. Connected all power lines...no hum. Reconnected cable to cable box....hum. Anyway to filter this?
    Thanks
    Richard

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    320

    Default

    Well I hope this doesn't put my amp at risk but it works. I plugged my three prong amp cord into a 2 prong converter and...No Hum...nothing...absolute silence!! If it is a ground loop then removing the ground prevents the loop.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    There are filters for CATV. I have an antenna, and have not had cable or satellite for years. Hopefully someone can recommend a good CATV filter. Using a cheater plug is fine in my book to eliminate hum. Just make sure the 3 to 2 is a tight fitting one. Is the power cord an IEC unit? You could just "extract" the ground from the cord:) Please try the filter route first. I am just listing options.
    Ben
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    320

    Default

    Well you are going to cringe....The amp did not come with a power cord...I found a power cord from one of my computers PSU and it fit perfectly (my PSUs are rated to 1000watts...it is from pc power and cooling). The Grounding adapter is from radio shack and it is almost a cold weld tight. I am currently looking for a nice MIT power cord to replace ASAP. I would prefer some sort of choke on the Cable....Any ideas anybody?
    Richard

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (41)

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    8,741

    Default

    Have you looked at signal cable power cords?

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    320

    Default

    Haven't looked at that brand yet...but I did find:
    http://www.zzounds.com/cat--2757
    and
    http://www.21best.com/21_best/electr...for_sale_.html
    Both sound interesting....anybody try these?
    Richard

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    320

    Default

    I think the best answer might be:
    http://www.audioholics.com/tweaks/co...m-hum-and-buzz

    It looks like I will need to buy a Cable TV ground isolator from Jenson

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Rotel 1095
    By rainman31 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-24-2008, 01:16 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-09-2007, 08:48 PM
  3. FS: ROTEL RMB-1095 (Ebay)
    By MattN03 in forum For Sale (FS) Classifieds
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-24-2006, 08:26 AM
  4. Rotel RMB-1095
    By Terrax in forum Electronics
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 09-05-2005, 04:14 PM
  5. Rotel 1095 and B&W N802
    By jazznsoccer in forum Electronics
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 04-10-2004, 01:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts