Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    1

    Unhappy Some Problems with SurroundBar 360

    Considering I'm now on my second SurroundBar 360, having returned the first one to Best Buy just today and already having issues with number two, I figured it was time to air out my frustrations.

    Reasons for returning SurroundBar 360 #1 ....

    (1) Switching from AUX (PS3/Blu-ray) to TV and then back lost all sound from the AUX's optical input. Only way to get it back was to shut the unit down and power up again.

    (2) At times I would go from DVD/CD to TV or CBL/SAT and the whole thing would shut down. Not go into standby, I mean completely shut down. Only way to revive it was to flick the AC switch on the back.

    (3) Center unit appeared to overheat, becoming very hot to the touch even while turned off and only on standby the whole night.

    (4) This morning I tried to turn on the system and there was no response whatsoever. After just one week it kicked the bucket. Red standby light would come on, then pressing the power button caused it to shut down. This went on and on for a half hour until I gave up. Packed it back into the box and drove to Best Buy.


    Reasons I'm close to returning SurroundBar 360 #2 ...

    (1) Poor decoding of 5.1 creates loud surround effect, but poor center channel effect causing voices to be too quiet or muffled and muted. This was most evident while watching Lost on ABC, and even during the many action scenes in Hellboy 2. Switching the PS3 to 2.1 LPCM helps with dialogue, but much of the intended surround effect is lost, which was the main reason for buying this system.

    (2) I have my Samsung LCD HDTV sending audio to the center unit via optical cable. Tonite while watching Dirty Jobs I went to adjust the volume using the remote. The numbers on the console went up and down but the volume remained at the same level. It wasn't until I pressed Mute and then pressed Mute again that the volume suddenly blasted to the higher number. But when I attempted to lower it, again the numbers changed and went down, but the sound remained high. Pressing Mute twice again brought the sound back down, but again it was stuck. I had to shut the unit down and power up again to get it corrected.


    If tech support knows about these problems and if there is a solution please contact me. When the 360 works, it works really well. But this inconsistency in quality with both units is killing me.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default Problems with SurroundBar 360

    This past week I went to a clien't house to install one of these and ran into the same problems. Although the client did not purchase the gear from me, I felt obligated to troubleshoot the SurroundBar 360 since it was giving me problems immediately after installing it.

    Day 1: I connected the cable box and BluRay player to the 360 with optical cables in the CBL/SAT and AUX1 inputs respectively. When switching from one input to the other, the 360 would stop processing audio. Additionally, the only way to correct this was to power th eunit down or unplug it. The unit froze up completelt about 5 or 6 times while I was installing and trouble shooting it. Once again, the remedy was unpolugging it.

    Day 2: I picked up another unit from the retailer that sold the 360 in the first place and swapped it for the client. All appeared to be working fine in the 40 minutes I was there, but the client called me the next morning complaining that the same problems were back. I will be going back to the client's home on Monday to see if there is anythiong else that can be done to solve these problems.

    Is there a firmware upgrade that addresses these issues?

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    11,296

    Default

    Damn I just received one today but I'm not close to installing it yet, I guess I should hold onto the boxes.
    Polk Audio SDA SRS 1.2TL's
    With new Exotic wood, Sonicaps, Mills & RDO198's - Born on 4-24-1989 and Signed by Matthew Polk!!!!


    My Polk SDA SRS 1.2TL's http://www.LASAREATH.com/


    It All Started here: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath2

    Part Deux: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath3

    Car Stereo---->http://www.salsleaf.com/leaf_stereo/index.htm<---- NEW for 2013

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    11,296

    Default

    Are you guys using a power conditioner?

    I've seen dirty power do things like the items mentioned above.

    I'm not talking about a $50 power strip, I'm talking about something like this:

    http://www.panamax.com/Products/A-V-.../M4300-PM.aspx

    My main system uses one of these:

    http://www.partstore.com/Part/PANAMA...aspx?s=froogle

    The new new 360 will be connected to something like this:

    http://www.laaudiofile.com/max1000plus.html
    Polk Audio SDA SRS 1.2TL's
    With new Exotic wood, Sonicaps, Mills & RDO198's - Born on 4-24-1989 and Signed by Matthew Polk!!!!


    My Polk SDA SRS 1.2TL's http://www.LASAREATH.com/


    It All Started here: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath2

    Part Deux: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath3

    Car Stereo---->http://www.salsleaf.com/leaf_stereo/index.htm<---- NEW for 2013

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    12

    Default

    I have had some of the same issues with the input switching, powering down and 5.1 audio issues... none have been resolved sadly

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. FYI SurroundBar SDA IHT
    By dorokusai in forum 2 Channel Audio
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 06-09-2009, 04:44 PM
  2. Which Surroundbar to get?
    By YOTR in forum Speakers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-28-2008, 09:14 AM
  3. SurroundBar + HK AVR-247 + DSW PRO 400
    By narkeeso in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-11-2008, 06:29 PM
  4. FS: nearly new Surroundbar
    By daesdaemar in forum For Sale (FS) Classifieds
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-04-2007, 04:11 PM
  5. help, surroundbar
    By jojo5639 in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 12-15-2006, 02:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts