Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    28

    Default what gauge wire for 35 ft run.

    My amp will be about 35 ft. from my lsi9's. Do you think 12 gauge would be sufficient? I am using a Carver tfm42 amp.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (22)

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Directly over the center of the earth in Olathe Kansas
    Posts
    5,825
    Speakers: SDA-1C (most all the goodies)
    Preamp: Joule Electra LA-150 MKII SE
    Amp: Wright WPA 50-50 EAT KT88s
    Analog: Marantz TT-15S1 MBS Glider SL| Wright WPP100C Amperex BB 6er5 and 7316 & WPM-100 SUT
    Digital: Mac mini 2.3GHz dual-core i5 8g RAM 1.5 TB HDD Music Server Amarra (memory play) - USB - W4S DAC 2
    Cables: Mits S3 IC and Spk cables| PS Audio PCs

    Ofc: Wright WLA12 preamp: Anthem Amp 1: Pio Elite DV-79AVI: Airport Express: CAL Sigma II DAC: PA LS90 sonicaps and mills

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southeast Va in the 757
    Posts
    3,574

    Default

    i use monoprice 14awg, works for me, bout the same distance.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    28

    Default

    great. thanks for the info.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default

    http://www.roger-russell.com/wire/wire.htm

    page down a few times and you'll see a great chart of what to use.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fflaque View Post
    http://www.roger-russell.com/wire/wire.htm

    page down a few times and you'll see a great chart of what to use.
    The next time I see roger-russell I am going to club a baby seal

    Use 12ga for LSI's at that lenght.
    Ben
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    13,547

    Default

    12 gauge is more then plenty especially at that length. 35 feet is not a long run.
    Dan
    My personal quest is to save to world of bad audio, one thread at a time.

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Andromeda
    Posts
    14,417

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ben62670 View Post
    the next time i see roger-russell i am going to club a baby seal
    lol! :D

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Ok! 12 gauge it is. Thank you guys for the info.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. What gauge wire should i use?
    By Shank265 in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-23-2008, 06:29 PM
  2. Need Help What gauge of wire should i use??
    By Shank265 in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-23-2008, 06:08 PM
  3. Using different gauge wire
    By Home Theatre in forum Electronics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-26-2006, 12:11 PM
  4. What gauge wire?
    By chevyshortbed88 in forum Car Subwoofer Talk
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-15-2004, 11:08 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts