Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    5

    Default What kind of amp to use?

    Whats a good amp to use for an mm12?

  2. #2
    Cody\'s/n
    Guest

    Default

    look for an amp rated at 500watts rms
    -Cody

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    5

    Default

    what about a rockford fosgate 500s?

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    343

    Default

    Sure if you "Bridge it" for one speaker. The 501s makes over 500 watts rms Bridged.
    Chris

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    5

    Default

    what exactly is bridging?

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,818

    Default

    that amp will push that speaker great
    that amp will probably put out 600+ watts
    rockford fosgate underrates their amps
    to bridge an amp:
    do you bridge an amp?
    pretty much when you bridge an amp you use the + terminal from one channel and the - terminal from the other channel
    bridging is trying to get more power out of an amp
    technically youre sposed to get 4x the amount of power
    but in reality you only see about half that
    if i were you i would go to www.onlinecarstereo.com or www.carstereotime.com
    online car stereo is usually cheaper but car stereo time will beat anyones price and both have free shipping
    -Cody

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    5

    Default

    which amp are you talking about, the 501s or the 500s?

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I am installing 3 sets of ex3560 in my dakotai have a ALPINE V12 MRV-500 2 channel amp. Will that be enough or to much power for them.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    307

    Default

    Not sure what the speakers you are installing are Dakota, but unless they are subs, the V-12 you have probably won't be too good. I believe that is a monoblock sub amp. Not sure if it has a switchable crossover.
    "The Big C"

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    3,962

    Default

    dakota -- the mrd-500 alpine amp is a mono block sub amp that will not produce frequencies over like 300 hertz or some crap like that... so there's no way in hell you're gonn ahook up COAXIAL high's .


    far as briding the rockford amp for the one sub -- jsut be sure you check with the MFG which is positive and which is negative... some MFG"s say to use the LEFT + and RIGHT -... others say use the RIght + and LEFT -... even some OTHERS will say one of the previous too IN ADDITION to pressing a button labeled "bridge" which triggers further circuitry inside the amp.

    Tech Definition...
    Bridging an amp = (verb) to build a small steel, masonry, or wooden structure over the amp, over which gnomes, fairies, and small elven creatures may journey on their way to seek the holy grail.
    "With your own attitude it is hard to survive here... But who gives a damn, we are here to change the world, and we dont need a password for that."
    - Anurag

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,818

    Default

    i was talking about the 500s avs
    -Cody

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    5

    Default

    alright, thanks for the help, I'm planning on buying the sub by next week and the amp in 2 weeks.

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    seccond star to the right and strait on to morning
    Posts
    2,795

    Default

    i have the alpine mrv1000 it cranks out 250 rms per side into 4ohms. and if i run it at 2 in sterio i get around 500 a side.
    Gonzo's World
    BenQ 8700+
    115in screen
    PS3,X-Box 360 and Wii
    Sunfire Theater Grand III
    ADCOM GFA-7607
    four avalanch 18 subs 26.12l of displacement
    Crown xti 4000

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    3,962

    Default

    i thought that was gonna be a class D amp -- hell i need to brush up on my alpine tech....
    "With your own attitude it is hard to survive here... But who gives a damn, we are here to change the world, and we dont need a password for that."
    - Anurag

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    307

    Default

    Gonzo I'm confused. I've never heard of the MRV-1000 and I can't find any info on it. Is it an old amp? I have the 1507, is that what you're talking about?
    "The Big C"

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    3,962

    Default

    the 1507 was rated like 900 x 1 bridged into 4... but if you got a "good one" and fed it enough steady voltage you'd get well over 1,000 out of it.

    alpine was supposed to come out with an MR - D - 1000 mono sub amp.. but i've yet to see one in stores... however their 2003 spring catalog has the specs / pic of it. ...1000X1 at 2 ohms...@ 14... they've even got a 12 volt rating of 700.
    "With your own attitude it is hard to survive here... But who gives a damn, we are here to change the world, and we dont need a password for that."
    - Anurag

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts