Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    15,835

    Default Win XP computer will not shut down or reboot

    ok. i prob know the answer to this. but what the hell.

    yeah. i go to reboot or shut off the computer with XP, and it just hangs on the final screen before going any further.


    what, is a file missing or something?

    i don't want to reformat the HD... but I guess that's prob the best way huh?

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (25)

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    West Chester, PA
    Posts
    4,301

    Default

    Is this a new problem or has it always been this way? And recent changes?

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    15,835

    Default

    started doing this several weeks ago. i don't remember if I did anything different to it since then. just one day.. it would not complete a reboot or shut down.. basically a restart. just hangs.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    11,302

    Default

    Mine was doing the same thing a few weeks ago, I kept uninstalling all the latest software untill I got to the point when it would shut down by itself again.
    Polk Audio SDA SRS 1.2TL's
    With new Exotic wood, Sonicaps, Mills & RDO198's - Born on 4-24-1989 and Signed by Matthew Polk!!!!


    My Polk SDA SRS 1.2TL's http://www.LASAREATH.com/


    It All Started here: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath2

    Part Deux: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath3

    Car Stereo---->http://www.salsleaf.com/leaf_stereo/index.htm<---- NEW for 2013

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Peterborough Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    916

    Default

    One way to deal with a problem like this, is to do a system restore. Just pick a restore point prior to this all happening. Keep in mind that if you do this, anything installed since then will be lost as well as anything you may have created ie; word documents. In some cases depending on how your configured, that is.


    good luck
    Last edited by renowilliams; 05-16-2009 at 07:28 AM.
    "They're always talking about my drinking, but never mention my thirst" Oscar Wilde


    Pre-Amp: Anthem AVM 20
    Amp: Carver TFM-35
    Amp: Rotel RB-870BX
    Fronts : SDA 1B w/ RDO-194s
    T.V.:Plasma TC-P54G25
    Bluray: Oppo BDP-93
    Speaker Cables: MIT Terminater
    Interconnect Cables:DH Labs Silver Sonic BL-1isonic

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (7)

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Climbing that pole...in your backyard
    Posts
    4,025

    Default

    Whack it with a ballpeen hammer, Al.
    I though reboot was when you had to kick it twice to get it to do something??? Huh..

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Back from Japan in Clover, SC
    Posts
    7,816

    Default

    Just make sure the system isn't doing any updates, sometimes, it will seem like it is hung up due to that reason. If not try system recovery.
    Shoot the jumper.....................BALLIN.............!!!! !

    Home Theater Pics in the Showcase

    http://www.polkaudio.com/forums/show...p?userid=73580

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Live Free or Die
    Posts
    10,965

    Default

    Who needs to shut down their computer?

    I'd guess ther'es a program that's running that won't quit. Check your task manager, try killing processes before shutting down, see if it changes anything.
    If you will it, dude, it is no dream.

  9. #9
    Lorthos
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by danger boy View Post
    ok. i prob know the answer to this. but what the hell.

    yeah. i go to reboot or shut off the computer with XP, and it just hangs on the final screen before going any further.


    what, is a file missing or something?

    i don't want to reformat the HD... but I guess that's prob the best way huh?
    There isn't a file missing, usually when theres a file missing it won't boot up...or you'll get some sort of error message.

    Theres a piece of software thats causing the problem, like Lasereath said....one thing you might try is to go into msconfig and disable startup files to see if that helps....

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,234

    Default

    Press and hold your power button until it shuts down, re-boot and see if that clears the problem.

    Bev's laptop did this last night.

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (8)

    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    2,238

    Default

    WebRoot SpySweeper would make my old laptop hang up on shutdown after AVG finished scanning. Sometimes it shut down....sometimes it didn't....

    Wes
    Link: http://polkarmy.com/forums

    Panasonic TH-42PHD8UK 42" HDTV | Polk Audio SDA-SRS's (w/RDO's & Vampire Posts) + SVS PC+ 25-31 | AudioQuest Granite (mids) + BWA Silver (highs) | Cary Audio CAD-200 | Signal Cable Silver Resolution XLR's | Wyred 4 Sound STP/SE Pre | Signal Cable Silver Resolution XLR's | Cambridge Audio azur 840C--Wadia 170i + iPod jammed w/ lossless audio--Oppo 970 | Pure|AV PF31d

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    309

    Default

    Try looking in Event Viewer for an answer.

    Also, open up task manager and then try and shutdown the pc. See what process is using a lot of memory or the CPU.

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    15,835

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lightman1 View Post
    Whack it with a ballpeen hammer, Al.
    I though reboot was when you had to kick it twice to get it to do something??? Huh..
    So far I like your idea best. :p

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    15,835

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lorthos View Post
    There isn't a file missing, usually when theres a file missing it won't boot up...or you'll get some sort of error message.

    Theres a piece of software thats causing the problem, like Lasereath said....one thing you might try is to go into msconfig and disable startup files to see if that helps....
    ok cool.. what if in msconfig i have two of the same file? should there really only be one instance of a file not two?

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    15,835

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by steveinaz View Post
    Press and hold your power button until it shuts down, re-boot and see if that clears the problem.

    Bev's laptop did this last night.
    that is the only way I can get it to reboot is to hold the power button and do a hard shut down.. which I'm sure is not good for XP.

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Peterborough Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    916

    Default

    If there was a windows system file missing(which I don't believe there is) you could put the xp cd in and go to run and type the following command sfc /scannow . This command will tell your os to search the disc for missing operating system files.
    "They're always talking about my drinking, but never mention my thirst" Oscar Wilde


    Pre-Amp: Anthem AVM 20
    Amp: Carver TFM-35
    Amp: Rotel RB-870BX
    Fronts : SDA 1B w/ RDO-194s
    T.V.:Plasma TC-P54G25
    Bluray: Oppo BDP-93
    Speaker Cables: MIT Terminater
    Interconnect Cables:DH Labs Silver Sonic BL-1isonic

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    McMinnville, OR
    Posts
    2,019

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by danger boy View Post
    ok cool.. what if in msconfig i have two of the same file? should there really only be one instance of a file not two?
    If there's 2 identical entries in msconfig then typically that means that there is 2 entries in your registry for that program/application.

    I would use a program like CCleaner (totally free, totally awesome). Use it to clear out all the junk that accumulates from use. After the first section is complete, you'll see an option on the left side to clear up your registry.

    Do it.

    If that doesn't help, then shut down the computer manually (hold the button down for 10 seconds). Boot into safe mode (hit F8 after post, and before the windows loading screen).
    Try shutting down/restarting in safe mode. If it lets you do it in safe mode, then it's a problem with a program that is running in regular mode.

    If it doesn't work, it's a windows issue.
    Quote Originally Posted by MrNightly View Post
    "Dr Dunn admitted that his research could also be interpreted as evidence that women are shallower than men. He said: "Let's face it - there's evidence to support it."
    Quote Originally Posted by mystik610 View Post
    Best Buy is for people who don't know any better. Magnolia is for people who don't know any better and have more money to spend.
    My System:


    Blu-Ray player: Samsung BD-P1600
    TV: SAMSUNG UN55B7000 55" 1080p LED HDTV

  18. #18
    ZERO Threshold of Hearing
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Land O Lakes, FL
    Posts
    1,636

    Default

    quit visiting pornography sites.
    I am 100% BORN DEAF and No I am not kidding! :D Why am I here? My wife's hearing! :p

    My Home Theater Rig || Television: 58" Panasonic TH-58PZ800U Viera Plasma || Power Conditioner: Power Monster HTS 3600 MKII || Receiver: Onkyo TX-SR805 || Blu-Ray/Gaming: 60 Gigabytes Playstation 3 || Amplifier: Emotiva XPA-5 || Fronts: Polk Audio RT800i || Center: Polk Audio CS245i || Surrounds: TBA|| Subwoofer: TBA

  19. #19

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    McMinnville, OR
    Posts
    2,019

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CaligulaPolk View Post
    quit visiting pornography sites.
    Hey...

    HEY...

    That's NOT cool man...not cool at all!
    Quote Originally Posted by MrNightly View Post
    "Dr Dunn admitted that his research could also be interpreted as evidence that women are shallower than men. He said: "Let's face it - there's evidence to support it."
    Quote Originally Posted by mystik610 View Post
    Best Buy is for people who don't know any better. Magnolia is for people who don't know any better and have more money to spend.
    My System:


    Blu-Ray player: Samsung BD-P1600
    TV: SAMSUNG UN55B7000 55" 1080p LED HDTV

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Shut Off Oil Burner During Day?
    By bobman1235 in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-25-2008, 01:12 PM
  2. SDA-2 causing amp to shut down
    By OnlyPolk in forum Vintage Speakers
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 07-16-2006, 01:47 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-20-2006, 10:31 AM
  4. what causes a sub amp to shut down?
    By faster100 in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-28-2005, 02:53 PM
  5. LSI 25 and amp shut down
    By pvabeach in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-17-2002, 07:46 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts