Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,442

    Default Motorola - Comcast DVR

    Hey does anyone have any info on recording a comcast dvr to an external hard drive. I filled up the hard drive on the DVR and want to put on my 500 gig external hard drive.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Fairchild AFB WA.
    Posts
    3,630

    Default

    I always wondered the same thing, I have a Comcast Motorola HDDVR and recording HD content can really fill that thing up fast. I am constantly deleting things I "like less" than others so I have room, lol. If anybody has a way I would love to know.
    HT Rig
    Receiver- Onkyo TX-SR806
    Mains- Polk Audio Monitor 70
    Center- Polk Audio CS2
    Surrounds- Polk Audio TSi 500's :D
    Sub- Polk Audio PSW125
    Retired- Polk Audio Monitor 40's
    T.V.- 60" Sony SXRD KDS-60A2000 LCoS
    Blu-Ray- 80 GB PS3


    2 CH rig (in progress)
    Polk Audio Monitor 10A's

    It's not that I'm insensitive, I just don't care.. :D

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    7,626

    Default

    I have one too. It has several USB ports, I wonder if one is an output???

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Live Free or Die
    Posts
    10,965

    Default

    All of the ports on the back are disabled by Comcast's software. There is no way to hook up an external drive that anyone has figured out (That i've been able to find in the years i've been looking). There's also unfortunately no way to even replace the internal drive (no matter what you put in there the software reformats it to 120 or 160 GB depending on which box you have).

    It's ridiculous that they don't at least try to make this stuff available.
    If you will it, dude, it is no dream.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,442

    Default

    I agree. I guess the almost $200 a month they get from me isn't enough.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    15,835

    Default

    well the DVR's do have HDMI and component and optical outs.. can't you transfer the video that way via your receiver? I have no idea.. it seems like it should be possible though.

    someone here needs to try it out and let us know.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Live Free or Die
    Posts
    10,965

    Default

    You coudl use the video outputs in conjunction with a video capture device, but that's a far cry from adding more storage, and a huge hassle. Like Vette says, they get enough money, how hard would it be to give us unlimited storage?
    If you will it, dude, it is no dream.

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,442

    Default

    I have heard that if you plug the external hard drive via the eSata cable it will recognize it.

    I will attempt it soon ( just bought the wire ) and let you guys know how it goes.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (20)

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    7th Circle of Hell - aka DFW
    Posts
    10,669

    Default

    I've been happy ever since the day Time Warner (formerly Comcast here) let us start using Tivo boxes. I sent my two crappy Motorola boxes back that day and haven't looked back. They do still charge my 4 bucks a month for each of my cable cards, but it's much better than using their crappy hardware...

    If you guys have the Tivo option, it's a bit more expensive up front, but totally worth it IMO.
    Main HT
    Magnepan 1.6QR fronts, POlk R15 surrounds, Pioneer SC-25, Parasound Halo A23, Oppo BDP-105, Panasonic TC-P60ZT60, Sony PS3, Apple TV

    Bedroom System
    Polk Blackstone TL3, Polk PSWi225 Wireless Sub, HK 3490 Integrated, Oppo BDP-103, Sharp Aquos 32" TV, Apple TV

    Office Rig
    27" iMac w/Amarra, AudioQuest Dragonfly 1.2, Focal XS Book, Schiit Valhalla, Cypher Labs Theorem 720, Philips Fidelio X1, Sennheiser HD600, HiFiMan HE-500, B&W P7, LG 47LM7600, Sony PS3, Apple TV

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    33

    Default

    just not a fan of comcast

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    7,626

    Default

    When my cable service was with Insight(Comcast bought in Dec 08), I had not a single outage, cable or internet for 8 years. Since Jan 09, I've had several issues, both cable and internet. They were supposed to be here today between 3-5pm...no show. They were supposed to bring me two new boxes, one HD and one HD/DVR to replace the Insight ones that have been here since 2001 and 2003 respectively. Sunday night the cable internet went out for several hours and they said I'd need a new modem. A few hours later all was well. Not a modem issue. They are rescheduled to be here Friday am. I'm soooo tired of their ****. I wish it was cost effective to switch to Dish or Direct, but then I'd have to go back to dial-up, as I'm one block away from AT&T's dsl service, or pay extra to keep cable broadband from Comcast.

    Man I wish AT&T would run over to my hood so I could get their tv and internet service.

    COMCAST SUX!!!!
    "SOME PEOPLE CALL ME MAURICE,
    CAUSE I SPEAK OF THE POMPITIOUS OF LOVE"

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Samsung LCDs, Comcast, Motorola, HDMI, and you
    By BaggedLancer in forum Electronics
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 05-08-2009, 11:38 AM
  2. SOLD Motorola MOTOPure H12 Bluetooth
    By dorokusai in forum For Sale (FS) Classifieds
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-28-2009, 11:16 PM
  3. Motorola HD Tuner HDT101 $99.00
    By tapeshc in forum For Sale (FS) Classifieds
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-14-2007, 09:39 PM
  4. Anyone own a Motorola phone?
    By AsSiMiLaTeD in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 09-22-2005, 03:55 PM
  5. Motorola 6200 DCT
    By Burnzy in forum Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-17-2004, 04:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts