Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    24

    Question 12V Trigger on Emotiva XPA-3

    This may not be a basic question, but I have no clue as to whether this trigger has any function I could use. It appears that the input is to the Emotiva amp, which makes me think that you turn something else on, and the amp starts up. However, the Emotiva manual says not to switch anything that plugs directly into the wall, whereas their advice is to ALWAYS plug the Emotiva into the wall.

    On a broader scale....is there any way to control the Emotiva without manually popping the button to turn it from standby to on? Maybe that's a question for the Emotiva forum, but I know there are a lot of users (and haters!) on here.

    The AV receiver I have, the Onkyo TX-SR706, does have a 12V output but it apparently only works in Zone 2. Thanks for the help!
    Gregory

    Power Amp: Emotiva XPA-3
    Fronts: PolkAudio RTi A9 Canare 4S11/Vampire Wire B12
    Center: PolkAudio CSi A6 Canare 4S11/Vampire Wire B12

    AV Receiver: Onkyo TX-SR706
    Rear Surrounds: PolkAudio FXi A6
    Sub: PolkAudio DSW Pro 500

    Components
    Power Conditioner: Belkin PureAV PF60
    Turntable: Technics SL-QD22
    DVD/VHS: Samsung DVD-VR375
    CD: Technics SL-P999
    DVR: Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8300HDC
    TV: Sharp Aquos LC32D62U
    Gaming: Sony Playstation 3

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Sooner Country
    Posts
    3,967

    Default

    Think the other way around...........the trigger is there so that the amp could be turned on by a remote 12 volt signal sent from another source such as a preamp or receiver. This allows for remote placement such as a hidden rack or closet for pieces that don't require any adjustments after installing, just powering up for use.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Thanks, Dennis. I think that's what I want to do. I can turn everything on with one tap of the power conditioner EXCEPT the Emotiva. It gets juice but only comes up to standby mode. I would normally think it could come alive when triggered by the receiver, but I don't see any way to do that with the receiver. The only trigger I see is for Zone 2--I am not employing any Zone 2 but I don't think it would work to control the amp.
    Gregory

    Power Amp: Emotiva XPA-3
    Fronts: PolkAudio RTi A9 Canare 4S11/Vampire Wire B12
    Center: PolkAudio CSi A6 Canare 4S11/Vampire Wire B12

    AV Receiver: Onkyo TX-SR706
    Rear Surrounds: PolkAudio FXi A6
    Sub: PolkAudio DSW Pro 500

    Components
    Power Conditioner: Belkin PureAV PF60
    Turntable: Technics SL-QD22
    DVD/VHS: Samsung DVD-VR375
    CD: Technics SL-P999
    DVR: Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8300HDC
    TV: Sharp Aquos LC32D62U
    Gaming: Sony Playstation 3

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Middle of the USA
    Posts
    875

    Default

    I was using a onkyo 805 and a xpa3. I did use the zone 2 12v trigger to power on the xpa3, you just have to turn on the zone 2 with your remote, which powers on the amp..
    Living Room setup: Pioneer Elite VSX-21TXH, Krell KAV 300i, PS Audio DL III DAC, Tyler Acoustics Taylo 7u, Dynaudio Audience 120C+, SVS 25/31PCI, B-P-T Clean Power Center, Ps3, Panny 50" S1 Plasma, Tekline speaker cables, Audio Art interconnects, and Pangea power cables.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (9)

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    1,526

    Default

    does you receiver have a switched outlet on the back??
    Pio Elete Pro 520
    Panamax 5400-EX
    Sunfire TGP 5
    Micro Seiki DD-40 - Lyra-Dorian and Denon DL-160
    PS Audio GCPH phono pre
    Sunfire CG 200 X 5
    Sunfire CG Sig 405 X 5
    OPPO BDP-83 SE
    SDA SRS 1.2TL Sonicaps and Mills
    Ctr CS1000p
    Sur - FX1000 x 4
    SUB - SVS PB2-Plus

    Workkout room:
    Sony Bravia XBR- 32-Inch 1080p
    Onkyo TX-DS898
    GFA 555
    Yamaha DVD-S1800BL/SACD
    Ft - SDA 1C

    Not being used:
    RTi 38's -4
    RT55i's - 2
    RT25i's -2, using other 2 in shop
    LSI 15's
    CSi40
    PSW 404

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,516

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vmaxer View Post
    does you receiver have a switched outlet on the back??
    If it does, don't plug your amp into it.
    You can, however, use a wall-wart type 12V plug (found at RatShack) in the switched outlet of the Onk. But I don't understand why the trigger on the Onk would only be for Zone 2.....Have you tried it at all?

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Middle of the USA
    Posts
    875

    Default

    I owned a onkyo 805 and it is only for the zone 2. My guess is its just a bad design.
    Living Room setup: Pioneer Elite VSX-21TXH, Krell KAV 300i, PS Audio DL III DAC, Tyler Acoustics Taylo 7u, Dynaudio Audience 120C+, SVS 25/31PCI, B-P-T Clean Power Center, Ps3, Panny 50" S1 Plasma, Tekline speaker cables, Audio Art interconnects, and Pangea power cables.

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (9)

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    1,526

    Default

    That is why I asked, I did this on my XPA-3 and Onkyo setup. It works great...I used an old call phone charger rated at 12V DC and wired it into a mono audio plug from Radio Shack.....The trigger on my Onkyo is for zone 2 also..
    Pio Elete Pro 520
    Panamax 5400-EX
    Sunfire TGP 5
    Micro Seiki DD-40 - Lyra-Dorian and Denon DL-160
    PS Audio GCPH phono pre
    Sunfire CG 200 X 5
    Sunfire CG Sig 405 X 5
    OPPO BDP-83 SE
    SDA SRS 1.2TL Sonicaps and Mills
    Ctr CS1000p
    Sur - FX1000 x 4
    SUB - SVS PB2-Plus

    Workkout room:
    Sony Bravia XBR- 32-Inch 1080p
    Onkyo TX-DS898
    GFA 555
    Yamaha DVD-S1800BL/SACD
    Ft - SDA 1C

    Not being used:
    RTi 38's -4
    RT55i's - 2
    RT25i's -2, using other 2 in shop
    LSI 15's
    CSi40
    PSW 404

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Trigger Cable?
    By wingnut4772 in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-15-2008, 02:39 PM
  2. 12v Trigger
    By gwh in forum Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-18-2008, 07:13 PM
  3. 12v trigger cable
    By NeilGabriel in forum Electronics
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-11-2008, 06:39 PM
  4. 12 v trigger
    By NeilGabriel in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 05-15-2007, 10:36 PM
  5. wtb: trigger, 12v i think
    By maingey in forum Wanted (WTB) Classifieds
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-22-2005, 11:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts