Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread

Member Sales Rating: (2)

Default ADCOM GFA-555 mod

Ben or others,
    I've only been able to find limited details on the ADCOM mods that are possible. I am trying to understand the shunt capacitor (??) mod a little better to consider if I should give it a shot.

Skill Level: I have limited experience soldering on a board, but am otherwise perfectly mechanically capable. I used to have a very deep knowledge of electronics, but haven't used it since my senior year in college, so let's consider it almost gone from my brain. But...with some explicit explainations to start with, I'm sure I can ask enough questions to make sure I understand and don't screw things up.

So... What kind of mods can be easliy done to the GFA-555 and what are the benefits of the mod.

Also... Are the mods easily reversable if I don't like the results?

Thanks
    HT
    RTi70 mains
    CSi30 center
    RTi28 Rears
    Velodyne CHT-12
    H/K AVR-247
    ADCOM GFA-7000
    Samsung PN58B860
    Playstation 3

2-Channel
    Polk Audio LSi15's
    Rotel RCD-1072
    Nakamichi CA-5 Pre
    ADCOM GFA-555
    Signal Cable Analog II IC's
    Signal Ultra Bi-Wire Speaker Cables

Member Sales Rating: (43)

From what I have done the mods are simple on the shunt caps on the big caps. Use a 12uf or so cap on top of the main PS caps. An audio grade cap like the Dayton's is fine. Also you may want to add a 1uf cap in the mix. The big caps are designed to hold a lot of currant. If you add smaller caps the detail is slightly better. Also on the input boards are a few fusible resistors that are not the best for signal path. Shoot me a PM, and I can tell you what resistors to replace. I am going to do the mods myself finally on my own amps. GV27 has pointed me in the right direction concerning replacing signal path R's;)