Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: ADCOM question

Member Sales Rating: (0)

Default ADCOM question

I have been looking at ADCOM amps.

Are they any good? I have heard a lot about them on some threads.

Is it true they need their own 20amp circuit? The adcom site says its neccessary. Or could i just hook it up to a voltage stabilizer?

Will the sound quality coming from the amp be better than my ONK 906?
    I know that the preouts will be sending the single, but how is ADCOMS sound quality? What differences can i expect?

I have very little experience with home amps so any feed back would be great. Sorry about all the Qs at once.

Member Sales Rating: (3)

Well, I'm no expert, but I know the Adcom GFA-555II and 545II that I have simply rocks! Awesome power to be had from these amps. Sound quality... eh. I can't perceive SQ differences between amps if there is one.

Not sure about that 20amp circuit question though... I just plug my stuff into a power strip which plugs into my wall.
    SDA 1C, SDA 2A, SDA SRS 2, CMT-340SE, Swan M200MKII, Swan D1080MKII, Behringer MS40

Outlaw Audio M2200 x2, GFA 555 II, BGW 750C

GDA 700, Outlaw Audio Model 990, Sansa Fuze, X-Fi Platinum Fatality

Member Sales Rating: (8)

I've owned many ADCOM amps over the years and I quite like them. ADCOM makes good, solid mid-fi gear that has impressed many people (including Stereophile). Whether it will sound better than X brand is completely in the ear of the beholder. A lot depends on system synergy.

In my experience, you can't go wrong with a a good ADCOM amp. I've owned a GFA-535, GFA-545 and currently run a GFA-585 in my secondary system. I've loved every one of them.
    [ My Rigs ] Balanced Audio Technology | Revel | Dodd | Monarchy | PS Audio | MIT | Polk | Etc.

Member Sales Rating: (11)