Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Banned
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    974

    Default HDMI IN/HDMI OUT On Onkyo '605?

    Does anyone know if the current "600" line of Onkyos (mine's a '605) passes everything (video wise) that's sent into its HDMI IN through the HDMI OUT?

    My Panasonic Blu-ray player is passing audio and video via HDMI to the '605's HDMI IN, and then another HDMI cable is going HDMI OUT from the '605 to my Sony SXRD display's HDMI IN...in this setup, should the video coming from the player pass straight through the '605 to the TV? Does anything -- aside from HDMI MONITOR: YES -- need to be set in the '605 to "tell it" to pass video straight through? Or does HDMI just automatically pass video through?

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    739

    Default

    605 passes through the HDMI as is. You still have to assign various inputs to devices like DVD , Cable/Sat etc.

    If you have connected the Blue-Ray to HDMI 1 in, and want to set it up as DVD player then you should have the following settings:

    Input/Output Assignment:
    HDMI Monitor = Yes

    HDMI Input Assignment
    DVD = IN 1

    Digital Input Assignment
    DVD = HDMI 1


    Video In = HDMI 1

    605 upconverts all analog signal to 540p by default. There is an un-document service menu setting that will allow it to upconvert to 720p. If you are using any analog sources then you should change this also.
    -izafar

    HT/Gaming
    ------------

    LSIM 703 Mains
    CSi30 Center
    Fxi 3 Surrounds
    PSW 505 Sub
    ONKYO TX-SR828
    Sony PlayStation 3 BR Player/Gaming
    Nintendo Wii Gaming
    Panasonic Plasma


    Headphone Gear
    -------------------

    Ultrasone Pro 900 Headphones
    Little Dot 1+ Headamp
    Musical Fidelity Vdac 2 with PS3 Power Supply
    Squeezebox Touch

  3. #3
    Banned
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    974

    Default

    Thanks For Your Help, Iz:

    Quote Originally Posted by izafar View Post
    605 passes through the HDMI as is. You still have to assign various inputs to devices like DVD , Cable/Sat etc.
    Yes, I have all the assignments correct -- I just wanted to know if anything needed to be SET in the '605 to tell it to feed the video straight through its HDMI out...

    If you have connected the Blue-Ray to HDMI 1 in, and want to set it up as DVD player then you should have the following settings:

    Input/Output Assignment:
    HDMI Monitor = Yes

    HDMI Input Assignment
    DVD = IN 1

    Digital Input Assignment
    DVD = HDMI 1
    Yes, these are all correct and the same as you specify here, as I have the BD player set up as the "DVD" input for the receiver, under HDMI 1...

    Video In = HDMI 1
    Where is this setting? I don't think I recall a "Video In" menu...

    605 upconverts all analog signal to 540p by default.
    To 540p? That's an odd resolution; are you sure?

    There is an un-document service menu setting that will allow it to upconvert to 720p. If you are using any analog sources then you should change this also.
    I'm ONLY running HDMI...is there ANYTHING -- besides the HDMI MONITOR: YES and the IMMEDIATE DISPLAY: OFF -- that needs to be set to tell this receiver to pass that video from my BD player straight through?

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    739

    Default

    If you are getting the picture from your Blue Ray then you are all set and don't need to change anything further. 605 doesn't have the ability to alter the HDMI signal, that's why you don't get on screen display with HDMI sources.
    -izafar

    HT/Gaming
    ------------

    LSIM 703 Mains
    CSi30 Center
    Fxi 3 Surrounds
    PSW 505 Sub
    ONKYO TX-SR828
    Sony PlayStation 3 BR Player/Gaming
    Nintendo Wii Gaming
    Panasonic Plasma


    Headphone Gear
    -------------------

    Ultrasone Pro 900 Headphones
    Little Dot 1+ Headamp
    Musical Fidelity Vdac 2 with PS3 Power Supply
    Squeezebox Touch

  5. #5
    Banned
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    974

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by izafar View Post
    If you are getting the picture from your Blue Ray then you are all set and don't need to change anything further. 605 doesn't have the ability to alter the HDMI signal, that's why you don't get on screen display with HDMI sources.
    I do get an onscreen display with HDMI sources in the SETUP menu...

    But I'm wondering if anything needs to be "told" to the 605 in order that it knows just to pass video straight through...you're saying with HDMI, I don't need to?

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (5)

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pensacola, Florida
    Posts
    754

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike LoManaco View Post
    I do get an onscreen display with HDMI sources in the SETUP menu...

    But I'm wondering if anything needs to be "told" to the 605 in order that it knows just to pass video straight through...you're saying with HDMI, I don't need to?
    No, nothing needs to be told - the 605 passes the input HDMI signal to the output HDMI untouched. The onscreen setup menu originates from the 605.
    Sony 60'' SXRD 1080p
    Amp = Carver AV-705THX 5-Channel
    Processor = NAD T747
    Panasonic BD35 Blu-Ray
    Main = SDA-1C Studio with RD0s, spikes, XO rebuild, rings, I/C upgrade
    Center=Polk CS10, Surround = Athena Dipoles, Sub= Boston 12HO
    Music/Video Streaming = Netgear NEO550
    TT = Audio Technica

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (3)

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,148

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by izafar View Post
    605 upconverts all analog signal to 540p by default. There is an un-document service menu setting that will allow it to upconvert to 720p. If you are using any analog sources then you should change this also.
    I was under the impression that the 605 only upconverted analog sources (component, composite, s-video) into digital (HDMI) forms, but kept the incoming resolution.

    The xx6 series however, I believe, have the ability to upconvert and UPSCALE, which is what I believe you are talking about.

    Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong. (If I am then it's good news, because I have the 705.)

    For example: I have an older DVD player that can only output 480p over component. When this is upconverted by my 705, the monitor (Samsung LN-T5265F) shows the inputted resolution as 480p @ 60hz.

    EDIT: sorry for the thread hi-jack OP, but hopefully this will help both us
    Last edited by JohnLocke88; 06-09-2009 at 08:26 PM.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    974

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marty913 View Post
    No, nothing needs to be told - the 605 passes the input HDMI signal to the output HDMI untouched. The onscreen setup menu originates from the 605.
    Thanks Marty!

    But what do you mean, exactly, by "The onscreen setup menu originates from the 605"? As far as I know, there are only two "things" that need to be set up for HDMI passthrough, the HDMI MONITOR: YES setting and the IMMEDIATE DISPLAY: OFF setting...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-01-2009, 12:57 PM
  2. Need Help problem with HDMI passing through Onkyo 806
    By manman in forum Electronics
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 03-04-2009, 07:22 PM
  3. Onkyo 605 HDMI receiver...300 SHIPPED or better for local buyer
    By shadowofnight in forum For Sale (FS) Classifieds
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-03-2008, 09:58 PM
  4. Onkyo 805 HDMI problem
    By edossin4 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-07-2008, 10:17 AM
  5. New HDMI formats/need for HDMI switching
    By univera in forum Electronics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-23-2006, 09:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts