Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default Active vs passive SDA's

    Active kills passive in all ways period.
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (3)

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    603

    Default

    You're talking crossover, right?
    SDA 1C, SDA 2A, SDA SRS 2, CMT-340SE, Swan M200MKII, Swan D1080MKII, Behringer MS40

    Outlaw Audio M2200 x2, GFA 555 II, BGW 750C

    GDA 700, Outlaw Audio Model 990, Sansa Fuze, X-Fi Platinum Fatality

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    Yes.
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (31)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    14,735

    Default

    You mean you don't like power robbing and coloring passive components? Say it ain't so? :)
    "He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster. And when you gaze long into an abyss the abyss also gazes into you." Friedrich Nietzsche

  5. #5
    GV#27
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ben62670 View Post
    Active kills passive in all ways period.
    I'm calling BS on that one.;):D
    Last edited by GV#27; 06-26-2009 at 07:21 AM.

  6. #6
    Audiophile
    Member Sales Rating: (30)

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    11,108

    Default

    But that requires more amps... :(

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (45)

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NC Foothills
    Posts
    4,567

    Default

    Sure they do sound better, but in reality hardly anybody will do that. Glad to hear yours sound great.

    What kind of active Xover do you use...a DIY?

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    Guys it is about the SQ. I have tried many caps. Inductors suck. Read about them. Big deal the extra amp for the highs cost less than the upgrade parts some of you pay for. You don't need 200wpc on the highs!
    Also If I had the coin I could run tubes on the highs.
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Conradicles View Post
    Sure they do sound better, but in reality hardly anybody will do that. Glad to hear yours sound great.

    What kind of active Xover do you use...a DIY?
    Come down.
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,180

    Default

    Not only do the coils and caps color the sound, they also create unneccessary loads on the amplifier.

    Actively crossed over electrostatics? *drool* Now that would be a treat.

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (31)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    14,735

    Default

    When I can afford 4 or 6 channels of quality tube amplification, I'm in.
    "He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster. And when you gaze long into an abyss the abyss also gazes into you." Friedrich Nietzsche

  12. #12
    Audiophile
    Member Sales Rating: (30)

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    11,108

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Face View Post
    When I can afford 4 or 6 channels of quality tube amplification, I'm in.
    You should just build one!

  13. #13
    Audiophile
    Member Sales Rating: (30)

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    11,108

    Default

    With availability and size of chip amps, wouldn't it be easy to just install a few in a speaker and make them a true powered design? Then all you would have to do is run ICs from your electronic XO to the speakers.

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (31)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    14,735

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zingo View Post
    You should just build one!
    If I found a kit that I knew would sound as good as what I'm currently using, I would consider it. Otherwise, too much time and $$$ to take a chance.
    "He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster. And when you gaze long into an abyss the abyss also gazes into you." Friedrich Nietzsche

  15. #15
    GV#27
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zingo View Post
    With availability and size of chip amps, wouldn't it be easy to just install a few in a speaker and make them a true powered design? Then all you would have to do is run ICs from your electronic XO to the speakers.
    PE sells a 2way active xover/ amp combo that can be mounted into the back of an enclosure.( like a plate amp on a sub).It uses a pair LM3886's for amplification.Mated with a decent woofer and tweet could make for a nice little monitor or PC speaker.

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    I will never go back!
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  17. #17
    GV#27
    Guest

    Default

    Are you still using the XM1 modules?

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (3)

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    603

    Default

    Couple questions:

    1) Is an active crossover external?
    2) If speakers already have their own internal passive crossover, there's no way to bypass them, right? So that means you can only use active crossover on speakers without a crossover network?
    SDA 1C, SDA 2A, SDA SRS 2, CMT-340SE, Swan M200MKII, Swan D1080MKII, Behringer MS40

    Outlaw Audio M2200 x2, GFA 555 II, BGW 750C

    GDA 700, Outlaw Audio Model 990, Sansa Fuze, X-Fi Platinum Fatality

  19. #19
    GV#27
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ender View Post
    Couple questions:

    1) Is an active crossover external?
    Yes it's electronically similar to a preamp but with specalized filters for the crossover functions.

    2) If speakers already have their own internal passive crossover, there's no way to bypass them, right? So that means you can only use active crossover on speakers without a crossover network?
    There are a few DIY designs that combine active and passive xovers but the big benifits of actives are achieved when passive components are removed allowing for a direct connection between the amplifier and drivers.The down side is complexity as an amplifier channel is required for each individual driver.

  20. #20
    Audiophile
    Member Sales Rating: (30)

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    11,108

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ender View Post
    2) If speakers already have their own internal passive crossover, there's no way to bypass them, right? So that means you can only use active crossover on speakers without a crossover network?
    It would be pretty easy to bypass or remove an internal XO if you wanted to use an external electric. The only down side is you would have to add binding posts for each driver or set of drivers; although this would be ideal if you have a speaker that is a two way design and bi-amp binding posts.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. mmc6500 active or passive?
    By black magic in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-27-2007, 09:24 PM
  2. Turning an Active Sub into a Passive One
    By Early B. in forum DIY, Mods & Tweaks
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-27-2006, 07:27 PM
  3. Nice passive/active preamp...
    By steveinaz in forum Flea Market
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-17-2004, 05:24 PM
  4. RTi70 active or passive 2'nd driver
    By gmorris in forum Speakers
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-04-2004, 04:54 PM
  5. Crossover's active or passive
    By Dwain in forum Speakers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-24-2003, 04:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts