Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    'Bubba' land
    Posts
    4,798

    Default How is a UPS supposed to be set up?

    A little over a year ago, I built an HTPC, from an independent shop. Along with some of the parts, I bought an APC UPS unit(refurb.)
    It was my understanding, that I should leave the UPS powered on all the time, and that it worked off a trickle charge.
    Well, during the last 2 thunderstorms, it's not worked to keep the pc running?
    It wasn't down for any significant time, just reset, like I would manually.

    Is this thing NG, or am I doing something wrong?
    Thanks
    I refuse to argue with idiots, because people can't tell the DIFFERENCE!

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (47)

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sufficiently Breathless
    Posts
    11,098

    Default

    I'm confused,, I have UPS's on my systems,,on some models there are 2 power "strips"..one for surge protection,and the other for surge/battery backup. Is that what you mean?
    JC approves....he told me so. (F-1 nut)

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    3,905

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by obieone View Post
    A little over a year ago, I built an HTPC, from an independent shop. Along with some of the parts, I bought an APC UPS unit(refurb.)
    It was my understanding, that I should leave the UPS powered on all the time, and that it worked off a trickle charge.
    Well, during the last 2 thunderstorms, it's not worked to keep the pc running?
    It wasn't down for any significant time, just reset, like I would manually.

    Is this thing NG, or am I doing something wrong?
    Thanks
    UPS batteries do have a 'fixed' life and need to be replaced.

    In our companies datacenter, we get notices to replace RAID batteries(as built in power backup) quite often cuz some of the units are old.

    You may want to check on APCs website what the battery life spec is for the UPS you bought.

    Just a thought....

    H9: If you don't trust what you are hearing, then maybe you need to be less invested in a hobby which all the pleasure comes from listening to music.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Rockledge, Florida
    Posts
    11,588

    Default

    A good test is to pull the cord to feeds the UPS. On the other hand most UPS I ever seen have a battery indicator to show if it believes it's own batteries are ok. Not that a good indication would tell me the batteries are 100% if the UPS dies in under 5 mins up time running on batteries, but stating that the batteries are died then yes they are died. ;)

    Speakers
    Carver Amazing Fronts
    CS400i Center
    RT800i's Rears
    Sub Paradigm Servo 15

    Electronics
    Conrad Johnson PV-5 pre-amp
    Parasound Halo A23
    Pioneer 84TXSi AVR
    Pioneer 79Avi DVD
    Sony CX400 CD changer
    Panasonic 42-PX60U Plasma
    WMC Win7 32bit HD DVR



  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southeast Va in the 757
    Posts
    3,574

    Default

    I have an UPS set up on my home DVR and H/T PC, Basically what my UPS does is let my system shutdown in a normal fashion through software via the RS232 port. Each one of my UPS has a 12vdc 7A/H battery which will hold enough charge to let the PC(s) shut down normally...thats it. I have seen UPS that can run a PC for several hours, I just want my stuff to shut down normally in the event of a power outage. Hope this helps.
    Polk Audio Surround Bar 360
    Mirage PS-12
    LG BDP-550
    Motorola HD FIOS DVR
    Panasonic 42" Plasma
    XBOX 360[/SIZE]

    Office stuff

    Allied 395 receiver
    Pioneer CDP PD-M430
    RT8t's & Wharfedale Diamond II's[/SIZE]

    Life is one grand, sweet song, so start the music. ~Ronald Reagan

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    'Bubba' land
    Posts
    4,798

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by george daniel View Post
    I'm confused,, I have UPS's on my systems,,on some models there are 2 power "strips"..one for surge protection,and the other for surge/battery backup. Is that what you mean?
    DOH!:o Thanks everyone. I'm all set.

    (probably would have helped if I LOOKED at the damn thing, huh?):D

    The battery/ surge protection outlets were hidden underneath an overhang on my desk, with a BIG yellow sticker, that said "HEY DUMBASS, over here!":p
    I refuse to argue with idiots, because people can't tell the DIFFERENCE!

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southeast Va in the 757
    Posts
    3,574

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by obieone View Post
    DOH!:o Thanks everyone. I'm all set.

    (probably would have helped if I LOOKED at the damn thing, huh?):D

    The battery/ surge protection outlets were hidden underneath an overhang on my desk, with a BIG yellow sticker, that said "HEY DUMBASS, over here!":p
    Just curious..what Ups are you using?
    Polk Audio Surround Bar 360
    Mirage PS-12
    LG BDP-550
    Motorola HD FIOS DVR
    Panasonic 42" Plasma
    XBOX 360[/SIZE]

    Office stuff

    Allied 395 receiver
    Pioneer CDP PD-M430
    RT8t's & Wharfedale Diamond II's[/SIZE]

    Life is one grand, sweet song, so start the music. ~Ronald Reagan

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Mobile, AL
    Posts
    3,267

    Default

    You didn't see the sticker? Incidentally, most UPS systems come with the battery unplugged and you're supposed to connect it and plug it to the wall for a few hours BEFORE hooking stuff up to it so it can charge with no load. Make sure you did that too! :D

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (28)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Right here.
    Posts
    10,412

    Default

    I've always preferred Fedex.
    _________________________________________________
    ***\\\\\........................... My Audio Journey ............................./////***

    2008 & 2010 Football Pool WINNER
    SOPA

    Thank God for different opinions. Imagine the world if we all wanted the same woman

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (47)

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sufficiently Breathless
    Posts
    11,098

    Default

    smarta$$ ;)
    JC approves....he told me so. (F-1 nut)

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (47)

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sufficiently Breathless
    Posts
    11,098

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by obieone View Post
    DOH!:o Thanks everyone. I'm all set.

    (probably would have helped if I LOOKED at the damn thing, huh?):D

    The battery/ surge protection outlets were hidden underneath an overhang on my desk, with a BIG yellow sticker, that said "HEY DUMBASS, over here!":p
    Good,, we have all "been there,done that",, most just won't admit it,,I once thought that I could replace the battery with the thing plugged in.
    JC approves....he told me so. (F-1 nut)

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southeast Va in the 757
    Posts
    3,574

    Default

    Actually some models do have "hot swappable" batteries.
    Polk Audio Surround Bar 360
    Mirage PS-12
    LG BDP-550
    Motorola HD FIOS DVR
    Panasonic 42" Plasma
    XBOX 360[/SIZE]

    Office stuff

    Allied 395 receiver
    Pioneer CDP PD-M430
    RT8t's & Wharfedale Diamond II's[/SIZE]

    Life is one grand, sweet song, so start the music. ~Ronald Reagan

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (47)

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sufficiently Breathless
    Posts
    11,098

    Default

    Well,, my "hot" swapping days are over,, I drove past that exit some time ago.;)
    JC approves....he told me so. (F-1 nut)

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A.
    Posts
    3,190

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by george daniel View Post
    smarta$$ ;)
    Nah! But I guess that extra birthday year added more miles that you'd think in Ricardo's case!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Ummm, is it supposed to doing that?
    By zombiemusic in forum 2 Channel Audio
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-14-2009, 04:55 PM
  2. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 04-12-2008, 09:41 AM
  3. What the hell is this supposed to be?
    By hearingimpared in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 07-01-2007, 10:21 AM
  4. Tuning your Sub Amp - Tell me how it's Supposed to be Done...
    By Danny818 in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-25-2003, 03:16 AM
  5. What a Computer is supposed to do...
    By Tour2ma in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-19-2003, 06:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts