Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Tonearm rewire

  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (3)

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    British Columbia (Canada eh)
    Posts
    3,479

    Default Tonearm rewire

    I want to rewire the tonearm on my Pro-ject 6.9 turntable. The stock wires are barely larger than a human hair and everytime I put a cartridge on or off I break a lead off the wire. They seem impossibly thin to properly conduct the signal. I'm just wondering what some of you have done in this area. I don't want to break the bank but I want wire that is thicker and less prone to breakage. I see silver wire is sometimes used for this. Opinions?
    Thanks.

    Kelvin
    SDA-1C (full mods)
    Carver TFM-45
    NAD 1130 pre
    Rega Planar 3 TT/Shelter 501 MkII
    Nitty Gritty 1.5FI RCM
    The Clamp
    Thorens TD160/Mission 774 arm/Stanton 881S Shibata
    Nakamichi CR7 Cassette Deck
    Rotel RCD-855 with tube output stage
    Cambridge Audio DACmagic Plus
    DBX 3BX-DS
    DBX 224-DS
    ADC Soundshaper 3 EQ
    Ben's IC's

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    828

    Default

    sorry i can't help you personally brother but Robert here @ http://www.all-electronics.com/ seem's to really know his stuff (about Dual brand anyway's) and if he can't help he may know someone that can :) I'm shure TT service is pretty standard across the board so you might be good to go....

    i'll be bringing him the 510 and a new 505-3 when i get it :D
    Media Room 7.1
    Sharp lc37d64u | Sanus vmsab-03 | Sonax ZX8680 | Yamaha htr-6290b | Emotiva xpa1 x 2 & xpa5 | RTiA 9 & 7 | CSiA 6 | FXiA 6 | Sanus NF30B-03 | Velodyne dls-3750r | Dual 505-3 m97xe | Monster avs2000/hts5100

    HTPC
    Intel e5300 | Asus p5q DLX | LG ch08 BD | OCZ 4g reaper2 | WD 1TB | Sapphire 4890 VaporX 1g | Asus Xonar HDAV 1.3 | OCZ modXtreme 700w | Antec Fusion remote MAX

    A fool and his money are easily parted
    I don't drink Koolaid

    Need some cable's? Just ask :)


  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    seattle,wa
    Posts
    920

    Default TT rewire

    Hi Kelvin,
    I rewired my denon with Cardas tonearm wire. I preferred it over the solid silver I tried. The Cardas is more balanced with better bass. Its easy to work with but IIRC the insulation was a pain to remove. Scrape and use a hot iron to tin the ends and it works well. Parts Connexion has it. I also have a Hagerman burn-in device called a FryKleaner that will burn-in the wires faster(3 days). Phono wires will take hundreds of hours to settle if you use the cartridge for the signal because of the very low VA. Some use a tuner or cdp for VA to burn-in the phono wire.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Newark, Delaware
    Posts
    21,321

    Default

    I used Cardas tonearm wire on mine from BritAudio here.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Wanted Used Quality Tonearm
    By Qboneus in forum Wanted (WTB) Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-21-2009, 02:24 PM
  2. Rewire on my system
    By Polk addict in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-22-2008, 05:08 PM
  3. any one have a rega tonearm box
    By TroyD in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-19-2008, 03:02 PM
  4. anyone have an extra tt tonearm ?
    By OldSycamoreTree in forum Wanted (WTB) Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-28-2007, 08:47 PM
  5. approx. cost to rewire a car's speaker system?
    By rubbersoul in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-18-2003, 09:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts