Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    NE Ohio transplant from North Jersey
    Posts
    39

    Default How to hook up line preamp to amp and sub with one set of outputs?

    Hello.

    I want to try hooking up my Little Dot MKIII tubed head amp/line preamp to my main 2-channel system (listed in 'System Showcase'), and would like to be able to hook up my Velodyne powered sub as well as my McIntosh MC162 amplifier. The Little Dot only has one set of RCA outputs. Is it possible to use 2 'single male to double female' RCA plugs and hook up both my amp and powered subwoofer (which also has L and R RCA connections) to each channel?

    In other words, the L channel preamp output to both the L subwoofer and L amp

    and

    the R channel preamp output to both the R subwoofer and R amp

    Is this doable, or can I ruin my equipment with impedance mismatches, etc.?

    Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by Malaka; 11-06-2009 at 03:34 PM.

  2. #2
    GV#27
    Guest

    Default

    Yes it's doable and somthing like these will work. http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=091-510

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    NE Ohio transplant from North Jersey
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Thanks for the response and link.

    I was under the impression that this may not be doable because I thought a single preamp output can only drive a single amp or sub input? Is there any truth to this? Isn't there an impedance mismatch which can damage the preamp, amp, or sub?

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (40)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    18,401

    Default

    It's fine.
    Check your lips at the door woman. Shake your hips like battleships. Yeah, all the white girls trip when I sing at Sunday service.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    NE Ohio transplant from North Jersey
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Anyone else have 2 or more components (amps, powered subs, etc.) hooked up to only one set of preamp RCA outs (using the type of adaptor shown above)? Technically speaking, there should be an impedance drop across the preamp's RCA jack which could affect the audio quality, no?

    Can any audio experts/engineers please comment on this? Thanks.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (26)

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Salinas, CA
    Posts
    5,018

    Default

    Definitely not an expert in the area nor an engineer, but if it's worth anything I've done it with no problems at all.

    Done it between 2 sets of subwoofers, and a subwoofer and preamplifier with one set of outputs.
    Truck setup
    Alpine 9856
    Phoenix Gold RSD65CS

    For Sale
    Polk SR6500
    Polk SR5250
    Polk SR104



    Quote Originally Posted by heiney9 View Post
    Any clue how to use the internet? Found it in about 10 sec.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    california
    Posts
    605

    Default

    I thought that also but I dont think signal has a missmatch problem like speakers can get .
    I use a energy EAC electronic xover coming off my main R/L output off my AVR .
    I think you may get a slight voltage drop (volume) output with many amps but I dont think it can damage anything and I would be surprised if any externall xover has something to increase the gain used from the AVR's output .
    If you need to balance multiple amps make sure there is a gain contolll inline somewhere .
    My energy low out drives my subs and the high out is for the satalittes .

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (3)

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    746

    Default

    If your sub has L&R outs the I would run like this: Preamp out>Sub amp In>Sub amp out>Amp in. This setup allows your sub to filter the crossover freq to the amp i.e.: if Xover on sub is set to 60 Hz then 60Hz and above are only sent to the amp which will allow the maions too not work so hard reporducing the lower freq.
    Strictly 2 channel
    Rotel RC-1550 pre
    Rotel RB-1582 amp
    Catcables Kingcats ICs
    APC S-20 line conditioner
    B&W N804 mains
    B&W ASW800 sub
    Rotel RCC-1055 changer
    Denon DVD 1000

    Listening Room:
    McIntosh C2300 preamp
    McIntosh MC452 amp
    McIntosh MCD-500 SACD player
    AQ Colorado XLR ICs
    AQ Columbia ICs
    APC H-15 line conditioner
    Sonus faber Auditor M speakers w/stands
    REL B1 subwoofer
    Rega P9 w/Lyra Delos
    Pioneer RT-707 R2R
    Zu power cables & XLRs

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Rocky Top TN
    Posts
    402

    Default

    The rule of thumb for loading is 10:1. IE...1K output impedance can safely drive a 10K load or higher. Loading to hard will tend to start distortion to rise.

    If you have two 50K input impedance ratings then, for example and a 1K output impedance rating, then the Y is ok. The only problem is usually finding out an honest output impedance rating.

    CoolJazz

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Subwoofer line level hook-up;
    By lebois in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-13-2012, 02:33 PM
  2. Adding Preamp Outputs to an Integrated Amp with No Outputs??
    By Lovegasoline in forum DIY, Mods & Tweaks
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-19-2008, 02:46 PM
  3. I need an AVR with preamp outputs for <$300
    By McCelery in forum Electronics
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07-12-2007, 07:40 PM
  4. Line-Level Outputs
    By gguess321 in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-24-2003, 09:43 AM
  5. RT1000is line level hook up (Mantis)
    By BBUBBA in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-29-2002, 09:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts