Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: adcom question

  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    North Charleston SC
    Posts
    66

    Default adcom question

    OK here is what I have. I have a adcom 5503 which has developed some static on the right side. I noticed it the other day when I muted a tv commercial. I swapped speakers and the static was still there(only on the right side). I changed my speaker wire and thought it was gone but yesterday I noticed it again. Today I swapped my IC's and still there. So disconnected the amp and hooked everything to the avr(denon 988) and it's gone making think it's the amp. It's not bad static as you can only hear if everything is muted but it is there. I've opened it up and can see that this is beyond my capabilites to even attempt a repair. So does anyone know who could repair and possibly upgrade this amp without it costing a fortune? Is this worthwhile to do? The amp works great and I'm happy with it but has this static that bothers me. Is there anything else I can try? Thanks

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Rockledge, Florida
    Posts
    11,588

    Default

    Does the amp make noise when nothing is connected on the input side of amp?

    Speakers
    Carver Amazing Fronts
    CS400i Center
    RT800i's Rears
    Sub Paradigm Servo 15

    Electronics
    Conrad Johnson PV-5 pre-amp
    Parasound Halo A23
    Pioneer 84TXSi AVR
    Pioneer 79Avi DVD
    Sony CX400 CD changer
    Panasonic 42-PX60U Plasma
    WMC Win7 32bit HD DVR



  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (3)

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    319

    Default

    odd, what is the condition of the RCA input jacks? did you open the panel and using bottled air to clean out the cobwebs?
    Last edited by vonnie123; 11-09-2009 at 12:09 AM.
    [

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    North Charleston SC
    Posts
    66

    Default

    I didn't try it without any input but I will. I've blown everything out and the rca jacks(input and output)look good. I'll have to try it without any input. Thanks

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. ADCOM question
    By Rocco1 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-22-2009, 09:20 AM
  2. question regarding adcom amp
    By mlastarza in forum Electronics
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-27-2007, 08:05 AM
  3. Adcom 565 pre question
    By NeilGabriel in forum Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-23-2007, 01:42 PM
  4. Adcom question
    By SwedePolk in forum 2 Channel Audio
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-13-2006, 09:53 AM
  5. Another Adcom question
    By cindy100 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-01-2006, 04:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts