Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    553

    Default Pioneer Elite Zone 2 amplification

    I was hoping an owner of one of the Elite receivers can answer a question for me on Zone 2 amplification. Looking at the owner's manual and talking to the people at BB Magnolia are no help.

    If I were to assign the back surround channel to power Zone 2, can I use a pre-out to an amp to still get all 7 channels? As an alternative, since I use a 5 channel amp already for the font 5 speakers, can I assign the surround channel amp to power the back surround speakers?

    Since I rarely use Zone 2, I would rather not "waste" 2 channels off the amp, and I don't like to move my gear, so I want to avoid changing out the connections when I do want to use Zone 2

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    13,436

    Default

    This is how you do it.

    Buy a external amp, run analog rca out of the zone 2 outputs. Keep your 7 channels internally for the theater.

    You have the ability to use fixed or variable out so this is where you control volume in zone 2.
    If you need a step by step I can do that for yeah.
    Dan
    My personal quest is to save to world of bad audio, one thread at a time.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    553

    Default

    I am already running a 5 channel sunfire for the front 5 with only the 2 back surrounds and the zone 2 being powered by my avr. While I have a couple extra amps that I could use to power zone 2, I have no space in the AV cabinet since I caved and agreed to let a cable box in my house (still a sore spot with me since I refused to have a cable box ever since I got rid of that blasted 36 channel push button thing from the mid '80s).

    But back to my real point, I don't think I want to move the 5 main speakers back to avr power especially if I decide to switch them out of LSi in a few years, moving the current speakers to another room. I don't own an elite, I am just weighing my options.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Pioneer Elite EX-500
    By concealer404 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-16-2010, 12:47 PM
  2. Pioneer Elite SC-25/27
    By comfortablycurt in forum Electronics
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 11-26-2009, 11:56 PM
  3. Need Help Pioneer Elite SC-05 Zone 2 Setup
    By barbadosmd in forum Electronics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-21-2009, 11:50 AM
  4. Need Help Setting up zone 2 & 3 on Pioneer Elite SC-05
    By ckphoto in forum Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-18-2009, 05:12 PM
  5. Pioneer Elite VSX-41
    By VR3 in forum Flea Market
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 01-19-2004, 03:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts