Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 24 of 24
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,395

    Default Streaming HD from computer

    The Thread that Madmax started about how much he was spending/then going to save got me thinking. I'd like to ditch cable/tv as we only watch a couple shows, no news no sports. Most of the shows we watch are available on line through the TV channels. My question is, how can I stream HD from my pc to my tv by using my ps3? is this at all possible? right now I use the google ps3 media server I can stream non HD. Could I just watch the HD content by using the browser in my ps3?

    Does this make any sense?
    HT- HK 335, Rotel 1075, Miova PC, AQ Indigo Speaker Cable, XLO Jumpers, AQ Diamondback ICs, AQ HDMI x2, AQ Component, Signal Cable Analog II ICs, Signal Cable Digcoax, Signal Cable Toslink, Rti8, Csi5, Rti6, Energy s10.2, Panny 42" Plasma, PS3, Harmony 1100 and Harmony PS3 Adapter, LG dvdp(for the kids), Monster 3600MKII all on a dedicated circuit.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (5)

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Jackson, Ms.
    Posts
    2,340

    Default

    Not familiar with how to do it with a PS3 but I can say that HD streamed over the net is gawd awful PQ wise.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,395

    Default

    hmmm not good then
    HT- HK 335, Rotel 1075, Miova PC, AQ Indigo Speaker Cable, XLO Jumpers, AQ Diamondback ICs, AQ HDMI x2, AQ Component, Signal Cable Analog II ICs, Signal Cable Digcoax, Signal Cable Toslink, Rti8, Csi5, Rti6, Energy s10.2, Panny 42" Plasma, PS3, Harmony 1100 and Harmony PS3 Adapter, LG dvdp(for the kids), Monster 3600MKII all on a dedicated circuit.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    399

    Default

    I want to do the same thing willow, However I do not care about PQ. If it looks like crap that is fine, however I want it to sound good!

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,236

    Default

    Netflix and Roku player
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,395

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by heiney9 View Post
    Netflix and Roku player
    Do I need an HD video card? and what do you mean with the above? sign up for netflix and stream TV shows? but I need the Roku player? right?
    HT- HK 335, Rotel 1075, Miova PC, AQ Indigo Speaker Cable, XLO Jumpers, AQ Diamondback ICs, AQ HDMI x2, AQ Component, Signal Cable Analog II ICs, Signal Cable Digcoax, Signal Cable Toslink, Rti8, Csi5, Rti6, Energy s10.2, Panny 42" Plasma, PS3, Harmony 1100 and Harmony PS3 Adapter, LG dvdp(for the kids), Monster 3600MKII all on a dedicated circuit.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,236

    Default

    Yeah, are you looking to stream current run shows rather than subscribing to cable? Right now Hulu allows that but I can tell you with all the popularity of streaming shows it will no longer be free next year. Also a site like Hulu doesn't stream in high enough quality to use a regular TV. It's more like a You Tube video box.

    No HD card needed for Roku just a wireless network. If your connection is fast enough you can stream in HD.

    http://www.roku.com/roku-products

    The cost is one time for the player and $8.99/M to Netflix.

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,236

    Default

    I know of no way to stream current TV shows in HD for free. If you could do that why would anyone pay for cable? I'm not aware of a way to stream even regular resolution current TV full screen for free.

    All the palces that stream current TV shows are for the computer and the video boxes are set up like You tube..........small and poorer quality.
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,516

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Willow View Post
    Do I need an HD video card? and what do you mean with the above? sign up for netflix and stream TV shows? but I need the Roku player? right?
    If you sign up with Netflix, you can request the disk that allows you to stream through your PS3, no other box required. It took about 2 days to get my disk after I requested it. HD streams are not quite Bluray quality, but look pretty darn good.

    edit: here's a link.
    http://www.netflix.com/ps3
    Last edited by LessisNevermore; 12-07-2009 at 02:06 PM.

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,395

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by heiney9 View Post
    Yeah, are you looking to stream current run shows rather than subscribing to cable? Right now Hulu allows that but I can tell you with all the popularity of streaming shows it will no longer be free next year. Also a site like Hulu doesn't stream in high enough quality to use a regular TV. It's more like a You Tube video box.

    No HD card needed for Roku just a wireless network. If your connection is fast enough you can stream in HD.

    http://www.roku.com/roku-products

    The cost is one time for the player and $8.99/M to Netflix.

    H9
    My PS3 is hardwired to the router and we are curently running 10MBS and thinking of going to 25mbs connection. 8.99 is that unlimited?


    Quote Originally Posted by heiney9 View Post
    I know of no way to stream current TV shows in HD for free. If you could do that why would anyone pay for cable? I'm not aware of a way to stream even regular resolution current TV full screen for free.

    All the palces that stream current TV shows are for the computer and the video boxes are set up like You tube..........small and poorer quality.
    I guess legally you can't. I know some shows are in hd but in torrents.

    Quote Originally Posted by LessisNevermore View Post
    If you sign up with Netflix, you can request the disk that allows you to stream through your PS3, no other box required. It took about 2 days to get my disk after I requested it. HD streams are not quite Bluray quality, but look pretty darn good.
    Thank you I will look into this, thanks!
    HT- HK 335, Rotel 1075, Miova PC, AQ Indigo Speaker Cable, XLO Jumpers, AQ Diamondback ICs, AQ HDMI x2, AQ Component, Signal Cable Analog II ICs, Signal Cable Digcoax, Signal Cable Toslink, Rti8, Csi5, Rti6, Energy s10.2, Panny 42" Plasma, PS3, Harmony 1100 and Harmony PS3 Adapter, LG dvdp(for the kids), Monster 3600MKII all on a dedicated circuit.

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,236

    Default

    ^^ Yes, if you have a PS3 you're half way there as far as using Netflix selections. I missed that part of your original post.

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,236

    Default

    $8.99 is unlimited, plus you still get your (1) DVD selection, obviously if you're on a higher plan then you'd get that many DVD's out at one time, etc.
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (28)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Powder Springs, GA
    Posts
    5,293

    Default

    Are the shows you watch broadcast over the air? If so, you might think about putting up an antenna. There are some inexpensive HD tuners than can be fitted to a computer and come with DVR software that will allow you to record/playback. If you did that, you would have pristine HD quality playback.

    I am doing something similar, but I went and spent a few bucks for a Series3 TivoHD. Only $10/month and I can record two channels and stream Netflix. I got rid of DirecTV to do this and so far, I don't miss the satellite service (and it saves me about $70/month.)

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (22)

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Directly over the center of the earth in Olathe Kansas
    Posts
    5,825

    Default

    +1 if you can get the channels
    Speakers: SDA-1C (most all the goodies)
    Preamp: Joule Electra LA-150 MKII SE
    Amp: Wright WPA 50-50 EAT KT88s
    Analog: Marantz TT-15S1 MBS Glider SL| Wright WPP100C Amperex BB 6er5 and 7316 & WPM-100 SUT
    Digital: Mac mini 2.3GHz dual-core i5 8g RAM 1.5 TB HDD Music Server Amarra (memory play) - USB - W4S DAC 2
    Cables: Mits S3 IC and Spk cables| PS Audio PCs

    Ofc: Wright WLA12 preamp: Anthem Amp 1: Pio Elite DV-79AVI: Airport Express: CAL Sigma II DAC: PA LS90 sonicaps and mills

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (28)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Right here.
    Posts
    10,414

    Default

    Edit.

    That was too late. Off the air HD already mentioned.
    _________________________________________________
    ***\\\\\........................... My Audio Journey ............................./////***

    2008 & 2010 Football Pool WINNER
    SOPA

    Thank God for different opinions. Imagine the world if we all wanted the same woman

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,395

    Default

    We usually watch the big network shows....ie, House, Grey's, Dexter and so on.

    So maybe the indoor might work....thanks If we do this we'd save over 80 a month.
    HT- HK 335, Rotel 1075, Miova PC, AQ Indigo Speaker Cable, XLO Jumpers, AQ Diamondback ICs, AQ HDMI x2, AQ Component, Signal Cable Analog II ICs, Signal Cable Digcoax, Signal Cable Toslink, Rti8, Csi5, Rti6, Energy s10.2, Panny 42" Plasma, PS3, Harmony 1100 and Harmony PS3 Adapter, LG dvdp(for the kids), Monster 3600MKII all on a dedicated circuit.

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (28)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Right here.
    Posts
    10,414

    Default

    This is what I used to locate the TV stations in the area and decide where to mount/point my antenna:

    http://www.antennaweb.org/aw/Address.aspx

    enter just the zip code, then you'll get a map where you can select your exact location.

    Edit: sorry, only for U.S. There must be something similar for Canada.
    _________________________________________________
    ***\\\\\........................... My Audio Journey ............................./////***

    2008 & 2010 Football Pool WINNER
    SOPA

    Thank God for different opinions. Imagine the world if we all wanted the same woman

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (28)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Powder Springs, GA
    Posts
    5,293

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Willow View Post
    We usually watch the big network shows....ie, House, Grey's, Dexter and so on.

    So maybe the indoor might work....thanks If we do this we'd save over 80 a month.
    I'd invest in a proper outdoor antenna if you want reliability. I've had one up for more than 5 years and I swear by it. You can count on it like Old Faithful. Wind, rain, thunderstorms, snow, leaves, etc. Nothing stops me from getting a solid signal short of the local network having an outage, which really never happens unless a helicopter crashes into the radio tower!

  19. #19

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,395

    Default

    no netflix in canada
    HT- HK 335, Rotel 1075, Miova PC, AQ Indigo Speaker Cable, XLO Jumpers, AQ Diamondback ICs, AQ HDMI x2, AQ Component, Signal Cable Analog II ICs, Signal Cable Digcoax, Signal Cable Toslink, Rti8, Csi5, Rti6, Energy s10.2, Panny 42" Plasma, PS3, Harmony 1100 and Harmony PS3 Adapter, LG dvdp(for the kids), Monster 3600MKII all on a dedicated circuit.

  20. #20

    Member Sales Rating: (28)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Powder Springs, GA
    Posts
    5,293

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Willow View Post
    no netflix in canada
    Looks like Zip is your equivalent. Not sure if zip has streaming yet or if any CE devices support it.

  21. #21

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,395

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by billbillw View Post
    Looks like Zip is your equivalent. Not sure if zip has streaming yet or if any CE devices support it.
    Not that I can tell. I'll put on my sherlock cap when I get home
    HT- HK 335, Rotel 1075, Miova PC, AQ Indigo Speaker Cable, XLO Jumpers, AQ Diamondback ICs, AQ HDMI x2, AQ Component, Signal Cable Analog II ICs, Signal Cable Digcoax, Signal Cable Toslink, Rti8, Csi5, Rti6, Energy s10.2, Panny 42" Plasma, PS3, Harmony 1100 and Harmony PS3 Adapter, LG dvdp(for the kids), Monster 3600MKII all on a dedicated circuit.

  22. #22

    Member Sales Rating: (28)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Powder Springs, GA
    Posts
    5,293

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Willow View Post
    Not that I can tell. I'll put on my sherlock cap when I get home
    Seems like they announced they were bringing it back in June, supposed to happen in the fall. Not sure if it fell through or was delayed. Some type of partnership with Sonic Cinema Now. Good luck Mr. Holmes!

  23. #23

    Member Sales Rating: (3)

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    British Columbia (Canada eh)
    Posts
    3,490

    Default

    There is a great program for streaming from PC to PS3 called PS3 Media Server. It's free and it can stream HD content. I have successfully watched several Blu ray quality movies and listen to a fair amount of my ripped cd collection streamed to PS3. I don't know if it can do live streamed internet content though. Another cool feature of the music server end of the PS3 is I can stream music to the PS3 and output it through the optical out in my DAC and have very high quality music on the two channel rig.
    SDA-1C (full mods)
    Eico ST-70 Integrated Tube Amp fully rebuilt and modded
    Rega Planar 3 TT/Shelter 501 MkII
    Nitty Gritty 1.5FI RCM
    The Clamp
    Revox A77 Mk IV Dolby
    Thorens TD160/Mission 774 arm/Stanton 881S Shibata
    Nakamichi CR7 Cassette Deck
    Rotel RCD-855 with tube output stage
    Cambridge Audio DACmagic Plus
    DBX 3BX-DS
    DBX 224-DS
    ADC Soundshaper 3 EQ
    Ben's IC's

  24. #24

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3,578

    Default

    Check out playOn:
    http://www.playon.tv/playon/
    Not HD, but lets you watch Hulu (and many other services) on your TV with the PS3 interface.
    Gallo Ref 3.1 : Bryston 4b SST : Musical fidelity CD Pre : VPI HW-19
    Gallo Ref AV, Frankengallo Ref 3, LC60i : Bryston 9b SST : Meridian 565
    Jordan JX92s : MF X-T100 : Xray v8
    Backburner:Krell KAV-300i

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Streaming U2 Live from Rose Bowl!!
    By mizthuphee in forum Music & Movies
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-26-2009, 02:10 AM
  2. Movie Streaming Services
    By kevhed72 in forum Music & Movies
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-10-2009, 12:55 AM
  3. PS3 streaming audio formats?
    By cnh in forum Electronics
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 07-13-2009, 01:15 PM
  4. Streaming Netflix - Worth It?
    By Gadabout in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 06-24-2009, 06:36 PM
  5. Need Help Streaming iTunes
    By thsmith in forum Electronics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-21-2009, 06:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts