Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 42
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,228

    Default HDTV owners, how many of you calibrate?

    ...using either DVE or Avia?

    Seems like quite a few don't. Your second purchase (first being your HDTV) should be a calibration disc. For a "mind-boggling" $29 bucks, you can make your new shiny HDTV display look like a million bucks, so don't be cheap.

    Some hints that I have learned, that may help:

    - let the tv warm up for a good 30 minutes
    - room lighting should be adjusted to when you do the majority of your watching
    - make no picture adjustments on your source (DVD/BluRay)
    - make sure to start out with all display settings centered and sharpness at ZERO
    - Brightness and contrast are settings you'll need to go back and tweak..more on that later
    - Color is pretty straight forward, but run the levels up and down several times to get an average best setting (remember, BLUE filter!) Don't get too bent out of shape if you see some decoder error--it's gonna happen. Out of 4 TV's I own, guess which one had a perfect color decoder? The $127 RCA on the patio---go figure. Just try to get the best adjustment possible, it will look good.
    - Tint will do a fine adjust of your color settings (in essence). Just as with color, run the adjustment up and down numerous times and get a best average setting.
    - Sharpness. Contrary to popular belief, and mentioned on DVE, your TV may be too "soft" at zero. Use the test pattern as described. Sometimes it helps to move a little closer than typical viewing distance to get this just right. My Samsung DLP NEVER shows clipping or jaggies, even with sharpness at maximum. So what do you do then? Back it down to zero, and work up until the picture is sharp, and stop. For my set that was "20" on a 0-100 scale.

    - Back to brightness/contrast:
    If you find after adjusting these 2 that contrast is still blowing you out of your room, bring down some; then go back and re adjust brightness to correspond with the contrast level. The 2 controls feed off of each other, so I found the easiest way is to give contrast the priority, then go back and get the correct brightness. All too often people way overdo the contrast setting. There should not be "halos" around white lettering on a black background, bright sunlit scenes should still have detail in them.

    Remember, CONTRAST is WHITE level, BRIGHTNESS is BLACK level. Sounds counter intuative huh? Is scenes are too white, back off on contrast; if dark scenes are too dark, up the brightness. Spend alot of time getting these 2 just right, you'll be rewarded with a very rich, natural picture. If gray levels are not right, color never will be.

    A word about television:
    I start with my BluRay calibrated setting levels and go from there. I had to back down contrast some, and then recalibrate brightness (remember?). Color was a little over-done on TV, so I dropped it a few settings.

    TV is going to require compromise, as channel quality is all over the map. Pick your most often watched channels and calibrate by "eye" using your source calibration settings as a starting point.
    Last edited by steveinaz; 12-08-2009 at 03:35 PM.

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    McMinnville, OR
    Posts
    2,019

    Default

    Once I replace the lamp in my tv (or cry/whine my way into a new plasma) i'll definitely be trying out a calibration dvd (is there a difference between the dvd versions and the blu-ray calibration versions?)
    Quote Originally Posted by MrNightly View Post
    "Dr Dunn admitted that his research could also be interpreted as evidence that women are shallower than men. He said: "Let's face it - there's evidence to support it."
    Quote Originally Posted by mystik610 View Post
    Best Buy is for people who don't know any better. Magnolia is for people who don't know any better and have more money to spend.
    My System:


    Blu-Ray player: Samsung BD-P1600
    TV: SAMSUNG UN55B7000 55" 1080p LED HDTV

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,359

    Default

    I have both (Avia and DVE) and use them, along with Pixel Protector.
    HT- HK 335, Rotel 1075, Miova PC, AQ Indigo speaker cable, XLO jumpers, AQ Diamondback Ics, AQ HDMI x2, AQ component, Signal cable analog II Ics, Signal cable digcoax, Signal cable Toslink, Rti8, Csi5, Rti6, Energy s10.2, Panny 42" Plasma, PS3, Harmony 1100 (on the way, thanks Sal) and Harmony PS3 Adapter(picking it up tonight) LG dvdp(for the kids) , Monster 3600MKII all on a dedicated circuit.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    5,781

    Default

    Good tips. For best results you need the hidden service adjustments accessed by ISF technicians. I did it to my Hitachi 57" RPTV and it was worth every penny.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,228

    Default

    Another "real world" finding: If colors at the correct calibrated setting still seem "neonish" this points to too much contrast typically--if contrast seems otherwise ok, bring color down abit until colors seem natural, and not glowing.

    Green is a good color to watch for this. If grass looks "electric" you need to readjust. I like using the first Lord of the Rings movie at the beginning to double-check my color setting. Lots of green grass.
    Last edited by steveinaz; 12-08-2009 at 03:37 PM.

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,228

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ryanjoachim View Post
    Once I replace the lamp in my tv (or cry/whine my way into a new plasma) i'll definitely be trying out a calibration dvd (is there a difference between the dvd versions and the blu-ray calibration versions?)
    Ryan
    I have used both on my HDTV, either will work fine.

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,228

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueFox View Post
    Good tips. For best results you need the hidden service adjustments accessed by ISF technicians. I did it to my Hitachi 57" RPTV and it was worth every penny.
    Yes, but be warned. Make sure you have a service menu guide and write down all settings before phutzing.

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (28)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Powder Springs, GA
    Posts
    5,219

    Default

    I have the Avia disc. For members with Directv, you should also test using HDNet's calibration screens. Search the guide for when it is on. Its only 8 minutes or so, but it helps to confirm that the satellite box feed is calibrated like the DVD/BluRay feed is.

    FYI: there is a freebie calibration disc available over at AVSforum as well.
    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=948496
    It may not be as full featured as the commercial ones, but the price is right;)

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    275

    Default

    For my Samsung PNB550 Plasma, I went to http://www.plasmatvbuyingguide.com/p...re-reviews.php and set my TV up to the settings they listed for the test to get the most perfect setup.

    This was free and my TV looks great. Every factory setting I've noticed has the sharpness and contrast cranked, which looks great watching sports, but movies were terrible.
    ~Dan
    --------

    Projector: Epson 705HD on 106" DaLite
    TV: Samsung 50" Plasma PN50B550
    Receiver: Onkyo 607
    Fronts: Polk 1000i
    Center: Polk Csi40
    Rears: Polk Fxi30
    Sub: Velodyne Minivee 10
    PS3 and Xbox

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,228

    Default

    You'll also here some talk of "these don't work on DLP's, yada, yada" Bull puckey. Color is a bit challenging because of additional colors on the color wheel, just adjust color/tint to the best setting; you'll be fine. I have a DLP, it looks beautiful after calibration.

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Mobile, AL
    Posts
    3,267

    Default

    I not only calibrate with a disc (I own DVE, Avia, Spears & Munsil, etc.), I tweak grayscale using the aforementioned AVSForum disc and an X-Rite EyeOne Display LT. My 1080p projector is about as close to D65 as I think possible (though now that I have ISF controls in my AVR, I may revisit it and tweak red a bit).
    Equipment list:
    Onkyo TX-NR3010 9.2 AVR
    Emotiva XPA-3 amp
    Polk RTi70 mains, CSi40 center, RTi38 surrounds, RTi28 rears and heights
    SVS 20-39CS+ subwoofer powered by Crown XLS1500
    Oppo BDP-93 Blu-ray player
    DarbeeVision DVP5000 video processor
    Epson 8500UB 1080p projector
    Elite Screens Sable 120" CineWhite screen

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,228

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dvran View Post
    For my Samsung PNB550 Plasma, I went to http://www.plasmatvbuyingguide.com/p...re-reviews.php and set my TV up to the settings they listed for the test to get the most perfect setup.

    This was free and my TV looks great. Every factory setting I've noticed has the sharpness and contrast cranked, which looks great watching sports, but movies were terrible.
    Dan, are these exisiting settings that other people use, or are you actually doing a calibration on YOUR set?

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    275

    Default

    I used this site for my TV. Sorry for the wrong link:

    http://reviews.plasmatvbuyingguide.c...50-review.html

    Dialed in to D6500.
    ~Dan
    --------

    Projector: Epson 705HD on 106" DaLite
    TV: Samsung 50" Plasma PN50B550
    Receiver: Onkyo 607
    Fronts: Polk 1000i
    Center: Polk Csi40
    Rears: Polk Fxi30
    Sub: Velodyne Minivee 10
    PS3 and Xbox

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Silver Spring MD
    Posts
    493

    Default

    I am definitely starting with the free one and working my way out from there.....

    :)

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (28)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Powder Springs, GA
    Posts
    5,219

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dvran View Post
    I used this site for my TV. Sorry for the wrong link:

    http://reviews.plasmatvbuyingguide.c...50-review.html

    Dialed in to D6500.
    What Steve is saying is that is a setting that someone chose for their TV. Its a good starting point, but you should calibrate your set for your viewing conditions. Every set has variations as does each video source.

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,228

    Default

    Exactly, thanks Bill. Even changes from component to HDMI cables required major calibration changes to my set.

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    central Idaho
    Posts
    294

    Default

    Steveinaz,
    what calib. disc did you use and where did you get it.? I have a new 40" Sharp and have been considering doing this. I am just not all that pleased with the picture quality-some channels / scenes too bright or to dark and the colors seem wacked at times. I have tried manual adjustments but can not find the "right" setting.
    This thread is very helpful, thank you

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,228

    Default

    I have the Digital Video Essentials (DVE). Picked it up at BestBuy.

    TV will take some tweaking, but if you can get baseline numbers with a DVD player, you'll be close. CNNHD is a very good channel (on DTV) for setting up. Also ESPNHD, HDNET, any good quality channel.

    I had a bit of a challenge with my local CBS affiliate KOLD, Tucson (channel 13). It's broadcast in HD, but the picture is very washed-out compared to most everything else. I finally found a good compromise.
    Last edited by steveinaz; 12-08-2009 at 05:24 PM.

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

  19. #19

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    central Idaho
    Posts
    294

    Default

    Thanks,
    next time to best buy I will pick one up. I also noticed some HD channels look pretty good, others look pretty poor. You pick 1 channel such as you mentioned and calibrate off that-- and the others will improve as well?
    Greg

  20. #20

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,228

    Default

    Greg
    It's more an exercise in compromise. You can get good across-the-board settings, but it takes time and patience. It's a little easier to get good skin tones and such from a good broadcast, that's why I recommend CNNHD (their broadcast seems very accurate color-wise). I switch between these channels, and tweak until I'm satisfied (all HD):

    ABC
    CBS
    NBC
    CNN (newsroom, not Headline news)
    HDNET
    HDTH (HD Theater)
    ESPN
    FOX (news)
    SMITHSONIAN
    NGC (National Geographic channel)

    DVD/BluRay sources are way easier. You calibrate, your done. Sure you might have to tweak a few settings, but generally everything will look very good.
    Last edited by steveinaz; 12-08-2009 at 05:51 PM.

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

  21. #21

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    6,974

    Default

    Definitely calibrate. You have to get into the service menu to really do a thorough job, though.

  22. #22

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    553

    Default

    I do calibrate mine, but was wondering...
    I just got a TV for the bedroom, should I "break in" the TV for a month or so before calibrating?

  23. #23

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,627

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by polktiger View Post
    I do calibrate mine, but was wondering...
    I just got a TV for the bedroom, should I "break in" the TV for a month or so before calibrating?
    I'm getting my new TV tomorrow and I plan to calibrate after it is on for an hour or so and then recalibrate after a month or so. I don't know if I will see a difference on the second calibration, but I figured I'd get the picture to it's best out of the box and then see if there was any creep later.
    HT
    RTi70 mains
    CSi30 center
    RTi28 Rears
    Velodyne CHT-12
    H/K AVR-247
    ADCOM GFA-7000
    Samsung PN58B860
    Playstation 3

    2-Channel
    Polk Audio LSi15's
    Rotel RCD-1072
    Nakamichi CA-5 Pre
    ADCOM GFA-555
    Signal Cable Analog II IC's
    Signal Ultra Bi-Wire Speaker Cables

  24. #24

    Member Sales Rating: (5)

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Jackson, Ms.
    Posts
    2,340

    Default

    I use DVE and Spears and Munsil. I wish I could swing an ISF calibration but I am very pleased with results I have achieved using those discs.

    Great tips Steve.
    -Kevin
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    HT: Philips 52PFL7432D 52" LCD 1080p / Onkyo TX-SR 606 / Oppo BDP-83 SE / Comcast cable. (all HDMI)

    Polk LS 90's - Front
    Polk CS350 LS - Center
    Polk Monitor 50's - Rear
    JBL Northridge E150P - Sub

    2 Channel:
    Oppo BDP-83 SE
    Muscial Fidelity M1 DAC
    VTL 2.5
    McIntosh 2205 (refurbed)
    Polk LS90's (spiked & tweeked)
    Cardas IC's
    Cardas Bi-Wire

  25. #25

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,627

    Default

    I use Sound and Vision Home Theater Tune-up (or whatever it is called)
    HT
    RTi70 mains
    CSi30 center
    RTi28 Rears
    Velodyne CHT-12
    H/K AVR-247
    ADCOM GFA-7000
    Samsung PN58B860
    Playstation 3

    2-Channel
    Polk Audio LSi15's
    Rotel RCD-1072
    Nakamichi CA-5 Pre
    ADCOM GFA-555
    Signal Cable Analog II IC's
    Signal Ultra Bi-Wire Speaker Cables

  26. #26

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    6,974

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lowell_M View Post
    I'm getting my new TV tomorrow and I plan to calibrate after it is on for an hour or so and then recalibrate after a month or so. I don't know if I will see a difference on the second calibration, but I figured I'd get the picture to it's best out of the box and then see if there was any creep later.
    It depends on the TV. Some sets (like CRT-based rear projection TV's) will drift every once in a while.

  27. #27

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    15,835

    Default

    are the Avia or DVE calibration discs in blu ray or standard DVD?

    having worked in Tee Vee for 29 years.. I know what a properly set up TV should look like, but i'm sure the calibration discs would be helpful. ;)

  28. #28

    Member Sales Rating: (5)

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Jackson, Ms.
    Posts
    2,340

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by danger boy View Post
    are the Avia or DVE calibration discs in blu ray or standard DVD?

    having worked in Tee Vee for 29 years.. I know what a properly set up TV should look like, but i'm sure the calibration discs would be helpful. ;)
    Definitely!

    I think they are available in both SD and BluRay. I use DVE SD version and Spears and Munsil BD version. I think it may be good to check with both types.
    -Kevin
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    HT: Philips 52PFL7432D 52" LCD 1080p / Onkyo TX-SR 606 / Oppo BDP-83 SE / Comcast cable. (all HDMI)

    Polk LS 90's - Front
    Polk CS350 LS - Center
    Polk Monitor 50's - Rear
    JBL Northridge E150P - Sub

    2 Channel:
    Oppo BDP-83 SE
    Muscial Fidelity M1 DAC
    VTL 2.5
    McIntosh 2205 (refurbed)
    Polk LS90's (spiked & tweeked)
    Cardas IC's
    Cardas Bi-Wire

  29. #29

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    6,974

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by danger boy View Post
    are the Avia or DVE calibration discs in blu ray or standard DVD?

    having worked in Tee Vee for 29 years.. I know what a properly set up TV should look like, but i'm sure the calibration discs would be helpful. ;)
    Some sets have internal test patterns (but you have to go into the service menu to access them) for color, greyscale, and convergence.

    I haven't used an Avia or DVE disc in years.

  30. #30

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Walker. Louisiana
    Posts
    985

    Default

    maybe i should calibrate my sets lol.
    Living Room Rig:D
    Rotel RSP-1069/Rotel RMB-1095/Rotel-1072/Polk lsI15's W/modded xoverW/DBsubs/Polk LsiC/lsI7's/Klipsch sub-12"the weak link"/DLP Mitsubishi 65"
    Xbox360/PS3/WII
    M.Br. setup:)
    Emotiva MMC-1/Rotel RMB-1075/Polk BlackStone TL350's/Velodyne SPL1000/Samsung 51" Plasma
    Computer Rig:
    Rotel RB1050/Tannoy DC4's/Klipsch RW-10d/ImodIpod/HK AVR230 for now....
    Headphones-Ultrasone-HFI780's w/LittleDot MK Vamp Portables Panasonic HJE-900's

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Calibrate speakers with RS SPL...
    By doctorcilantro in forum Speakers
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-17-2008, 12:04 PM
  2. What is the best way to calibrate?
    By confused1234 in forum Speakers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-02-2006, 11:22 AM
  3. How to properly calibrate a sub
    By DiscoMike in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-22-2006, 11:29 PM
  4. Should we calibrate our 2 ch Systems?
    By Tour2ma in forum 2 Channel Audio
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 10-24-2004, 09:11 PM
  5. calibrate volume at 404
    By roystr in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-01-2003, 09:08 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts