Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Bi-amping sda's

  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default Bi-amping sda's

    Hello me again!

    OK now as I understand it using the manual and talking to Kim in tech support that to bi-amp sda srs you need 2 common ground amps pref is towards identical. I am using 2 Kenwood Basic M2A amps. Rated at 350 watts per channel into 4 ohms. These are common ground amps. The manual says to use 1 amp for the highs and one amp for the lows. I wired it up like that and yes I took the straps off the back. When wired this way I have no sound coming out of the right side inner row of drivers. All else is working on both sides. No the array is not blown. When hooked up to one amp in stereo everything works. Kim in support said I can also hook each amp to one speaker each. OK when I tried this as soon as the amps kicked in I had immediate loud feedback noise coming from the speakers. Luckily I had my hands on the main power switch for the amps and turned them off before any damage could be done. I checked everything for damage and all is well. I am getting bald trying to figure this thing out. Any ideas would be appreciated. I am about to give this up. Oh and yes the interconnect cable is hooked up and no it is not the ae1 cable. Just the standard cable. Kim and the manual does not say to use one. That is for non common ground amps. Thanks guys!

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    1,543

    Default

    Do not hook up one amp to each speaker (monoblock's) unless you have an AI-1 interconnect!!!

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Pittsburgh PA
    Posts
    1,318

    Default

    Did you try going back to only having one amp and testing to see of all the drivers are firing that way. I am not an SDA expert by far but if it does not work with only one amp driving both speakers and all the drivers then I think it would be something with the cross over or the SDA link or whatever it is called.

    Just my 2cents. Hope that helps.
    Sunfire TGP, Sunfire Cinema Grand, Sunfire 300~2 (2), Sunfire True Sub (2),Carver ALS Platinum, Carver AL III, TFM-55, C-19, C-9, TX-8, SDA-490t, SDA-390t

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (12)

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    http://audiomilitia.proboards.com
    Posts
    12,759

    Default

    Di NOT use stereo amps as monoblocks, even with the AI-1... bridged mono and SDA's are BADJUJU........
    The Gear... Carver "Statement" Monoblocks, Polk Audio "Signature" Reference Series 1.2TL with complete mods, Polk audio AB700/800 "in-wall" surrounds, Dodd Audio MLP, Pioneer Elite SC-65, Peachtree I-DAC, Oppo BDP-93, Yamaha PX-3 Turntable, with Sumiko BPS EVOIII, Pioneer PDD 9MkII SACD Player, SimAudio moon 110lp phono preamplifier

    "The problems we face today exist because the people who work for a living are outnumbered by those who vote for a living." Brad Shurett

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    1,543

    Default

    If I'm not mistaken, the SRS has the blade/blade interconnect. If the serial number is above a certain number you can use the AI-1 interconnect...you'll have to wait and see what others have to say about it. In the meantime do as Tom suggested and double check to make sure everything is working with just the one amp powering both speakers, with the jumpers on of course :)

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Yes I have it hooked up tp one amp right now all is working fine. All drivers and tweets. I did the sda check per the instructions on the sticky and all is ok. Very fristrating. Oh well maybe it was not meant to be.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Mars Hotel
    Posts
    31,273

    Default

    How are you connecting the pre amp to the amps? You need to have two pair of outputs running from the pre amp, one pair (left & right) to each amp. If your pre amp doesn't have two pairs of outputs, you can use a Y connector.
    'Political Correctness'.........defined

    "A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Are my SDA's Franken-SDA's?
    By jimreeves in forum Vintage Speakers
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 12-08-2009, 06:34 PM
  2. Bi-amping?????
    By polkyphil38 in forum Speakers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-21-2006, 09:26 PM
  3. Bi-amping sda 2.1
    By motorstereo in forum Vintage Speakers
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 04-11-2006, 08:46 PM
  4. Bi-wiring/Bi-amping SDA's
    By DarqueKnight in forum Speakers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-20-2003, 10:12 PM
  5. Bi-amping SDA's ?
    By nascarmann in forum Speakers
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-31-2002, 11:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts