Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1
    Banned
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    563

    Default Common Ground Amps

    What do you look for to identify a common grd amp?

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    Do you have the amp yet? Do you have an ohm meter?
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  3. #3
    Banned
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    563

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ben62670 View Post
    Do you have the amp yet? Do you have an ohm meter?
    Yes it's a nad c270 I don't have an ohm meter

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    11,425
    Polk Audio SDA SRS 1.2TL's
    With new Exotic wood, Sonicaps, Mills & RDO198's - Born on 4-24-1989 and Signed by Matthew Polk!!!!


    My Polk SDA SRS 1.2TL's http://www.LASAREATH.com/


    It All Started here: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath2

    Part Deux: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath3

    Car Stereo---->http://www.salsleaf.com/leaf_stereo/index.htm<---- NEW for 2013

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    The manual won't tell you if it is common ground. Either someone will chime in, or you will need a multi meter. They are $20 for a decent cheap one. They are very handle for testing batteries and outlets. An mm should be in every mans home;)
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Salem, Oregon (Polk county!)
    Posts
    4,351

    Default

    Ben, I take it that the resistance of the negative binding posts should be low if they are common ground? Or how would you test this with a VOM?

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    You got it. If the resistance is low tie the negative amp posts together. Some amps use different internal feedback schemes that can be damaged if a jumper wire is not used. Some disagree. I have learned by blowing 4 internal resistors. Its free insurance to jump them. also fire up the amp with the jumper wire in place with the speakers not hooked up. The amp will have issues (like possible death), but at least your speakers will not blow if they are not hooked up. I had a friend kill his amp and a bunch of drivers:(
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Salem, Oregon (Polk county!)
    Posts
    4,351

    Default

    Ouch, both the amp and the drivers. I certainly do not want that to happen.

    So if the resitance between my negative binding posts is 20.5 ohms on my Aragon 8008bb amp, this would mean it is not common ground, correct? If it is not common ground, then how can I see if a jumper could be used? I've had some tell me that some amps are not designed to have a jumper used with them. How can you tell if this is the case?

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    If you are getting 20 ohms you need to use a jumper.
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Salem, Oregon (Polk county!)
    Posts
    4,351

    Default

    Or an AI-1 cable correct?

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    Correct.
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Salem, Oregon (Polk county!)
    Posts
    4,351

    Default

    Do you know for a fact that the Aragon 8008bb amp can use a jumper without damaging anything? I just don't want to blow up an amp I just bought.

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    Did you measure 20 ohms?
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Salem, Oregon (Polk county!)
    Posts
    4,351

    Default

    Yes, on both sets of binding posts (they're bi-wireable) they measure 20.5 ohms between the 2 negative binding posts.

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    Jump the grounds and you are set;)
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Salem, Oregon (Polk county!)
    Posts
    4,351

    Default

    Although, an AI-1 gives better sound (i.e SDA effect and lower noise) correct?

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    Some say so. I personally like a good cable upgrade. I seem to be the minority on that opinion. When all is said and done an A-1 will cost you about $300 with cables. I charge $350 to build one.
    Ben
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    Double post.
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  19. #19

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Salem, Oregon (Polk county!)
    Posts
    4,351

    Default

    Yeah, I have been finding out they are not cheap at all to build. I feel comfortable about building one and (sort of) have the money to do it. I just don't want to build it and find out that that's not the problem (that the amp is actually common ground).
    Last edited by headrott; 01-04-2010 at 03:16 AM.

  20. #20

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    11,425

    Default

    Buy some Carver TFM-35X's, 45X's or 55X's they are common ground. :D
    Polk Audio SDA SRS 1.2TL's
    With new Exotic wood, Sonicaps, Mills & RDO198's - Born on 4-24-1989 and Signed by Matthew Polk!!!!


    My Polk SDA SRS 1.2TL's http://www.LASAREATH.com/


    It All Started here: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath2

    Part Deux: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath3

    Car Stereo---->http://www.salsleaf.com/leaf_stereo/index.htm<---- NEW for 2013

  21. #21
    Banned
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    563

    Default

    I have read that amplifiers that are NOT! common ground CANNOT! be bridged. Is that correct?

  22. #22

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    Bridging amps is not the way to fly except in some Pro Audio apps.
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. LSI25's WITH NON-COMMON GROUND AMPS
    By BB3 in forum 2 Channel Audio
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10-20-2009, 04:33 PM
  2. Need Help Why Common Ground Amps?
    By kn505 in forum Vintage Speakers
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-14-2009, 03:34 PM
  3. Common ground amps
    By leroyjr1 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-22-2009, 05:38 AM
  4. are bridged amps common ground?
    By analog97 in forum Vintage Speakers
    Replies: 165
    Last Post: 10-19-2007, 12:42 AM
  5. Common Ground Amps
    By riglehart in forum Vintage Speakers
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 12-05-2006, 06:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts