Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default Assistance needed with a Denon PMA-2000ivr

    Hello to all.
    I found a Denon PMA-2000IVR in my travels and could not resist lugging this 58 lb. beastie home to see if it worked. I plugged it in, turned it on and it went into standby and then shut itself down. So I opened it up to see what I could do and I noticed it had a ribbon cable inside that was unplugged and a blown 10amp fuse. I fixed these issues and now it powers up. Yeah!!!
    I set it up according to the online manual but no music could I hear. I should tell you all that I don't have the remote and perhaps that is what is at issue here. My other Denon is an AVR-2400 and it has been limping along after a lightning strike and will only work with the remote so perhaps this is a similar problem.
    In any case I would be grateful for any ideas and direction because if the truth be known this amp wants to work (Just a feeling) and I think it is a beautiful piece of craftsmanship.

    Thanks

    Phill

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    295

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PhillipBrown View Post
    Hello to all.
    I found a Denon PMA-2000IVR in my travels and could not resist lugging this 58 lb. beastie home to see if it worked. I plugged it in, turned it on and it went into standby and then shut itself down. So I opened it up to see what I could do and I noticed it had a ribbon cable inside that was unplugged and a blown 10amp fuse. I fixed these issues and now it powers up. Yeah!!!
    I set it up according to the online manual but no music could I hear. I should tell you all that I don't have the remote and perhaps that is what is at issue here. My other Denon is an AVR-2400 and it has been limping along after a lightning strike and will only work with the remote so perhaps this is a similar problem.
    In any case I would be grateful for any ideas and direction because if the truth be known this amp wants to work (Just a feeling) and I think it is a beautiful piece of craftsmanship.

    Thanks

    Phill
    It sounds like something either shorted/got fried/blew inside. At worst case, it could be the output/amp stage. The obvious question is, do your source, cables, and speakers all work?
    Home:
    Onkyo TX-6500MKII/Polk LSI 9's (A)Polk TSi 100(B)/Polk PSW 10/Onkyo C-S5VL/Technics SL-QD33
    Home 2 (Playback):
    Dynaudio BM5A MKII/Dynaudio SUB 250MC/Audigy 2 ZS
    College:
    JBL LSR 2325P/JBL 2310SP/MOTU UltraLite MKIII

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default

    [QUOTE=sk1939;1239528]It sounds like something either shorted/got fried/blew inside. At worst case, it could be the output/amp stage. The obvious question is, do your source, cables, and speakers all work?[/QUOTE

    All cables are good. the speakers I'm using here in my studio are functioning and I've used two different sources so that is fine as well.

    Would a short of this kind be visible ? I ask because I would like to know what Im getting into $$$ wise before turning it over to a pro.

    thanks again

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    295

    Default

    [QUOTE=PhillipBrown;1239539]
    Quote Originally Posted by sk1939 View Post
    It sounds like something either shorted/got fried/blew inside. At worst case, it could be the output/amp stage. The obvious question is, do your source, cables, and speakers all work?[/QUOTE

    All cables are good. the speakers I'm using here in my studio are functioning and I've used two different sources so that is fine as well.

    Would a short of this kind be visible ? I ask because I would like to know what Im getting into $$$ wise before turning it over to a pro.

    thanks again
    Hmm, look the amp over for burn marks, scorch marks, etc.

    First off though, turn it on, you should hear a click of some kind, if not theres your problem. The click means the protection relay is open preventing power from getting through. That means there is a short somewhere.
    Home:
    Onkyo TX-6500MKII/Polk LSI 9's (A)Polk TSi 100(B)/Polk PSW 10/Onkyo C-S5VL/Technics SL-QD33
    Home 2 (Playback):
    Dynaudio BM5A MKII/Dynaudio SUB 250MC/Audigy 2 ZS
    College:
    JBL LSR 2325P/JBL 2310SP/MOTU UltraLite MKIII

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default

    When you power it up there is a noticable click and the power standby light blinks for a moment and the then stays full on. The input selector relay clicks nicely as you turn it so that appears ok as well.
    I've seen nothing that looks burned but a more though inspection is called for. Tomorrow it seems.
    Thx

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Hello

    So I've taken it apart and have discovered that some has been there before me. Perhaps a repair job left in mid-stream.
    There are two transistors that are attached to the heat-sink and should be soldered to the Right Channel circuit-board. The transistors have been un-soldered and the board put back. This is also was the board that I had reattached a ribbon cable to so that minor mystery has been solved.
    So I wonder what I have here?
    More to the point as I would love to have this amp running I am reaching out to you folks for advise before I do what to me would be the natural thing and resolder the transistors back, plug the amp in and hope for the best.

    Thanks again

    Phill
    Attached Images  

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (45)

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NC Foothills
    Posts
    4,637

    Default

    Silly question but do you have the jumpers for the "pre-out/main-in" installed on the back of the unit?

    Nice amp Phill and welcome to Club Polk.

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Yes this amp has pre-outs as well as power amp outputs. The pre-outs are always on and the PowerAmp is switched.
    I literaly found it at my local transfer station!
    When I powered it up the protective circut wasn't happy and shut the unit down.
    So I took a look inside and noticed a blown fuse and a ribbon cable the was disconnected. One new fuse later and the amp would stay on but no sound.
    So I disassembled the unit to see if there were and obvious problems and I discovered that the right channel output transistors were unsoldered so a repair had been attempted and left unfinished. I reconnected the transistors and the unit but they are clearly defective.
    So that is were it stands right now.
    I'm considering completing the output transistor repair as soon as I am able.
    I'll update as soon as I have news.
    til then

    Phill

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Denon PMA-2000IVR
    By KG Audio in forum Electronics
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-20-2007, 11:18 PM
  2. Denon PMA-2000IVR concern
    By Jockos in forum Electronics
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-22-2007, 11:46 PM
  3. FS: Denon PMA-2000IVR Integrated Amp
    By RuSsMaN in forum For Sale (FS) Classifieds
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-05-2007, 07:59 PM
  4. Denon PMA-2000IVR
    By Jockos in forum Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-01-2007, 10:41 AM
  5. Denon pma-2000ivr
    By marvda1 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-05-2006, 08:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts