Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 27 of 27
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (7)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3,417

    Default Electricity/power into system

    Just trying to get further into that damn hole.

    OK, here we go. Some of you guys may remember when I had a humming/buzzing noise coming through my tweeters a few months ago. That was solved by rearranging how I had everything plugged into the outlets. Since then I bought some Signal Cable power cords and have them in the system now. All is great, well kind of. My TV and cable box are plugged into a separate outlet in the wall behind the system. My amp, pre and cdp are all plugged into a cheap power strip. The power strip is plugged into a different outlet than the TV and cable box which eliminated the humming/buzzing noise. Am I a douche :(:o or what for having my system plugged like that? Go ahead and let me have it, I can handle it.

    Here are my questions/concerns
    How much am I restricting the performance of my components by having them plugged in like that?

    I guess I need a dedicated circuit and line from the electric panel to the back of my system. Do I buy the hospital grade outlets and have the electrician install them. Its about 20 feet from the panel to the system. Any idea what something like this will cost?

    How will my system be protected? By the breaker in the electrical panel? I have about $3,500. into my amp, pre and cdp so I guess they should be protected.

    I'm thinking I better address this before buying some monitor speakers to fool around with. Right?

    Thanks in advance for all advice.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Magnolia, NJ
    Posts
    4,083

    Default

    Here's a great read for you...I've had the Son of Q model for years I wouldn't ever want to be without one. I'm even thinking about moving up the chain within their product line.
    http://www.equitech.com/
    "2 Channel & 11.2 HT "
    Panny 65" 3D Plasma
    Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3010 AVR
    D>SONIC M2-600M mono's / mains
    Rotel RMB-1095 / 5 channel amp
    Rotel RMB-1075 / 5 channel amp
    TEAC UD - 501 DAC
    Oppo BDP-93
    SONOS System
    KEF Q900 / mains
    KEF Q600 / center
    KEF Q800 / surrounds
    KEF Q100 / rear surr.
    Def Tech ProMonitor 1000 / front & rear presence
    Velodyne SPL-1200R subs / dual pair
    DSPeaker Anti-Mode 8033 sub EQ
    Equitech Balanced Power Son of Q 1.5R
    Extensive room treatments

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Office
    Posts
    256

    Default

    Yes. Dedicated system with hospital recept. Use a good power conditioner like a A.R.T. or APC/AV. If your goodies have I.E.C. power cords I suggest Monster Powerline 200 low noise cords.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (5)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Curbside, NJ
    Posts
    693

    Default

    Why all the hubbub over hospital grade receptacles? What advantage are we trying to seek here?
    Parasound C1, T3, HCA-3500, HCA-2205A, P/DD1550, Pioneer DV-79avi, Oppo BDP-83, WD Media Server W/HDD,
    Dynaudio Contour 3.3, Dynaudio Contour T2.1, Polk OWM3, Polk DSW micropro 1000 (x2),
    Pioneer Kuro 50" Plasma, Phillips Pronto Control w/Niles HT-MSU.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    664

    Default

    IMO, you need to run a dedicated circuit - http://www.tweekgeek.com/_e/AC_Recep..._audio_use.htm
    Living Room:.................... Zone 2 (Workout Room):
    AVR - Yamaha RX-V757......JBL 4312 Pro Monitors
    Pre - Nak CA-5
    AMP - Adcom 555 (Main)
    Main - Polk RTI8**/RTiA5
    AMP - Adcom 545II (Center)
    Center - Polk CSiA4**
    Sub - Snell Basis 300:p......Zone 3 (Outside)
    CD - Yamaha CDC-555.......Def Tech AW5500
    TV - Pani TH-42PZ80U
    BR - LG BD390
    Monster HTS1600 Power Center
    Dedicated Circuit - (2) 20amp, (1) 15amp
    Ben's IC, Canare 4S11

    **Dayton and Sonicap Caps with Mills Resistors**

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (5)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Curbside, NJ
    Posts
    693

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by curved View Post
    IMO, you need to run a dedicated circuit - http://www.tweekgeek.com/_e/AC_Recep..._audio_use.htm
    Somebody is getting really rich on this one, $90. What performance aspect do you seek from a receptacle?

    Last edited by Amherst; 01-17-2010 at 11:56 AM.
    Parasound C1, T3, HCA-3500, HCA-2205A, P/DD1550, Pioneer DV-79avi, Oppo BDP-83, WD Media Server W/HDD,
    Dynaudio Contour 3.3, Dynaudio Contour T2.1, Polk OWM3, Polk DSW micropro 1000 (x2),
    Pioneer Kuro 50" Plasma, Phillips Pronto Control w/Niles HT-MSU.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Office
    Posts
    256

    Default

    You can buy a hospital grade at Lowe's for 10.00. Advantage is better quality copper , 3 contact points on your plug , and isolated ground. Sure there are ones that rape you on price but research will save you money. Next time your in the hospital in critical care and your hooked up to some very sensitive high tech equipt. supporting your life , just tell them any outlet will do. They also make them in different grades. Some are silver plated. The needs in the lab or X - ray room differ as the same in a general recovery room.

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Office
    Posts
    256

    Default

    Mr. NJ POLKER. Food for thought. You say items are plugged into different recepts. Are they all on the same circuit? What appliances are sharing that circuit. Modems , wireless modems , microwaves to mention just a few put dirt back into your electric line. That is 1 of the reasons people are saying dedicated service. Then if your gonna take it that far , use a quality power conditioner to clean what you have. I have a Buckcherry DVD that the sound quality SUCKED!!!. I installed a A.R.T. power conditioner WITH APF filtering. Now the DVD sounds as good as the CD wich sound quality greatly improved. Garbage in garbage out , but no conditioning or filtering is garbage AMPLIFIED!.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (5)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Curbside, NJ
    Posts
    693

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Krazyz1 View Post
    You can buy a hospital grade at Lowe's for 10.00. Advantage is better quality copper , 3 contact points on your plug , and isolated ground. Sure there are ones that rape you on price but research will save you money. Next time your in the hospital in critical care and your hooked up to some very sensitive high tech equipt. supporting your life , just tell them any outlet will do. They also make them in different grades. Some are silver plated. The needs in the lab or X - ray room differ as the same in a general recovery room.
    There are NO homes with an isolated ground system to be able to incorporate a hospital grade receptacle into. Which is what I was really headed tword to point out. Therefore a waste to seek out. Most standard spec grade receptacles will more than suffice and cost about half your hamilton.

    There are many,many,many receptacles that will provide proper contact for full load situations in a home/AVR situation, according to Underwriters Laboratory all of those bearing their approval. Although I personally do not buy into that.

    Save your cash.
    Parasound C1, T3, HCA-3500, HCA-2205A, P/DD1550, Pioneer DV-79avi, Oppo BDP-83, WD Media Server W/HDD,
    Dynaudio Contour 3.3, Dynaudio Contour T2.1, Polk OWM3, Polk DSW micropro 1000 (x2),
    Pioneer Kuro 50" Plasma, Phillips Pronto Control w/Niles HT-MSU.

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (7)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3,417

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Amherst View Post
    Why all the hubbub over hospital grade receptacles? What advantage are we trying to seek here?
    Since you have to ask you should not participate in this thread. Thanks anyway.

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (7)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3,417

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Krazyz1 View Post
    Mr. NJ POLKER. Food for thought. You say items are plugged into different recepts. Are they all on the same circuit? What appliances are sharing that circuit. Modems , wireless modems , microwaves to mention just a few put dirt back into your electric line. That is 1 of the reasons people are saying dedicated service. Then if your gonna take it that far , use a quality power conditioner to clean what you have. I have a Buckcherry DVD that the sound quality SUCKED!!!. I installed a A.R.T. power conditioner WITH APF filtering. Now the DVD sounds as good as the CD wich sound quality greatly improved. Garbage in garbage out , but no conditioning or filtering is garbage AMPLIFIED!.

    I will check on what all is on that circuit.

    I suspect I am pulling a lot of current. I don't want to restrict the performance because of it.

    You are correct in stating "**** in **** out" and some around here don't get it.


    Krazy, I am not busting your balls but you should use spell check. It will pick up some of the typo's. I know that because my spelling sucks as does my typing skills.

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (5)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Curbside, NJ
    Posts
    693

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NJPOLKER View Post
    Since you have to ask you should not participate in this thread. Thanks anyway.
    Really???

    Are you afraid of information?
    Parasound C1, T3, HCA-3500, HCA-2205A, P/DD1550, Pioneer DV-79avi, Oppo BDP-83, WD Media Server W/HDD,
    Dynaudio Contour 3.3, Dynaudio Contour T2.1, Polk OWM3, Polk DSW micropro 1000 (x2),
    Pioneer Kuro 50" Plasma, Phillips Pronto Control w/Niles HT-MSU.

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (15)

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    7,407

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Amherst View Post
    Really???

    Are you afraid of information?
    No. He's not. But the information that you kindof sortof not really offered was the exact opposite of his question.

    He's not asking for reasons or information on why he SHOULDN'T BOTHER doing this. He's made up his mind. Give information pertaining to that, or get out.

    If you want to argue about it, start a thread or go dig up one of the hundreds that are out there on this. While you're at it, there's some cable and Emotiva threads that could use some attention, too.


    Drew, Krazy seems to be on the right track, and exactly what i would do if i could. Unfortunately, i have to live with just a power conditioner. :(
    I don't read the newsssspaperssss because dey aaaallllllllll...... have ugly print.

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (5)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Curbside, NJ
    Posts
    693

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by concealer404 View Post
    No. He's not. But the information that you kindof sortof not really offered was the exact opposite of his question.

    He's not asking for reasons or information on why he SHOULDN'T BOTHER doing this. He's made up his mind. Give information pertaining to that, or get out.

    If you want to argue about it, start a thread or go dig up one of the hundreds that are out there on this. While you're at it, there's some cable and Emotiva threads that could use some attention, too.


    Drew, Krazy seems to be on the right track, and exactly what i would do if i could. Unfortunately, i have to live with just a power conditioner. :(
    Didn't mean to piss you or anyone else off. My apology. Gone
    Parasound C1, T3, HCA-3500, HCA-2205A, P/DD1550, Pioneer DV-79avi, Oppo BDP-83, WD Media Server W/HDD,
    Dynaudio Contour 3.3, Dynaudio Contour T2.1, Polk OWM3, Polk DSW micropro 1000 (x2),
    Pioneer Kuro 50" Plasma, Phillips Pronto Control w/Niles HT-MSU.

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (3)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    SDA SweetSpot
    Posts
    5,364

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NJPOLKER View Post
    How much am I restricting the performance of my components by having them plugged in like that?
    The problems that could arise are:

    1. Ground loops due to differences in voltage between the two AC circuits and
    2. Power demands and noise from other devices on the circuit.

    For #1, if you are not hearing hum, you should be OK.

    For #2, even if you are not hearing hum or other noise from florescent lights, dimmer switches, electric motors, your audio electronics may be starved for power by the demands of a refrigerator, air conditioning unit, etc. on the same circuit. This can cause a loss of dynamics and clarity in music reproduction.

    My two channel and home theater systems are each served by three dedicated AC circuits apiece. I haven't had any ground loop issues with the two channel system. I did get ground loop hum when I changed two of the home theater receptacles from Power Port Premiers to Soloist Premiers. The ground loops went away when I removed the ground pins of the power cables plugged into the outlets.

    Quote Originally Posted by NJPOLKER View Post
    I guess I need a dedicated circuit and line from the electric panel to the back of my system. Do I buy the hospital grade outlets and have the electrician install them. Its about 20 feet from the panel to the system. Any idea what something like this will cost?
    Expect anywhere from $200 to $800 per AC circuit. The cost depends on the going rates in your area and the difficulty of the installation. I paid $425 per additional circuit. In my case, installation was moderately difficult due to the required drilling through the firebreaks in my walls and the difficulty in accessing the locations to drill through the wall caps. Get a licensed, reputable electrician to do the work (unless you are able to do the work yourself and conform to building codes).

    Quote Originally Posted by NJPOLKER View Post
    How will my system be protected? By the breaker in the electrical panel? I have about $3,500. into my amp, pre and cdp so I guess they should be protected.
    The breaker will protect your gear from power surges resulting from things within the home. You need to be more concerned with surges resulting from outside the home like lightning strikes, surges that result from utility company equipment malfunctions and coincidental surges resulting from a large number of people in your area turning on devices at the same time (rare, but it happens).

    Power conditioners and surge protectors between the wall and your gear protect against outside surges. You can also install a surge protector at the breaker box. Even if your equipment is protected behind power conditioners and surge protectors, a surge protector at the breaker box is added insurance. They are not expensive and are easy to install, but again, you will need to have a licensed electrician install it. I use a combination of power conditioners and breaker box surge protection.
    "Polk SDA-SRSs are hopelessly out of date both sonically and technologically... I see no value whatsoever in older SDA speakers."~Audio Asylum Member
    __________________
    "Knowledge, without understanding, is a path to failure."~DK

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Salem, Oregon (Polk county!)
    Posts
    4,348

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pearsall001 View Post
    Here's a great read for you...I've had the Son of Q model for years I wouldn't ever want to be without one. I'm even thinking about moving up the chain within their product line.
    http://www.equitech.com/
    I heave read enough great reviews about these conditioners, I bought a used one (the 1RQ). Can't wait to hook it up to see (actually hear) the difference! Gonna have to sell my monster 5100MKII now.:D
    Last edited by headrott; 01-17-2010 at 07:04 PM.

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    11,421

    Default

    I'd run one outlet and buy one of these:

    http://www.psaudio.com/ps/products/d...copy?cat=power
    Polk Audio SDA SRS 1.2TL's
    With new Exotic wood, Sonicaps, Mills & RDO198's - Born on 4-24-1989 and Signed by Matthew Polk!!!!


    My Polk SDA SRS 1.2TL's http://www.LASAREATH.com/


    It All Started here: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath2

    Part Deux: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath3

    Car Stereo---->http://www.salsleaf.com/leaf_stereo/index.htm<---- NEW for 2013

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (7)

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Climbing that pole...in your backyard
    Posts
    4,027

    Default

    I ran three dedicated 20A circuits with isolated ground hospital grade recepts at Trey's house for his gear. He said the difference was night and day from the way it was before. No noise at all bleeding into the goodies.
    Dig it?
    Gimme a buzz NJ and i'll pack up the tools....

  19. #19

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Office
    Posts
    256

    Default

    Yes my spelling sucks. But hey , some of other comments on other posts were 2:30 AM. LOL. I will do my best to get my poo together on the spelling. I gracefully bow to all that caught my errors.

  20. #20

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Office
    Posts
    256

    Default

    I beg to differ on houses being properly grounded. Some electrical contractors cheat and think the neutral is a ground. It is a return. Buy a ground rod , pound it in the ground , put assc. ground bar in your breaker box and wala! Do it on industrial machinery all the time. Copper is expensive. Why pull 100' of ground wire with your conductors. Cost is high and most industrial power panels aren't properly grounded anyhow. Remember , ground is suppose to be a safety. So if your running a 100A. circuit better use ground wire that will carry same or higher load.

  21. #21

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Office
    Posts
    256

    Default

    Most breaker panel conditioners/spike protection are throw aways. Cutler-Hammer makes some nice units you can replace the module. You keep the base and plug in a new protection block.

  22. #22

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Atlanta, Ga
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DarqueKnight View Post
    The breaker will protect your gear from power surges resulting from things within the home. You need to be more concerned with surges resulting from outside the home like lightning strikes, surges that result from utility company equipment malfunctions and coincidental surges resulting from a large number of people in your area turning on devices at the same time (rare, but it happens).
    This is a subject at work where we have all agreed to disagree. I would argue that a circuit breaker is designed to protect the wire and is NOT designed to protect anything plugged into the circuit. The basis of my argument is that if a given size wire is exposed to an amperage above its rating for continuous period of time, it gets VERY hot. Hot enough to catch its surroundings on fire.

    In fact, if you dig into the NEC you will see details about how a given circuit should not be loaded above 80% of its rated value for a period of greater than 3 hours. This is due to the heat generated by the current moving through the wire. It has nothing to do with protecting the equipment plugged into the circuit.

    While it is true that a surge or spike in current will (most of the time) trip a breaker, ultimately this is not its intended design. I think of it more as an added benefit.

    As to where that leaves you is your decision. Feel free to invest in surge protection equipment and/or line conditioning equipment. It probably helps and certainly does not hurt. Also, it looks really cool.

    For me, I just make sure my homeowners' insurance is up to date and my deductible is nice and low.

    Just my $0.02

    -Andy

  23. #23

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3,584

    Default

    Install a new circuit, 20amp, and put a brickwall on it:
    http://brickwall.thomasnet.com/item/...p20?&forward=1

    On the outlet, put the surge/noise filter device of your choice. Personally, I use leviton hospital grade surge outlets:
    http://www.leviton.com/OA_HTML/ibeCC...minisite=10028

    The brickwall will supress damn near any line surge; a MOV surge protector will pick up the rest. For most gear, you've got to be running it full-tilt to stress a 20-amp line, apart from the initial in-rush current, but most the cost of installation will be drilling holes and pulling wire, NOT the materials, so run one more line that you think you need and you'll be glad you did.
    Gallo Ref 3.1 : Bryston 4b SST : Musical fidelity CD Pre : VPI HW-19
    Gallo Ref AV, Frankengallo Ref 3, LC60i : Bryston 9b SST : Meridian 565
    Jordan JX92s : MF X-T100 : Xray v8
    Backburner:Krell KAV-300i

  24. #24

    Member Sales Rating: (7)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3,417

    Default

    I guess its a good thing my system and panel are close, about 20 feet apart, and the wires can easily be run from one to the other.

  25. #25

    Member Sales Rating: (23)

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Middle East
    Posts
    1,722

    Default

    How loud a hum were you hearing?

    I have some minor hum on my speakers from my tube amp, but I have to stick my ear right to the driver?

    94Db/w Omegas and an Eastern Electric tube-rectified power amp. It's pretty quiet.

  26. #26

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Office
    Posts
    256

    Default

    Mr. doctorcilantro. Had same issue with my CROWN amp and it had a ground lift switch and could still hear very slight hum with ears to speakers. Put a 3-2 prong adapter and hum went away. Worth a shot if your interested

  27. #27

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    TN Native languishing in Maryland
    Posts
    2,171

    Default

    You need a PS Audio Power Plant. Or two.
    TNRabbit
    NO Polk Audio Equipment
    Sunfire TG-IV
    Ashly 1001 Active Crossover
    Rane PEQ-15 Parametric Equalizers x 2
    Sunfire Cinema Grand Signature Seven
    Carver AL-III Speakers
    Klipsch RT-12d Subwoofer

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help Static Electricity Concern
    By mufsoman in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-16-2009, 11:39 AM
  2. Wireless electricity anyone?
    By Keiko in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 03-03-2009, 10:18 PM
  3. Allergic to electricity
    By Willow in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-14-2008, 08:19 PM
  4. Electricity Usage
    By gsdvip in forum Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-06-2005, 10:22 AM
  5. Static Electricity
    By tmila in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-11-2002, 02:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts