Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boise, Idaho
    Posts
    30

    Default Wiring multiple amps to multiple speakers

    I am trying to figure out if it's possible to wire multiple amps and speakers from 1 preamp, I have not used a component stereo in 15 years, understand
    my questions may be basic.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    What are you trying to achieve?
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boise, Idaho
    Posts
    30

    Default

    I would like to drive 2 pair of speakers with 2 amps from a 2 channel preamp, same audio source.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    415

    Default

    I assume your preamp has only one set of stereo line level outputs. If so, get a pair of Y-adapters (one for each channel). The Y will drive two stereo amps from one stereo preamp output. You will also need need the straight phono cables used between the Y and the amp, of course.
    http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...lickid=prod_cs

    Greg
    '65 427 Shelby AC Cobra
    '72 Triumph TR-6
    __________________
    '88 Polk SDA SRS 1.2, with upgraded XO caps and Erse SDA inductors
    '86 Polk SDA CRS+
    '84 Polk Monitor 10A (Peerless tweeters)
    '05 HSU VTF-3 Sub
    '93 Carver TFM-35 (just because)
    '88 Carver M-1.0t (just because)
    '14 PGA2310 based custom remote volume control
    '88 Adcom GFP-555
    '88 Adcom GFA-555 (upgraded/restored)
    '05 Onkyo DV-555 media
    '89 Pioneer Laser Disc media
    '89 Sony SuperBeta HiFi media

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    Have you thought of using a speaker selector switch? That way you only need one amp.
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boise, Idaho
    Posts
    30

    Default

    I have thought about the speaker slector box, but I am trying to drive both pair at the same time, I can do this with my 5-1 and 7-1 integrated amps, but was trying to do the same with a 2 channel preamp, I have 2 set's of Montor 10's, a set of 7, 5, 4 and RT16. So was hoping to be able drive them in different combos with the more powerful 2 channel amps.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    If you are planning on running them in the same room you would be better off running just one pair of speakers. The Y splitter will work if you want to run both amps, but they will not have any level control unless your amps have a level control.
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (8)

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    At a comfortable distance.... gaining perspective
    Posts
    5,688

    Default

    Some Carver pre's have two sets of RCA outs and can drive two amps at one time. If the amps are identical you won't have any problems with different gain levels. A Y connection works too, just not as well as having two sets of outputs. Just be sure to make your connections with everything powered OFF!!:)

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boise, Idaho
    Posts
    30

    Default

    the amps are the same model Phase Linear 200 Series 2, preamp is Phase Linear 4000, it's all mid to late 70's vintage

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (8)

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    At a comfortable distance.... gaining perspective
    Posts
    5,688

    Default

    Lots of Carver,Sunfire & Phase Linear technical discussion at the site linked below.;)

    http://thecarversite.com/yetanotherforum/default.aspx?

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boise, Idaho
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Thanks to all, you have been very helpful. I ordered a Niles Audio DPS-1 for the amps and a Monster Cable SS-4 for the speakers, now its wait and see.

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    415

    Default

    Never mind.
    Last edited by OldmanSRS; 01-27-2010 at 07:34 PM.
    '65 427 Shelby AC Cobra
    '72 Triumph TR-6
    __________________
    '88 Polk SDA SRS 1.2, with upgraded XO caps and Erse SDA inductors
    '86 Polk SDA CRS+
    '84 Polk Monitor 10A (Peerless tweeters)
    '05 HSU VTF-3 Sub
    '93 Carver TFM-35 (just because)
    '88 Carver M-1.0t (just because)
    '14 PGA2310 based custom remote volume control
    '88 Adcom GFP-555
    '88 Adcom GFA-555 (upgraded/restored)
    '05 Onkyo DV-555 media
    '89 Pioneer Laser Disc media
    '89 Sony SuperBeta HiFi media

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boise, Idaho
    Posts
    30

    Default

    I pulled out my old Marantz 3200 preamp 140 power amp it has the main and remote hookup, wired the RT16 to the main and Monitor 7 to remotes, they kick ass on the Phase Linear setup, those two speakers are really well matched the 7's add the bass, played Tut Taylor, dobro master it was amazing crystal clear.

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    484

    Default

    Sure! I suppose though it would depend on a few things....
    Like for one...How many amps are we talking? And, do the amps have enough umph to handle multiple speakers.

    The splitter is always an option as already stated..but, such as in my case, it is very easy.

    I run twinn mono blocks...meaning a seperate amp for each channel...with a single pre-amp. Out of the pre-amp, one cable feeds each amp. Left and right channels have their own amp. My amps have 2 sets of binding posts (one for each set of speakers) and have enough power to drive 2 sets. It is just a plug and play set up.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help multiple amps?
    By shortestraw in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-05-2008, 06:16 AM
  2. Wiring multiple speaker systems?
    By DesertPilot in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-25-2007, 12:45 PM
  3. Multiple amps - one pair of speakers
    By Polk-it-up in forum Electronics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-24-2004, 04:44 PM
  4. Multiple Amps
    By aussie in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-13-2003, 06:17 PM
  5. Wiring multiple subs
    By rs159 in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-14-2003, 08:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts