Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Audiophile
    Member Sales Rating: (30)

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    11,185

    Default Burn-in Question

    When you burn-in your electrical components, do you guys provide an output for that voltage? Do you think it makes a difference?

    Example: I am currently burning in a DAC and a tube headphones amp. Should I have something on the output of the DAC when I'm running a signal into it on burn-in? With the headphones amp, I have a pair of iPod earbuds connected just because I thought there should be a load on it. Am I just being paranoid?

    [If anyone brings up whether or not burning-in components makes a difference, I'll punch you in the face; this is not that discussion.]

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (3)

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    British Columbia (Canada eh)
    Posts
    3,492

    Default

    Yes to an output signal. No, you are not being paranoid. However, I don't think that burning in is..........oh never mind, you live too close to me.
    SDA-1C (full mods)
    Eico ST-70 Integrated Tube Amp fully rebuilt and modded
    Rega Planar 3 TT/Shelter 501 MkII
    Nitty Gritty 1.5FI RCM
    The Clamp
    Revox A77 Mk IV Dolby
    Thorens TD160/Mission 774 arm/Stanton 881S Shibata
    Nakamichi CR7 Cassette Deck
    Rotel RCD-855 with tube output stage
    Cambridge Audio DACmagic Plus
    DBX 3BX-DS
    DBX 224-DS
    ADC Soundshaper 3 EQ
    Ben's IC's

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    You do need a load. You don't need your pre turned on.
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  4. #4
    Audiophile
    Member Sales Rating: (30)

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    11,185

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fongolio View Post
    However, I don't think that burning in is..........oh never mind, you live too close to me.
    Good man. :p

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. CDP Burn In
    By NewHTguy in forum 2 Channel Audio
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 04-06-2009, 03:15 PM
  2. Burn-in
    By NJPOLKER in forum Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-16-2009, 06:38 AM
  3. Question on plasma burn-in
    By KrazyMofo24 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 12-05-2008, 02:45 PM
  4. Cable burn in question
    By NotaSuv in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 10-15-2008, 01:07 PM
  5. burn to blu-ray question
    By polktiger in forum Music & Movies
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-23-2008, 03:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts