Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (5)

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Posts
    1,452

    Default Too many EQ's with Audyssey

    Ok, I goofed! After useing my Integra DHC 9.9 for a week I couldn't figure out why sometimes or most times I had trouble with my bass. My setup has 3 MFW's and 1 Conquest with a Anti Mode 8033 to combine all sub output as one, and a SMS-1 for further tweaking. This all worked fine with MCCC (pio '94) but it was giving me the fits with the Integra. After tweaking, fooling around, burning insence, praying, and thinking thoughts of electronic suicide, I took the SMS-1 out of the lineup and VOILA! All my bass and audio issues were solved. Ran a fresh Anti Mode EQ, then ran Audyssey. Everything dialed in like audio heaven! Now I know what all you guys been talking about how Audyssey does it and then some. The Anti Mode does combine all the sub output as one and Audyssey reads the output and does it's own thing to it. The system is flat with plenty of bass, in fact the couch shakes with the "F****** Irene" clip. I have a Audyssey expert coming down on Saturday to really wring the Integra out so I will see how much more he can do with it.

    Bill

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    13,543

    Default

    I prefer MCACC over Audyssey. I feel MCACC does a better job.

    I also think the sound quality with Pioneer Elite is much more musical then Integra.
    Dan
    My personal quest is to save to world of bad audio, one thread at a time.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    North Victoria Gardens, Altacucawanda, California
    Posts
    6,802

    Default

    I was dialing Audyssey 6 positions last week on the new Marantz AV8003 and the result is excellent. The process is very straight forward, and that's the best part. I remembered several years ago doing the same thing manually on the B&K REF50S2 using Excel spreadsheet, tone generator, and a Rat Shack SPL Meter. It was tedious and the result was not even close to what the Marantz did.

    Dan, analog passthrough on the Marantz is excellent, better than 50S2. Resolution, clarity, imaging, soundstage, are all improved. Who knew. I guess things have change quite a bit since 50S2 golden era (2004-2007).
    I am sorry, I have no opinion on the matter. I am sure you do. So, don't mind me, I just want to talk audio and pie.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Mobile, AL
    Posts
    3,269

    Default

    Audyssey is definitely capable of giving you amazing results if you're critical about proper setup of the mic. A cheap tripod and a little basic knowledge (i.e. raise the mic above your headrests, leave the room during the tones, etc.) can net you some outstanding sound. That said, no amount of EQ can make a silk purse out of a sow's ear.

    As far as MCACC vs. Audyssey goes, the peripheral technologies that Audyssey provides are what put it over the top for me. I've been loving Dynamic EQ's effect on the bass and surround presence when I have to watch at slightly lower levels. Loving the way my Onkyo TX-NR1007 sounds with my setup.

    Polkatese, I used to do the SPL meter and spreadsheet thing with my SVS 20-39CS+/Samson 1000 rig and an ART-351 EQ. Post-Audyssey, the EQ is only in line to provide an 18Hz subsonic filter for my sub. I know one of the complaints about SVS cylinders is that they aren't inherently musical sounding, but Audyssey gives my SVS a very warm and pleasing sound, and I couldn't be happier.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Silver Spring MD
    Posts
    493

    Default

    I love my audyssey - it works great - unless a jet flys overhead while setting it up.....hahaaha

    It is really important that everything is dead silent to get the best results - i turn off the HVAC, the fridge, my wifes PC in her adjacent office and the DVR hard drive makes a little grindy noise so I turn that off as well....

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    North Victoria Gardens, Altacucawanda, California
    Posts
    6,802

    Default

    Kuntasensei, yeah, those were the good ol' times of SPL Metering magic. :)

    Speaking of which, post Audyssey, I can say that playing MW2 on the xbox360 has heightened the experience, especially on the Special Operations Delta Estate takedown. Boy, my son and I ducked and ran to the boat house every time the juggernaut music played those heavy music warning. Yeah, Audyssey has caused us some blood pressure increase...but we loved it.
    I am sorry, I have no opinion on the matter. I am sure you do. So, don't mind me, I just want to talk audio and pie.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Mobile, AL
    Posts
    3,269

    Default

    You should try MW2 with a Buttkicker in the mix. WHEE!

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    303

    Default

    Audyssey sets my sub at plus 5 at the minimum. It's so loud it pops my ultra during several scenes in the hulk. When I run my SPL meter it has me put it at minus 4 at almost any seating position I chose in the room. I've done spl checks at several of the seating positions and there are no really big deeps at any frequency. What drives me crazy is that everytime I change sources I have to manually turn down my sub and change my speaker levels to get everything right because I want to use audyssey's EQ and dynamic EQ.

    Is there a way that I can save manual levels and distances and still use audyssey's EQ setttings for different sources. I set at different places in the room depending on if I'm watching tv, playing xbox, or playing ps3. All 3 sources for me need different settings. because the distances I set at are anywhere form 4 feet to 8 feet of difference depending on what I'm watching or playing.

    I saved the settings for the PS3 exactly how I am describing, but I can't for the life of me figure out how that happened. My Ps3 us using audyssey EQ but my distance and level. As soon as I cahnge to cable, or xbox though everything goes back to audyssey's screwed up levels and distances but it keeps the right EQ settings.

    Any help would be great.
    Denon 1909, want to upgrade for pre outs
    Fronts-polk RTi A5
    center-polk CSi A4
    Sides Polk FXi A6
    rears- polk rm8's
    sub-SVS pb-13 ultra
    Blue ray-ps3
    Panasonic plasma 50 inch
    Buttkicker(don't use or need it anymore since getting the Ultra)

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Mobile, AL
    Posts
    3,269

    Default

    Bevo, a few questions: When you're running Audyssey, where are your mic positions? Are you running the full 6 or 8 positions for the mic? Are any of the mic positions close to walls? Is your seating close to the back wall? Is your subwoofer placed within 3 inches of any walls? If you can give me a better ides of how you're calibrating (pics would be ideal), perhaps I can help. Most of the time, issues like yours can be alleviated by careful mic placement. The more data Audyssey gets, the better your subwoofer calibration will end up.

    I will tell you a trick that I used for my SVS 20-39CS+. I'm using an external EQ as a subsonic filter to prevent bottoming of my sub. Your Ultra has a subsonic filter built-in. If I calibrate with the subsonic filter in place, Audyssey tends to unnecessarily boost very deep bass, resulting in an uneven sound and exaggerated deep bass (and bottoming if I went crazy with the volume). I've found that my best results came from defeating the subsonic filter during Audyssey's tones, then re-enabling it post-Audyssey. This lets Audyssey EQ for flat response based on the native tune of the enclosure instead of the induced rolloff of the subsonic filter, and then re-enabling the filter can properly roll off deep bass as intended and prevent bottoming. Just something you might try. Set your subsonic filter to the "Sealed" position during Audyssey's tones, then dial it back where you had it (20Hz if you're not plugging any of the ports).

    As far as the way Audyssey sets subwoofer level and how it differs from your SPL meter, that's a surprising difference. In my room, I see about 1-2dB variance, but I leave it where Audyssey set it and it sounds great. Per Chris Kyriakakis of Audyssey, MultEQ sets the channel levels based on some sort of averaging of the frequency response, so some difference between Audyssey's setting and what you'd read on a SPL meter will occur. Still, that's a pretty big difference, which makes me think a careful redo of your calibration may be in order.

    Incidentally, The Incredible Hulk has an absolute monster of a track that will stress just about any sub. Tons of very deep bass.
    Equipment list:
    Onkyo TX-NR3010 9.2 AVR
    Emotiva XPA-3 amp
    Polk RTi70 mains, CSi40 center, RTi38 surrounds, RTi28 rears and heights
    SVS 20-39CS+ subwoofer powered by Crown XLS1500
    Oppo BDP-93 Blu-ray player
    DarbeeVision DVP5000 video processor
    Epson 8500UB 1080p projector
    Elite Screens Sable 120" CineWhite screen

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Sub Eq's
    By jakelm in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 06-14-2008, 10:37 PM
  2. Do they make EQ's with speaker inputs/outputs?
    By AllTheTimer in forum Electronics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-13-2006, 06:01 PM
  3. Tweeters and EQ's
    By candyliquor35m in forum Vintage Speakers
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-10-2006, 11:11 AM
  4. Good EQ's
    By Keske944 in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-11-2003, 11:47 AM
  5. Eq's
    By George Grand in forum Flea Market
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-14-2002, 05:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts