Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: HDMI splitter

  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    79

    Default HDMI splitter

    My daughter has an older 1080p LCD TV with 1 "HDMI in" and 1 "HDMI out". She recently upgraded to HD cable and she also has a Sharp BD-HP22U BD player. Can she use a basic HDMI splitter or does she need to go to an amplified splitter switch?

    The cable company (Comcast) told her to use RC cables for the HD connections. I'm not an expert, but I think she will get a better picture using the HDMI connection? Thanks

    Mike

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Fairchild AFB WA.
    Posts
    3,630

    Default

    Yeah, HDMI is the best, but if the units support Component cables, they are probably second in line. Get an HDMI switch box and you will be good. They can be a bit pricey though, the cheapest one I found was $55, but I'm sure they can be had for less. If not, component cables would be cheaper, and the picture quality wouldn't suffer that much, IMHO.

    -Jeff

    http://www.buy.com/retail/product.as...ingid=43066813 splitter box
    HT Rig
    Receiver- Onkyo TX-SR806
    Mains- Polk Audio Monitor 70
    Center- Polk Audio CS2
    Surrounds- Polk Audio TSi 500's :D
    Sub- Polk Audio PSW125
    Retired- Polk Audio Monitor 40's
    T.V.- 60" Sony SXRD KDS-60A2000 LCoS
    Blu-Ray- 80 GB PS3


    2 CH rig (in progress)
    Polk Audio Monitor 10A's

    It's not that I'm insensitive, I just don't care.. :D

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (3)

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    510

    Default

    I don't have any experience with a splitter but my buddy has this switch and hasn't had any problems.

    http://bluejeanscable.com/store/hdmi...ries/index.htm
    Panny 55-st30 plasma
    Pioneer vsx-1121
    Parasound 2100 pre
    b&k tx4430 amp
    Oppo bdp-83
    Monster HTS 3500
    polk TSi500s Vr3 Fortress modded
    polk CS20 center channel Vr3 Castle modded
    polk Owm 3 surrounds
    polk PSW505

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3,586

    Default

    OK, she need a switch, not a splitter. Splitter would drive 2 TV's off one source; switch allows 2 sources to go to one input. Monoprice has plenty of cheap models:

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...09&cp_id=10110

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Fairchild AFB WA.
    Posts
    3,630

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by unc2701 View Post
    OK, she need a switch, not a splitter. Splitter would drive 2 TV's off one source; switch allows 2 sources to go to one input. Monoprice has plenty of cheap models:

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...09&cp_id=10110
    That was what I linked in my post, no? Figured they could be had for cheaper, just wanted to let him know what he was looking for.

    -Jeff
    HT Rig
    Receiver- Onkyo TX-SR806
    Mains- Polk Audio Monitor 70
    Center- Polk Audio CS2
    Surrounds- Polk Audio TSi 500's :D
    Sub- Polk Audio PSW125
    Retired- Polk Audio Monitor 40's
    T.V.- 60" Sony SXRD KDS-60A2000 LCoS
    Blu-Ray- 80 GB PS3


    2 CH rig (in progress)
    Polk Audio Monitor 10A's

    It's not that I'm insensitive, I just don't care.. :D

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3,586

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wutadumsn23 View Post
    That was what I linked in my post, no? Figured they could be had for cheaper, just wanted to let him know what he was looking for.

    -Jeff
    Response was to the OP. Your post wasn't up when I started my response.
    Gallo Ref 3.1 : Bryston 4b SST : Musical fidelity CD Pre : VPI HW-19
    Gallo Ref AV, Frankengallo Ref 3, LC60i : Bryston 9b SST : Meridian 565
    Jordan JX92s : MF X-T100 : Xray v8
    Backburner:Krell KAV-300i

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Fairchild AFB WA.
    Posts
    3,630

    Default

    My bad.

    -Jeff
    HT Rig
    Receiver- Onkyo TX-SR806
    Mains- Polk Audio Monitor 70
    Center- Polk Audio CS2
    Surrounds- Polk Audio TSi 500's :D
    Sub- Polk Audio PSW125
    Retired- Polk Audio Monitor 40's
    T.V.- 60" Sony SXRD KDS-60A2000 LCoS
    Blu-Ray- 80 GB PS3


    2 CH rig (in progress)
    Polk Audio Monitor 10A's

    It's not that I'm insensitive, I just don't care.. :D

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    79

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by unc2701 View Post
    Response was to the OP. Your post wasn't up when I started my response.

    Thanks guys....I appreciate the info. Does she have to worry about HDMI 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, etc.....when selecting a switch box?

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2


    Mike

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2,381

    Default

    I have used the monoprice 2x1 manual switch with good results. HDMI is notoriously difficult to get a proper handshake with. The manual switch physically moves the connection from one source to the other. You can hear the new connection clicking in to place when you push the buttons. So you aren't messing with the signal, just creating a new physical path.

    Although I haven't used others, many switches electronically switch the signal and create another point where handshake failure can occur. So although they have ratings, they may be less reliable than the manual switch.
    Last edited by cheddar; 02-17-2010 at 10:37 AM.

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (24)

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    all I see is cows and cheese...
    Posts
    4,206

    Default

    Also check to see if the comcast box is really putting on 1080P. Most are still putting out 1080i which can be passed through component cables just fine, as well as you normally will not be able to tell a difference between 1080P and 1080i on TV's that are a bit smaller, normally around 42-46" and below. If you can hook up via component then all you would need would be the 3 cables and a opitical cable or digital coaxial cable for the sound. HDMI does make it a bit easier for you to just use 1 cable, but as noted there can be handshake issues when using them but normally a switch isn't too bad to work with.

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (3)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Altadena, CA
    Posts
    451

    Default

    I have the below monoprice HDMI switch. I've used it for about a year. I have my PS3, BDP, Directv box and Xbox360 connected to it. I've never had a problem. I like that it has a remote function.

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    79

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cstmar01 View Post
    Also check to see if the comcast box is really putting on 1080P. Most are still putting out 1080i which can be passed through component cables just fine, as well as you normally will not be able to tell a difference between 1080P and 1080i on TV's that are a bit smaller, normally around 42-46" and below. If you can hook up via component then all you would need would be the 3 cables and a opitical cable or digital coaxial cable for the sound. HDMI does make it a bit easier for you to just use 1 cable, but as noted there can be handshake issues when using them but normally a switch isn't too bad to work with.
    Yeah.............it's probably 1080i. I have DirecTV HD and it's 1080i.

    Mike

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Fairchild AFB WA.
    Posts
    3,630

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wrigley View Post
    Yeah.............it's probably 1080i. I have DirecTV HD and it's 1080i.

    Mike
    Same here, and I have Comcast. HD channels are broadcast in 1080i for me.

    -Jeff
    HT Rig
    Receiver- Onkyo TX-SR806
    Mains- Polk Audio Monitor 70
    Center- Polk Audio CS2
    Surrounds- Polk Audio TSi 500's :D
    Sub- Polk Audio PSW125
    Retired- Polk Audio Monitor 40's
    T.V.- 60" Sony SXRD KDS-60A2000 LCoS
    Blu-Ray- 80 GB PS3


    2 CH rig (in progress)
    Polk Audio Monitor 10A's

    It's not that I'm insensitive, I just don't care.. :D

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    Posts
    2,019

    Default

    It's like $10-15 difference to get a full blown 4-to-1 1.3b-certified remote-operated switch. I think it's worth the extra money, considering that it can be used with newer equipment.
    Panasonic PT-AE4000U projector for movies
    EluneVision 92" Cinema Gray fixed screen
    Onkyo TX-SR805 Pre/Pro
    Rotel RMB-1075 Amp
    B&W CDM1-SE fronts
    B&W CDM-CNT center
    B&W CDM1 rears
    Samsung DTB-H260F OTA HDTV tuner
    DUAL NHT SubTwo subwoofers
    Velodyne SMS-1
    Oppo BDP-93 Blu-Ray player
    Belkin PF60 Power Center
    Harmony 890 RF remote
    Panasonic TC-P50G20 TV + PS3 in the living room

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    267

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cstmar01 View Post
    Also check to see if the comcast box is really putting on 1080P. Most are still putting out 1080i which can be passed through component cables just fine, as well as you normally will not be able to tell a difference between 1080P and 1080i on TV's that are a bit smaller, normally around 42-46" and below. If you can hook up via component then all you would need would be the 3 cables and a opitical cable or digital coaxial cable for the sound. HDMI does make it a bit easier for you to just use 1 cable, but as noted there can be handshake issues when using them but normally a switch isn't too bad to work with.
    There is nothing that broadcast in 1080P and probably won't for a very long time. So 720P/1080I is all you will ever get. So all should still be putting out 1080I and not 1080P

    To the op:

    I have a Monoprice 2x1 switch part #HDS-201 you can have it, if you pay shipping. Its a manual switch. Or you can just use component and rca cables/optical etc for sound for the cable box and HDMI for the Blu-Ray player.

    LMK
    Chris
    Last edited by grif32; 02-18-2010 at 05:17 PM.

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    79

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grif32 View Post
    There is nothing that broadcast in 1080P and probably won't for a very long time. So 720P/1080I is all you will ever get. So all should still be putting out 1080I and not 1080P

    To the op:

    I have a Monoprice 2x1 switch part #HDS-201 you can have it, if you pay shipping. Its a manual switch. Or you can just use component and rca cables/optical etc for sound for the cable box and HDMI for the Blu-Ray player.

    LMK
    Chris
    Chris,

    I appreciate the offer. She decided to just use the RCA cables for now. Thanks again for the offer! :)

    Mike

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    267

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wrigley View Post
    Chris,

    I appreciate the offer. She decided to just use the RCA cables for now. Thanks again for the offer! :)

    Mike
    NP Mike...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. SOLD Monoprice HDMI 1X2 Powered Splitter
    By wingnut4772 in forum For Sale (FS) Classifieds
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-31-2009, 11:05 PM
  2. Need Help HDMI Splitter?
    By wingnut4772 in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-16-2008, 05:46 PM
  3. ????....PC Digital out splitter
    By dee1949 in forum 2 Channel Audio
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-02-2008, 03:37 PM
  4. How to use a Y-splitter
    By scottdawg in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-06-2004, 06:54 AM
  5. Y-splitter on sub with...
    By glemay in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 12-11-2003, 01:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts