Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    484

    Default Are all inputs the same?

    Are all inputs on a preamp the same? Specifically, on my Adcom? I guess what I am getting at is... I hooked my dvd player audio up to the "Tape 2" input on the pre. For something like that, does it make a difference? Would it be better if it was hooked up to a different input, or are all inputs on a given pre basically the same..phono, tape, aux, etc....?

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Mars Hotel
    Posts
    31,277

    Default

    No, they are not all the same. Never connect anything to the phono except a TT. Tape inputs vary from pre to pre, some are ok to use for whatever, but others are not. Best to connect your DVD player to aux.
    'Political Correctness'.........defined

    "A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    484

    Default

    My tv has no audio outs, so I have to either hook up the dvd to tv with no Adcoms, or remove the cables connecting the audio out from sat receiver to the pre-amp (on the aux) and connect the dvd.....which would mean I can't watch tv with Adcoms.

    I just changed cables around tonight but have not tried it out yet. Is it really that big of an issue , and why?

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Dixon, IL
    Posts
    6,519

    Default

    I can't see you having any issues. I've got a DVD player hooked up to one of the tape inputs on my Acurus L10...I also have a turntable hooked up to the tuner input(through an outboard phono pre), and I've even got a DVD player hooked up to a CD input.

    Should be just fine hooking up your satellite to your pre.

    edit-As Jesse said, don't hook anything but a turntable up to the phono input. The phono input amplifies the signal before going to the pre-amp, and hooking up a CD player or DVD player to the phono input could result in some bad juju.
    Last edited by comfortablycurt; 02-05-2010 at 03:22 AM.
    The nirvana inducer-
    APC H10 Power Conditioner
    Denon DVD-2910 universal player
    DPA The Little Bit Three DAC
    Yamaha P-300 turntable/TCC TC-750 phono preamp
    Acurus L10 preamp
    Adcom GFA-545 power amp
    PolkAudio SDA 2A's/PolkAudio Monitor 7A's
    Audioquest Type 4 speaker cables
    Audioquest Sidewinder IC's
    Audioquest Black Mamba IC's
    Signal Cable Analog II IC's

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Mars Hotel
    Posts
    31,277

    Default

    Well, try the tape input, it may work for you, but do not use the phono input.
    'Political Correctness'.........defined

    "A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    484

    Default

    Thanks....but still being curious,....why not the TT in particular? Not looking for a real in depth discussion of the issue...just looking for a basic why. Are the circuits that much different?

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Mars Hotel
    Posts
    31,277

    Default

    Yes, different gain.
    'Political Correctness'.........defined

    "A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    484

    Default

    Thanks guys! Much appreciated

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Dixon, IL
    Posts
    6,519

    Default

    As I stated in post #4;)


    A turntable puts out a low level, analog signal. This is a much lower level signal than a CD/DVD player puts out, and requires an additional stage of amplification before going through the pre-amp. Since a CD player(digital) is putting out a higher level signal, it doesn't need this additional stage of amplification. I've never hooked up a CDP to my phono stage(for obvious reasons), but I'd imagine the result would be a signal with way too high of a gain level.
    The nirvana inducer-
    APC H10 Power Conditioner
    Denon DVD-2910 universal player
    DPA The Little Bit Three DAC
    Yamaha P-300 turntable/TCC TC-750 phono preamp
    Acurus L10 preamp
    Adcom GFA-545 power amp
    PolkAudio SDA 2A's/PolkAudio Monitor 7A's
    Audioquest Type 4 speaker cables
    Audioquest Sidewinder IC's
    Audioquest Black Mamba IC's
    Signal Cable Analog II IC's

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    484

    Default

    Sorry Curt, I missed your post before I responded.. I had started a response to other post and then had to take care of something in the middle of it. I came back and finished and posted it. You had posted in the mean time. Sorry for giving the impression that I had ignored what you said.

    Thanks for your comments. I have much to learn.

  11. #11
    Banned
    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Newark, Delaware
    Posts
    21,321

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BuckeyeTim View Post
    Thanks....but still being curious,....why not the TT in particular? Not looking for a real in depth discussion of the issue...just looking for a basic why. Are the circuits that much different?
    The phono stage input is much, much different than the line level in that it has to take into account the comparitively low voltage outputs of moving magnet & moving coil cartridges. Plus most phono stages have settings inside to set the resistive load for MC cartridges, capacitive & resistive loads for MM cartridges plus they usually have some sort of gain adjustment be it by dip switchs, pots, or straps. Some even allow for custom resistor and/or capacitors.

    Hope this helps.
    Last edited by hearingimpared; 02-07-2010 at 05:33 AM.

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    TN Native languishing in Maryland
    Posts
    2,171

    Default

    The phono input also has the RIAA (sp?) equalization built in, which would make anything else connected to it sound like sh!t.
    TNRabbit
    NO Polk Audio Equipment
    Sunfire TG-IV
    Ashly 1001 Active Crossover
    Rane PEQ-15 Parametric Equalizers x 2
    Sunfire Cinema Grand Signature Seven
    Carver AL-III Speakers
    Klipsch RT-12d Subwoofer

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    283

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TNRabbit View Post
    The phono input also has the RIAA (sp?) equalization built in, which would make anything else connected to it sound like sh!t.
    Yep, and with RIAA equalization being a 2-step "encode-decode" process, it's also true that if you hooked a turntable up to an external linear preamp at fixed, constant gain to increase the levels to line input levels, and then to your preamp on any line input, it would also sound like sh!t. Lows would be hugely attenuated and highs hugely boosted.

    Here's what the RIAA equalization on the preamp side looks like. This is embedded in the phono stage's signal path:


    which is the inverse of what the source material goes through before the master is cut for the vinyl.

    Line inputs, on the other hand, are fixed, constant gain versus frequency.

    Here's an article with some history and rationale on the RIAA equalization:
    http://www.graniteaudio.com/phono/page5.html

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (49)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Wyred 4 Sound
    Posts
    11,233

    Default

    What about a pre with no phono stage like the GFP-750 would it really make a difference what input you use with a external Phono Pre? to me common sense says to use aux input.

    The only thing I play with is the passive/active switch.
    No Way But The Hard Way, So Get Used To It!!!

  15. #15
    Banned
    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Newark, Delaware
    Posts
    21,321

    Default

    I forgot to mention RIAA equalization. Larry use the aux port.

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    16

    Default

    On a Yamaha AX 497, I have these three options to input the audio from the cable television: Tape, MD, and Aux. Is there any difference at all between these three?

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,238

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FrankJG View Post
    On a Yamaha AX 497, I have these three options to input the audio from the cable television: Tape, MD, and Aux. Is there any difference at all between these three?
    See post #2
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Inside the Matrix
    Posts
    694

    Default

    To attempt to summarize, go Tape or Aux, (and CD) if these are RCA connector types. The acceptable incoming line voltages are pretty much compatible. Most pre and integrated amps have multiple inputs of that nature to match the knob setting position on the front of the rig. You can mix/match, but have to remember what specific device is hooked up to the front knob setting. In the past I've used Aux to remember cable for older pre & integrated amps that did not have a specific TV input.

    Anything related to Phono is a big no-no for reasons stated above.

  19. #19

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Thanks for the advise!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. question about inputs
    By conqur in forum Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-03-2008, 11:31 PM
  2. USB inputs, Aux inpts and HDs
    By Gaara in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-25-2007, 01:54 AM
  3. Lexicon DC1, DC2, MC1 5.1 inputs
    By warlocks1 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-16-2007, 08:55 PM
  4. bi-amp with xlr (balanced) inputs
    By Sparky in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-26-2004, 09:35 PM
  5. Using both inputs on a sub?
    By kelley in forum Speakers
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-17-2003, 08:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts