Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Page 13 of 17 FirstFirst ... 3 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 LastLast
Results 361 to 390 of 501
  1. #361

    Member Sales Rating: (47)

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sufficiently Breathless
    Posts
    11,282

    Default

    somehow,,I knew you were gonna say that,, should I get pcb mount or chassis,,;)
    JC approves....he told me so. (F-1 nut)

  2. #362

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Canuckistan
    Posts
    3,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by george daniel View Post
    somehow,,I knew you were gonna say that,,
    hehe
    should I get pcb mount or chassis,,;)
    Chassis mount,then just use some short lengths of hook up wire.

  3. #363

    Member Sales Rating: (47)

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sufficiently Breathless
    Posts
    11,282

    Default

    BTW-- the Adcom GDA for 100 bucks is still there,, local pickup,,,anybody?

    McCloud Oklahoma craigslist.
    JC approves....he told me so. (F-1 nut)

  4. #364

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Okc, Ok
    Posts
    883

    Default

    You interested in it George?

    Ive never been to McCloud, but I could take a run out there for ya.


    Dave
    Once again we meet at last.

  5. #365

    Member Sales Rating: (47)

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sufficiently Breathless
    Posts
    11,282

    Default

    thanks for the offer,,I was hoping someone here would jump on it
    JC approves....he told me so. (F-1 nut)

  6. #366

    Member Sales Rating: (47)

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sufficiently Breathless
    Posts
    11,282

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FTGV View Post
    heheChassis mount,then just use some short lengths of hook up wire.
    Okay-- for my education,please explain the wiring from the board to the chassis mount rca's,,I'll post a pic soon.I think I have it,just wanna be sure.
    JC approves....he told me so. (F-1 nut)

  7. #367

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Canuckistan
    Posts
    3,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by george daniel View Post
    Okay-- for my education,please explain the wiring from the board to the chassis mount rca's,,I'll post a pic soon.I think I have it,just wanna be sure.
    There was shall I say an interesting discussion about same last evening.:D

    First I would make sure your chassis opening is big enough for the connector you plan on using.

    After they are installed you would simply solder some short pieces of hookup wire from the new connectors to the same solder pads on the circuit board where the stock ones were removed from.(The center pin of the new con will be positive the outer solder tab will be ground).
    Be sure to use the teflon insulating washers that come with the connectors as these isolate them from chassis ground preventing the posibility of creating a ground loop.

  8. #368

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    74

    Default Brand new GCD-600

    I have a brand new in the box GCD-600 that has never even been opened that I saved for myself in case I ever wanted to downsize which I have been doing. I sold about 20 of these to guys I was setting up sleeper systems for where I wanted a big bang for the buck system. I always considered these to have a great sound.

    I'll try the mod you are talking about as I am selling my beloved and revered Electrocompaniet EMC-1up.

    These are so good I can only imagine what an improvement does.

    Thanks

    Here's a little tip, find an Audience AU-24 or JPS Labs SC2 interconnect to use from the CD to your preamp and prepare to be blown away. They'll go for around $300 or so if you can find one.

    Don't beat me up, I just saw that you were talking about the DAC not a CD player, oops.
    Last edited by woodguru; 07-06-2010 at 03:36 PM.

  9. #369

    Member Sales Rating: (31)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    14,790

    Default

    Or pick up some Neotech OCC I/C wire before it all disappears, that's what Audience uses.
    "He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster. And when you gaze long into an abyss the abyss also gazes into you." Friedrich Nietzsche

  10. #370

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    74

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Face View Post
    Or pick up some Neotech OCC I/C wire before it all disappears, that's what Audience uses.
    I'll have to check that out as I'm not a dealer anymore, thanks. I wasn't a fan of Audience the company, just the AU-24

  11. #371

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Canuckistan
    Posts
    3,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by woodguru View Post
    my beloved and revered Electrocompaniet EMC-1up.
    Not well known but definately a manufacturor of some excellent products.

    Don't beat me up, I just saw that you were talking about the DAC not a CD player, oops.
    I assume it's of the same vintage as the DAC so may have similar if not identical digtal and analog sections .If so the mod's would equally apply to the CDP.A schemtic would be telling.

  12. #372

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,237

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by woodguru View Post

    Here's a little tip, find an Audience AU-24 or JPS Labs SC2 interconnect to use from the CD to your preamp and prepare to be blown away. They'll go for around $300 or so if you can find one.
    I prefer MIT's, but thanks for the tip.

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  13. #373

    Member Sales Rating: (47)

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sufficiently Breathless
    Posts
    11,282

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Face View Post
    Or pick up some Neotech OCC I/C wire before it all disappears, that's what Audience uses.
    This one?

    http://www.vhaudio.com/neotech-nei-3002.html
    JC approves....he told me so. (F-1 nut)

  14. #374

    Member Sales Rating: (31)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    14,790

    Default

    Yes, but I'd prefer to buy it from here: http://soniccraft.com/products/wire/...ct/neotech.htm
    "He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster. And when you gaze long into an abyss the abyss also gazes into you." Friedrich Nietzsche

  15. #375

    Member Sales Rating: (47)

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sufficiently Breathless
    Posts
    11,282

    Default

    thank you sir
    JC approves....he told me so. (F-1 nut)

  16. #376

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,237

    Default

    ^^good question, maybe Fred will chime in.

    Congrats, it should prove to be a very nice sounding unit.

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  17. #377

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    seattle,wa
    Posts
    933

    Default Neotech

    Hi George,
    I bought 12 ft of the neotech 3002 wire from soniccraft and am going with something else. PM me if you are interested. Good to see you are still doing the mods on this dac. Lots of help on teh forim makes it not so daunting of a task.

  18. #378

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Canuckistan
    Posts
    3,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by echidna View Post
    As I am doing this on a tight budget I started with Nationals lm6172 op amps in sockets this gave very good results.
    The 6172 is on my to try list.It's a real screamer, with that high a slew rate is very well suited to I/V conversion duties(U502,503). Hopefully you used high quality machine pin sockets or you might have oscillation issues.
    Now for a question does anyone know what resistors R502, R504, R540 & R541 and other channel R503, R505, R542 & R543 do?
    Are R502 and R503 actually installed?The schematic shows them but no value is indicated.As for R504 and R505 I'm not certain what purpose they serve.R540,541,542,543 connected between the opamp's output and the negative voltage rail will pull a few extra milliamps of current through the output stage of the opamp effectively biasing it into Class A.The oddity is that is the same purpose of the Fet's Q502,Q503,Q504and Q505 so not sure why they are using both unless it was an option to use one or the other?Does your unit have the the Fets and resistors installed?
    Last edited by FTGV; 01-03-2011 at 08:19 PM.

  19. #379

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Canuckistan
    Posts
    3,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by echidna View Post
    To stop oscillation the power supply pins on the opamps are by passed with Rubycon ZA 100uF/25v in parallel with the original .1uF film and 1.5uf/25v tantalum (this is beneath the board) I picked this up from an application note on high speed op amps.
    Yep bypassing is very important with such fast wideband devices.
    .... the Fets are not installed they are an option on my schematic.
    OK I figured that must be the case thanks for clarifying.
    I will post some results when I get there.
    Please do as some of us like getting feedback on these types of things.

  20. #380

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Central Arkansas
    Posts
    541

    Default

    George did you have any pics of the chassis mount RCAs you installed and did you end up going with the neotech? I am thinking about adding some extra set of RCAs to my amp with a selector switch while it torn down for repairs/mod.

    Quote Originally Posted by george daniel View Post
    Okay-- for my education,please explain the wiring from the board to the chassis mount rca's,,I'll post a pic soon.I think I have it,just wanna be sure.
    Quote Originally Posted by george daniel View Post

  21. #381

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany Nortrhine-Westfalia
    Posts
    1

    Default thanks...

    thanks, that helped me a lot!
    regards,
    chantal

  22. #382

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    50

    Default is it possible to improve the clock in Adcom GDA-600?

    I've been playing with PC audio for the last 4 months, a learning experience which has shown me how insidiously destructive jitter is to lifelike musical reproduction. I have reached the point now where my PC is better than my my CD transports signal to the Adcom DAC.
    Is there a reasonable project one could undertake to improve the clocking and reduce jitter for the GDA-600?

  23. #383

    Member Sales Rating: (47)

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sufficiently Breathless
    Posts
    11,282

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by drselect View Post
    George did you have any pics of the chassis mount RCAs you installed and did you end up going with the neotech? I am thinking about adding some extra set of RCAs to my amp with a selector switch while it torn down for repairs/mod.
    thats on my short list of things to do,, hopefully this w/e--I'll update the thread with some pic's
    JC approves....he told me so. (F-1 nut)

  24. #384

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    50

    Default

    Arrgh. Seems the Monster Cable M650i cables have quite a grip and the inexpensive RCA outer metal contacts on the GDA-600 crimped into place couldn't hold on. Looks like I'll be doing an unplanned upgrade using the RCA jacks from Musical concepts

    http://www.musicaldesign.com/Connectors.html

    Still wondering if there are any clock upgrades possible to improve the GDA-600...

  25. #385

    Member Sales Rating: (47)

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sufficiently Breathless
    Posts
    11,282

    Default

    I did not know that it had a clock--shoot FGTV a pm if you want to know more regarding the circuit--what I tried to do was bang/buck tweaks.Mine is still doing fine,,sounding very analog and nice. Good Luck.
    JC approves....he told me so. (F-1 nut)

  26. #386

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by davide256 View Post
    Arrgh. Seems the Monster Cable M650i cables have quite a grip and the inexpensive RCA outer metal contacts on the GDA-600 crimped into place couldn't hold on. Looks like I'll be doing an unplanned upgrade using the RCA jacks from Musical concepts

    http://www.musicaldesign.com/Connectors.html

    Still wondering if there are any clock upgrades possible to improve the GDA-600...
    Did you do the analog upgrades yet? The clock is the last thing you should worry about.
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  27. #387

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Canuckistan
    Posts
    3,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by davide256 View Post

    Still wondering if there are any clock upgrades possible to improve the GDA-600...
    There is no clock per se as the the digital input reciever chip(CS8412) recieves and locks to the master clock of the transport via a PLL circuit.

    You could concievably improve jitter performance by adding a second tighter PLL circuit .( such as that implemented in the UltraAnalog modified CS8412 used in the GDA700).Alternatively you could improve the clock in the transport.To take full advantage of such a mod one might also want to use true 75 ohm (BNC or RCA)input /output connectors and a good 75 ohm coaxial cable.

    Another less cost effective option would be to add one of the sample rate convertor units from the likes of Monarchy or GW Labs.These are inserted between the transport and DAC.They reclock and resample the data mitigating much of the jitter from a high jitter source.

  28. #388

    Member Sales Rating: (47)

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sufficiently Breathless
    Posts
    11,282

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FTGV View Post
    There is no clock per se as the the digital input reciever chip(CS8412) recieves and locks to the master clock of the transport via a PLL circuit.

    You could concievably improve jitter performance by adding a second tighter PLL circuit .( such as that implemented in the UltraAnalog modified CS8412 used in the GDA700).Alternatively you could improve the clock in the transport.To take full advantage of such a mod one might also want to use true 75 ohm (BNC or RCA)input /output connectors and a good 75 ohm coaxial cable.

    Another less cost effective option would be to add one of the sample rate convertor units from the likes of Monarchy or GW Labs.These are inserted between the transport and DAC.They reclock and resample the data mitigating much of the jitter from a high jitter source.
    Exactly what I did,, got the Monarchy jitter reducer thingy between the Rotle 855 and the Adcom
    JC approves....he told me so. (F-1 nut)

  29. #389

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    50

    Default

    Hmm, so basically if I'm using a Linn Genki the clocking should be good and whatever I
    hear has nothing to do with jitter?

  30. #390

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    Worry about the analog section before the clock.
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. 2B TL modification modification
    By MillerLiteScott in forum Vintage Speakers
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-17-2009, 08:57 PM
  2. SDA-1A.1TL modification
    By altecman in forum Vintage Speakers
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 09-20-2008, 11:51 PM
  3. X-over modification Question
    By jdhdiggs in forum DIY, Mods & Tweaks
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-18-2006, 08:40 PM
  4. crossover modification
    By mingram1234 in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-11-2004, 01:06 PM
  5. modification
    By in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-24-2001, 11:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts