Get fined $100 to $500!
Have you guys seen this?
New Law 1/1/10
If a patrol car is pulled over to the side of the road with their lights flashing, you have to move to the next lane (away from the stopped vehicle) or slow down by 20 mph.......Every state except Hawaii and Maryland and the D.C. has this law. *In California , the "Move-over" law become operative on January 1, 2010.
Received the following in an email:
My son got a ticket on Pleasant Hill coming back from Wal-Mart. A Duluth police car (turned out it was 2 police cars) was on the side of the road giving a ticket to someone else. My son slowed down to pass but did not move into the other lane. The second police car immediately pulled him over and gave him a ticket.
My son and I had never heard of the law.
It is a fairly new law that states if any emergency vehicle is on the side of the road with its lights flashing, if you are able, you are to move into the next lane. *The cost of the ticket was $754, with 3 points on your license and a mandatory court appearance.
Please let everyone you know that drives about this new law.
It is true (see details at the following web address).
It states that except two states, all the other US states (even Canada ) enacted a similar kind of law.
See attached wmv file or this site: http://www.moveoveramerica..com/