Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Grayslake, IL
    Posts
    501

    Default Under Sized Circuits???

    Just realized/stumbled upon the fact that when the previous homeowners had the basement finished, it was wired such that the TV outlet was wired alone as a dedicated circuit. Which is great!!! However, (there's always a however), all the circuits (except the appliance circuits) are 10w. Seems low. With my current set up, should this be at least 15w? Some day I hope to get an amp also. Is it as simple as switching out the 10w to a 15w or does the wire size need to be increased also? I've read some of the other threads on similar subjects, but still concerned/confused. Thanks
    Sharp LC-80LE632U
    Pioneer SC-07
    Parasound 1500A (L&R)
    Rotel RMB-1095 (C, SS, SB)
    Front: Rti12's
    Center: Csi A6
    Side & Rear Surrounds: Mirage OMD-5
    Subs: Epik Legend x 2 and SVS PB12/+2
    Velodyne SMS-1
    PS3
    Pioneer BDP-320
    Logitech Harmony 700 Universal Remote
    APC H15
    XLO IEC power cords by Pepster
    Morrow Audio MA4 IC's
    Audioquest Chocolate & Pangea Audio HDMI's

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (45)

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NC Foothills
    Posts
    4,569

    Default

    You want 15 or 20 AMP, but that is just my opinion.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    Hire an electrician.
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Edmonds, WA
    Posts
    1,726

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ben62670 View Post
    Hire an electrician.
    Or Ben, if you are close... :D
    Seriously, you need to check alot more than just the wire size.
    Heck, alot of things would pop a 10amp breaker.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (45)

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NC Foothills
    Posts
    4,569

    Default

    I know a dude named lightman1...

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (7)

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Climbing that pole...in your backyard
    Posts
    4,025

    Default

    Hello!!!!

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (7)

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Climbing that pole...in your backyard
    Posts
    4,025

    Default

    Not sure what you mean by 10w and 15w.... But more likely than not, it was wired with 14 guage romex. That is only rated up to a 15 amp circuit breaker. If it is 12 guage wire, you are good up to a 20 amp circuit breaker. if you are planing on getting some power amps for your system your best bet is to run a dedicated 20 amp cicuit or two, depending on how much amplification. Plus you reap the benefits of cleaner electricity for your gear. Little to no noise transfer from other things plugged into the same circuit, i.e. lights and appliances. Take a closer look at the guage of the wiring and let us know. I'll be glad to help you from there.
    Lightman Russ

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Grayslake, IL
    Posts
    501

    Default

    Lightman, I meant 10 amps, not watts, rookie mistake on the electrical units of measure.....I will check the wire size tonite, but here in Chicago its all conduit, no Romex. I'm surprised that all the circuits are 10 amps. All circuits except the AC circuit. This particular circuit is dedicated to just one outlet where the HT is, however, the wires run in the same conduit line as another circuit with outlets. Will that impact the dedicated circuit at all?. I'll post again later with more wire size info. Thanks
    Sharp LC-80LE632U
    Pioneer SC-07
    Parasound 1500A (L&R)
    Rotel RMB-1095 (C, SS, SB)
    Front: Rti12's
    Center: Csi A6
    Side & Rear Surrounds: Mirage OMD-5
    Subs: Epik Legend x 2 and SVS PB12/+2
    Velodyne SMS-1
    PS3
    Pioneer BDP-320
    Logitech Harmony 700 Universal Remote
    APC H15
    XLO IEC power cords by Pepster
    Morrow Audio MA4 IC's
    Audioquest Chocolate & Pangea Audio HDMI's

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help Caps for LV circuits
    By ben62670 in forum DIY, Mods & Tweaks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-20-2009, 04:51 PM
  2. new circuits
    By ben62670 in forum DIY, Mods & Tweaks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-26-2009, 06:49 AM
  3. Need Help Modest Sized Center Speaker
    By jkobzina in forum Speakers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-14-2008, 01:26 PM
  4. Dedicated Circuits
    By cewolcott in forum Electronics
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-16-2006, 12:12 PM
  5. Biggie-Sized F/X1000's
    By brettw22 in forum Flea Market
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 06-24-2003, 06:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts