Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (9)

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,329

    Default IC placement - what would you do?

    I am adding an amp to my 2 channel system and find myself short 1 set of MIT shotgun ICs with no plans to buy another set. So my question is, should I use my MITs shotguns from the source to the pre, and then use an Audioquest Diamondback from the pre to the amp or visa versa?

    I've always thought that I should use the best cable form my source to pre but now I wonder if I put the MIT shotguns on the pre to amp, maybe I would get the benefits of the MIT ICs for all componets that are connected to the pre. What would you do?

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    2,137

    Default

    I've always heard it's better to run your better IC from your source to pre (if all of your ICs are not the same, which is the ideal setup). Really though there is now way of really knowing which way is better without trying your setup wired both ways. Try it both ways and let your ears decide. You may not here any difference one way or another. Ultimately the solution is going to be getting another set of MIT ICs. Sorry for the generalized answers, but I hope this helps.

    Steve

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Yellowknife, NT
    Posts
    6,113

    Default

    I would agree source to the pre would probably be the best. That being said, I would try both and see what you think.
    Michael ;)
    In the beginning, all knowledge was new!

    NORTH of 60

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (47)

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sufficiently Breathless
    Posts
    11,098

    Default

    I have the same dilema,, I'm gonna start by using my silvers from the source, then the MIT's from the pre to amp--we'll just have to experiement and see.Good luck.
    JC approves....he told me so. (F-1 nut)

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,228

    Default

    One will be a fixed output (source to pre), the other variable. I would try it both ways and see what your ears tell you. My "gut" tells me the better cable would be best at handling a variable output.

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (9)

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,329

    Default

    Yep, I guess the only way to know is to try both ways. :)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Fxi A4 Placement.
    By bykes in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-03-2008, 01:30 PM
  2. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10-13-2007, 07:17 PM
  3. Sub placement?
    By dirthog in forum Car Subwoofer Talk
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-18-2007, 02:21 PM
  4. Sub Placement.....
    By Demiurge in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-30-2004, 06:04 PM
  5. Sub placement
    By kmccrindle in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12-18-2002, 11:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts