Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread

Member Sales Rating: (0)

Default Help I need a good sub for music

Hey,
    I have the LSI7's for mains and Lsifx surrounds and Lsic. However I spend a lot more time listening to music. I need help matching a sub with good musical qualities. I realize the PSW 505 is a good subbut some are saying it's not very musical. I am looking for a good sub that is musical. Budget is approx $300

Thanks for any help for can give
    PS: I'm still kinda new in the hobby, but my wallet has been around the block a couple of times.

Member Sales Rating: (3)

Look around for a good conditioned used M&K sub with the sealed design. If you have to buy new,brand wise, maybe someone else can make a suggestion, but at least stick with the sealed design,just better for music. When it comes to a subwoofer's performance, so much depends on the cubic feet of listening area you are having to pressurize.
    Last edited by Polkie2009; 03-23-2010 at 06:41 PM.

I had a M&K v125 sealed with 12 inch woofer and it recently died (cry). It was top notch for music with the lsi9's. I bought a Best Buy def tech sub and liked it for a bit but I determined it played loud not low. Returned it and just got a HSU stf-2 and I am loving it atm. It usually takes me like 2 weeks to really evaluate a piece of gear though.

Quote Originally Posted by dhart86 View Post
    Hey,
    I have the LSI7's for mains and Lsifx surrounds and Lsic. However I spend a lot more time listening to music. I need help matching a sub with good musical qualities. I realize the PSW 505 is a good subbut some are saying it's not very musical. I am looking for a good sub that is musical. Budget is approx $300

Thanks for any help for can give
    $300 is a tough budget to work with for a decent sub. There's not a lot better than the PSW505 for that price.
    Moving up, the DSW600's are going for more than that on Polk Direct on ebay.

Main HT/2 ch: