Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    30

    Default Question: External Amp Question

    Ok, say I purchase a Adcom GFA-7605 Home Theater Power Amplifier how is this physically connected to my existing receiver? Then Im curious as to how volume is controlled? I would be running this power amp to all 5 of my existing speakers?

    Thirdly, would this external amp improve music clarity and detail at lower volumes?

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    532

    Default

    rca cable from your receiver's preouts to the amp. receiver controls the volume after you use your spl meter and setup program to get everything all nice again :)
    i use an amp to just power my front 3s for now
    Some polks and stuff

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    6,245

    Default

    your receiver has to have pre-amp outputs, not all of them have them...
    MY HT RIG:
    Sherwood p-965
    Sherwood sd871 dvd
    Rotel 1075 amp x5
    LSI15 mains
    LsiC center
    LSIfx surround backs
    Lsi7 side surrounds
    SVS pb12/plus2


    2 Channel Rig:

    nad 1020 Pre-amp
    Rotel 1080 stereo amp
    Polk sda 2B
    kenwood grunt Tuner
    realistic lab 450 TT
    Signal cable IC

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default

    he has a sony lower line. Bubba, I dont think I need to look at specs! lol! Your going to need a new receiver probally.
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default

    yep...out a subwoofer preout! Your next upgrade has receiver written all over it. I know how ya feel! http://www.crutchfield.com/cgi-bin/S...s&i=158STRE685
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    seccond star to the right and strait on to morning
    Posts
    2,795

    Default

    just ordered the big brother to the GFA-7605 the GFA-7607 cant wait for it to come. i made sure i got a recever with pre outs just for that reason. there is a way around it but i dont know if it will sound good.
    Gonzo's World
    BenQ 8700+
    115in screen
    PS3,X-Box 360 and Wii
    Sunfire Theater Grand III
    ADCOM GFA-7607
    four avalanch 18 subs 26.12l of displacement
    Crown xti 4000

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    6,245

    Default

    My friend has that similar or same receiver, nothing against yours but i set it up for him and that was the pain in my side for hours.. real hard to figure out and with a fold out 2 page manual..
    MY HT RIG:
    Sherwood p-965
    Sherwood sd871 dvd
    Rotel 1075 amp x5
    LSI15 mains
    LsiC center
    LSIfx surround backs
    Lsi7 side surrounds
    SVS pb12/plus2


    2 Channel Rig:

    nad 1020 Pre-amp
    Rotel 1080 stereo amp
    Polk sda 2B
    kenwood grunt Tuner
    realistic lab 450 TT
    Signal cable IC

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    30

    Default

    drats and double drats
    Last edited by cscsDanny; 05-17-2003 at 04:14 PM.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    532

    Default

    Those are inputs, your receiver shows only one pre out, for the sub.
    Take a look at the other sony's, they show in's and then there's the pre outs to use an external amp with.
    Some polks and stuff

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    15,835

    Default Re: Question: External Amp Question

    Originally posted by cscsDanny
    Ok, say I purchase a Adcom GFA-7605 Home Theater Power Amplifier how is this physically connected to my existing receiver? Then Im curious as to how volume is controlled? I would be running this power amp to all 5 of my existing speakers?

    Thirdly, would this external amp improve music clarity and detail at lower volumes?
    like the guys here said.. you must have preouts on your receiver to use an external amp like the Adcom you are looking at.

    Volume is controlled the way it is now. from your receivers volume control knob. none of that will change when you ad an external amp.

    Yes would need to make sure the external amp you buy is 5 channel amp. there are 2, 3, 4, 5, and 7 channel amps. The more channels. the more expensive.. and the more watts per channel too.

    External amps will usually add some clarity to your receiver when added.

    good luck dude, come back here if you have more ?'s

    Al
    PolkFest 2012, who's going>?
    Vancouver, Canada Sept 30th, 2012 - Madonna concert

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts