Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: ADCOM question

  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (8)

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Sunny South Florida
    Posts
    3,044

    Default ADCOM question

    i have a gda 600 DAC..i just received a gcd 600 CD player...would it be superflous to use this DAC with this CD player? i don't know anything about the components being used internally..i thought i'd post this question before i get into the acrobatics of getting to the back of my rack:)

    thanks
    mike

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (15)

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    7,407

    Default

    I thought one of the features of the GCD600 was that it had the GDA-600 built in. But i could be making that up, i guess.

    Me? I'd give it a shot. If it sounds better, use the DAC. If it doesn't, ditch it. If it sounds exactly the same, ditch it. :)
    I don't read the newsssspaperssss because dey aaaallllllllll...... have ugly print.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (8)

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Sunny South Florida
    Posts
    3,044

    Default

    thanks...i was hoping to get a solid opinion before i tear into the rack/wires/mess...yours, will probably be the best advice me thinks

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,237

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by concealer404 View Post
    I thought one of the features of the GCD600 was that it had the GDA-600 built in. But i could be making that up, i guess.

    Me? I'd give it a shot. If it sounds better, use the DAC. If it doesn't, ditch it. If it sounds exactly the same, ditch it. :)
    No, the gda600 is even better and follow this thread to make it World Class.

    http://www.polkaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?t=97185

    Concealer404, you're thinking of the GCD750 having basically the same DAC section as the GDA700. Not the same between the two the OP has.

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (15)

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    7,407

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by heiney9 View Post
    No, the gda600 is even better and follow this thread to make it World Class.

    http://www.polkaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?t=97185

    Concealer404, you're thinking of the GCD750 having basically the same DAC section as the GDA700. Not the same between the two the OP has.

    H9
    Dammit. You're right. Thanks for the correction. :)
    I don't read the newsssspaperssss because dey aaaallllllllll...... have ugly print.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help Question about Adcom 535
    By Knucklehead in forum Electronics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-30-2009, 09:43 PM
  2. ADCOM question
    By Rocco1 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-22-2009, 09:20 AM
  3. question regarding adcom amp
    By mlastarza in forum Electronics
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-27-2007, 08:05 AM
  4. Adcom 565 pre question
    By NeilGabriel in forum Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-23-2007, 01:42 PM
  5. Adcom question
    By SwedePolk in forum 2 Channel Audio
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-13-2006, 09:53 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts